We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a bit to excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still a bit to excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

we got a small apartment on the ground floor. The bathroom was very small and the double bed was very small and not god. It was a lot of noice through the door out of the apartment.
When your neighbors came home late it felt like they were in your bedroom.

The location of the apartment is verk good!!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment higher up in the building with bigger bathroom and sleepingroom with a good bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Svante E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi, your feedback is appreciated. We'll look at the issues you raise and try to rectify immediately. The ground floor apartments are preferred by some guest whereas others like to be higher up the building. We request that any specific requests are noted in your booking confirmation and we'll endeavour to meet these requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    129
    34
    10
    14
See reviews for
201
152
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent apartment for a family of three - only 10 minutes walk from Edinburgh Castle. Good location with local facilities (Sainsburys and a couple of coffee shops) and next door to a park. Hard to fault.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post some comments Marcus. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
The meadows park is amazing...what with this as your back drop it is crazy to think you are right in the centre of a busy capital city!.

Hopefully see you again.

Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

6 adults (all family) stayed in a spacious 3 bedroom, 2 bath apartment at the end of a 10 day visit to Scotland. It was nice to have a common area (living room, dining room, kitchen) to sit down at the end of the day and talk about our Edinburgh experience. However, the constantly slamming doors (bedroom, bath, closet, hallway) in the apartment were very annoying. It was obviously a problem for other travelers staying here, as most doors had a rubber doorstop to prop the door open. The shower/bathtub was so tall that it presented a real challenge getting in & out of the tub (again, obviously a problem for others as there was a very insecure suction hand rail to use).
Great location, easy walk to most sights, although difficult to find when first arriving in the city. The staff was very helpful, and we were able to leave our luggage at the reception office for awhile after checkout (especially helpful since checkout is at 10am). On the surface, appears clean, but caulk in baths is already discolored and walls, doors, light switches look grimy, making this apartment appear to be much older than it is. And the 3 pieces of "putty-like" substance (gum???) over one doorway did not enhance the overall appearance/impression of the apartment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98199cf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I'm pleased that the solution worked well for your larger group.

The point you raise regarding 'gum' is unacceptable and i'll discuss this with housekeeping.

All doors are fire doors are therefore have to auto close. We will check this apartment to see if the closers can be made a little less aggressive.

The baths in some apartments are deep. This in turn can mean that entering and exiting is sometimes more difficult. The suction cup handles are to assist balance and are not weight baring. Used in this manner they make the baths easier to exit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Close to Edingburgh University and city center. Amazing meadows nearby. And my favorite Peter's yard is only 2 mins walk.
The facility is quite good and the staff is warm-hearted.
Next time, I will still choose it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to pass this on to all our reception staff.

Peter's Yard is definately a guest favourite. Next time though and for something different make sure you check out Looking Glass books. A stylish library come coffee house where you can relax and take time out from all the sightseeing.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Perfect for our group of guys on a golfing vacation. Quiet area but very close to grass market, royal mile, castle, etc. Easy parking and spacious apartment with nice features were also a plus. Great price for the space and location. Would definitely bring the family back here for a weekend in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lharlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Edinburgh has many excellent offerings within and just outwith the city boundary for the avid golfer. With the Ryder Cup fast approaching I am sure many more will soon appreciate the courses you have enjoyed during your stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very clean and spacious. Very good located for visits to central Edinburgh. Nice views from 5th floor. To do better: one light in one of the bathrooms and the towel radiatior weren't working. Overall: Recommended. We will be back there for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank piper7201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad we have assisted in making your stay perfect.

We have also addressed the light/radiator points. What with the nature of the business this will occasionally happen. We do have a stockpile at reception so pleaase feel free to notify our staff as they will come straight away to rectify faults.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great on info, great staff, great, clean appartement, greatly situated in the beautifull city of Edinburgh.(and great Malasian restaurant just on the other side of the road)
Shure to be visiting Thistle again, we had a briljant stay!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchymay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for your comments we very much appreciate them. The Malaysian is excellent as well as a number of other restuarants nearby that our guests are entitled to discount in.

Maybe you can try some of the others on your return? We will be sure to welcome you back with open arms.

Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments

Property: Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments
Address: 2 Lister Square, Edinburgh EH3 9GL, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Residence - Quartermile Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotia Grand Residence offer 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom immaculately presented apartments in the prestigious and sort after Quartermile development. Situated within walking distance of the city centre and Royal Mile, these luxury apartments have been finished to the highest standard and make for a relaxing and memorable stay. All apartments offer lift access and are entirely self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing