We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern & spacious, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments
Reviewed 30 May 2014

6 adults (all family) stayed in a spacious 3 bedroom, 2 bath apartment at the end of a 10 day visit to Scotland. It was nice to have a common area (living room, dining room, kitchen) to sit down at the end of the day and talk about our Edinburgh experience. However, the constantly slamming doors (bedroom, bath, closet, hallway) in the apartment were very annoying. It was obviously a problem for other travelers staying here, as most doors had a rubber doorstop to prop the door open. The shower/bathtub was so tall that it presented a real challenge getting in & out of the tub (again, obviously a problem for others as there was a very insecure suction hand rail to use).
Great location, easy walk to most sights, although difficult to find when first arriving in the city. The staff was very helpful, and we were able to leave our luggage at the reception office for awhile after checkout (especially helpful since checkout is at 10am). On the surface, appears clean, but caulk in baths is already discolored and walls, doors, light switches look grimy, making this apartment appear to be much older than it is. And the 3 pieces of "putty-like" substance (gum???) over one doorway did not enhance the overall appearance/impression of the apartment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 98199cf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

I'm pleased that the solution worked well for your larger group.

The point you raise regarding 'gum' is unacceptable and i'll discuss this with housekeeping.

All doors are fire doors are therefore have to auto close. We will check this apartment to see if the closers can be made a little less aggressive.

The baths in some apartments are deep. This in turn can mean that entering and exiting is sometimes more difficult. The suction cup handles are to assist balance and are not weight baring. Used in this manner they make the baths easier to exit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Close to Edingburgh University and city center. Amazing meadows nearby. And my favorite Peter's yard is only 2 mins walk.
The facility is quite good and the staff is warm-hearted.
Next time, I will still choose it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to pass this on to all our reception staff.

Peter's Yard is definately a guest favourite. Next time though and for something different make sure you check out Looking Glass books. A stylish library come coffee house where you can relax and take time out from all the sightseeing.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Perfect for our group of guys on a golfing vacation. Quiet area but very close to grass market, royal mile, castle, etc. Easy parking and spacious apartment with nice features were also a plus. Great price for the space and location. Would definitely bring the family back here for a weekend in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lharlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Edinburgh has many excellent offerings within and just outwith the city boundary for the avid golfer. With the Ryder Cup fast approaching I am sure many more will soon appreciate the courses you have enjoyed during your stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very clean and spacious. Very good located for visits to central Edinburgh. Nice views from 5th floor. To do better: one light in one of the bathrooms and the towel radiatior weren't working. Overall: Recommended. We will be back there for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank piper7201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are glad we have assisted in making your stay perfect.

We have also addressed the light/radiator points. What with the nature of the business this will occasionally happen. We do have a stockpile at reception so pleaase feel free to notify our staff as they will come straight away to rectify faults.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great on info, great staff, great, clean appartement, greatly situated in the beautifull city of Edinburgh.(and great Malasian restaurant just on the other side of the road)
Shure to be visiting Thistle again, we had a briljant stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dutchymay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for your comments we very much appreciate them. The Malaysian is excellent as well as a number of other restuarants nearby that our guests are entitled to discount in.

Maybe you can try some of the others on your return? We will be sure to welcome you back with open arms.

Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were 3 adults with 2 babies in a 2 bedrooms apartment. It wasn't easy to find the office to get keys and registration done but the staffs were very nice and showed us around from the beginning and the apartment was well-equipped with functional stuffs more than you need including a spare foldable bed and a baby cot :) both rooms have got a beautiful view of the medical department of the uni and downstairs were Starbucks,eter's yard cafe and Sainsbury so it was easy to get stuffs and a bite without having to go far. The apartment is just a 10 min walk to Royal Mile and the castle. The 2 bathrooms, both equipped with baths, we're very nice after a long walk you can soak in. The car park cost £10 per day and it's indoor connected to the apartment directly by the lift so it's very convenient. We had a small problem regarding the key and their staff was very very helpful and sorted us out at the end. All in all, if you like to have space and private with fully equipped apartment close to town, very clean and bright....Thistle residence at Quatermile Apartment is the answer to you!

Room Tip: Their normal 2 bedrooms is super spacious for a whole family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Glizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback David. Some guests have had an issue locating our reception and we therefore ask guests to look out for their check in email which is dispatched 3-4 days prior to arrival. The email gives clear directions that will help your check in smoothly. You will see signage on entry to the Quartermile and a site map at both main access points. This also gives the location of the reception. If guests are having any trouble please don't hesitate to call us and we'll come to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I enjoy this place quite a lot, You can walk to most attraction, are close to the old town, yet a in quiet area. I plan to come back to Edimbourg and will stay there.
Definitely a place to stay. Clean and very convenient

Room Tip: I will come again on my next stay in Scotland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your comments Marie and we would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.

Grazie e buona giornata

:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#6 of 217 in Edinburgh
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,057 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments

Address: 2 Lister Square, Edinburgh EH3 9GL, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Residence - Quartermile Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotia Grand Residence offer 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom immaculately presented apartments in the prestigious and sort after Quartermile development. Situated within walking distance of the city centre and Royal Mile, these luxury apartments have been finished to the highest standard and make for a relaxing and memorable stay. All apartments offer lift access and are entirely self-contained. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing