We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Cocktails!”
Review of The Bristo Bar and Kitchen - CLOSED

The Bristo Bar and Kitchen
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Cocktails!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This place is brilliant for students, being so close to the uni campus and the prices are very reasonable. There is also a great atmosphere both day and night, making it a lovely place to go with friends. I would recommend to anyone!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    25
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My colleagues and I came for lunch and were really happy with our meals. Great taste and excellent value. A good vegetarian selection too. Staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ket_Cat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I go here for a club social every week. The atmosphere is always really good and the food is amazing. Great bants. Yum.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rachrob66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely bar”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Bristo is not only very close to the University campus, but also provides great value food and drinks, aswell as a lovely atmosphere. The staff are very helpful and accommodating and all my experiences there have been enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatRattray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolute disgrace of an Establishment.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

As you walk into Bristo Bar you would be forgiven for having relatively high expectations. However these are quickly squandered after only 5 mins.

The service in this place was not that bad. However, the manager is a sleaze and spends his time flirting vicariously with waitresses and not tending to his customers. He expects you to spend money in a overpriced and lackluster limited bar (pretend cocktail bar).

The wait for drinks and food is ridiculous. We waited over an hour for 4 burgers and when they came they were substandard and worse than a late night kebab shop. The chips were soggy and the pathetic excuse for salad garnish helps to prove to you that they only care about profit and not return custom.

The manager, when we complained about our food, was abrasive and implied that it was our fault and not his sub standard food.

Avoid this place to not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownbiggar, General Manager at The Bristo Bar and Kitchen, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
At Bristo we do not usually reply to reviews as we feel Tripadvisor should be a forum for customers to share their experiences and opinions, however given the fraudulent nature of this review we felt it necessary to issue a response.

Not only is the substantive content of this review false and manufactured, the baseless and insulting accusations about members of staff are particularly distasteful. It is regrettable that the customer in this instance did not have the courtesy to resolve whatever grievance, personal or otherwise, he or she had with either the member of staff in question or the business itself. We do not take issue with negative feedback, it is often useful in helping us improve our service, and of course we get things wrong from time to time, however this review is not based in fact and the tripadvisor forum is being used as a means of hurting both the business and offending its staff, rather than posting an honest and informed comment based on an actual experience.

This review is neither an accurate representation of the business nor its employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bristo Bar and Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing