We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service with a smile!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butternut Squash

Butternut Squash
Ranked #227 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run business that is determined to provide good home cooking at great value for money with friendly service. We go out of our way to make you feel welcome and enjoy great food at the most reasonable prices in Edinburgh. With our 11 item breakfast plus tea / Coffee & Toast for £5.50 With free refills. We are open for dinner on Friday and Saturday evenings from 5pm with last orders in the kitchen at 8pm & closing at 11pm. So with our ever changing dinner menu and our bring your own bottle you cannot get better value. We are dog friendly so bring your best pal with you. Please note we do not accept credit cards in a bid to keep our costs down which helps us to deliver our infamous value for money.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service with a smile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I would highly recommend a visit to Butternut Squash. Food and presentation excellent with staff very helpful and eager to please, great value for money. - well done to all the staff for customer satisfaction!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    60
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time but not the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My aunt and uncle brought us here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. What a brilliant restaurant. Such personal service despite being really busy. Food was excellent. And the portions were generous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Naerume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Excellent value for money. The food was very well presented and very tasty. The staff extremely friendly - great to feel made welcome! Will definitely return for more!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant ever in Portobello”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I would recommend Butternut Squash to anyone looking for the best food anywhere around and you will be so well looked after by Kay,Keith and their staff not forgetting Barney the dog who will give a very warm and cuddly welcome. Hope you enjoy your visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Will definitely be back again soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Had such a lovely lunch here today, I don't normally comment on trip advisor, however the food was fantastic and the service was really good too, therefore I felt I had to recommend this place to others!

I will definitely be going back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawnmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butternut Squash also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Butternut Squash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing