We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thistle Quartermile Apartments Review Rose & Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We found the Quartermile Apartments modern, light, well equipped and spacious. They had a Sainsbury Express right next door which was really convenient and several coffee shops. The staff in the office were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Only a short walk from the apartment and there were shops,pubs and restaurants. The only downside was the side on the bathtub was high and wide. This made it a bit difficult to get in and out of the bath/shower. We had a two bedroom apartment with two bathrooms. It would have been better for less agile people if one bathroom had a walk in shower, I would stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you Rose and Barbara.

Your review supports that of the previous guest who also raised the bathtub as problematic. In the event that you are heading back please mention that a walk in shower would be preferred and we'll look to meet your request.

Away for the above I'm pleased that everything else worked well for you.

Best Regards
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location is just great for these apartments. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment that looked out over the walkway in front of Sainsburys. It got a little noisy at times but had a great view.

The apartment we stayed in could use some updating. First, the beds weren't great. The mattress I had was very basic with a foam pad (not the same size, but smaller) over it. When traveling, if one doesn't get a good night's sleep, not much else matters.

The bathtub is very high and is hard to step in and out of to take a shower or bath. There are no grab bars, so someone with limited mobility would have a very difficult, if not impossible time taking a shower.

The upside is the staff are wonderful. Santo was wonderful to work with and tried very hard to make us comfortable. The apartment was roomy and we loved having a washing machine.

While the apartments could use a few things here and there, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

To focus in on the problem you encountered with the mattress I can but apologise. The topper added was to ensure a more comfortable nights sleeps but was a temporary solution. The mattresses have now been replaced and I appreciate you bringing this to our attention during your stay.

The depth of the baths is a little more difficult for us to rectify. In the apartments guests will find removable handles that can be used as balance aids, I must stress however that these are not suitable for guests who need a body weight bearing option. In this instance we request that we are contacted in advance and will look to accommodate in an apartment that has a walk in shower in at least one bathroom.

Best Regards
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have stayed in a couple of different apartments within this group and every single one has been amazing! The staff are incredibly sweet and helpful too!

The walk into the main town is easy (I hate walking!) And there is a little café, a starbucks and a sainsburys literally a 1 minute walk away!

Will be coming back again next time I visit Edinburgh :) xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chell2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We therefore look forward to welcoming you back.

Although they say 'variety is the spice of life' should you have a preferred apartment please don't hesitate to let us know prior to arrival. We will do our best to satisfy your request.

Best Regards

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed at these apartments last week .couldn't fault these apartments beautiful very well equipped had every thing you needed. The person who checked us in was very good and very helpful. The only thing I could fault was you needed to check out at 10 am , I think this was to early especially because we were out late the night before, I needed to stay a bit later because my wee one was still sleeping , which I phoned them and they were very good and allowed a later check out. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jackie and jame... c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your views on your stay with us. It's great to hear that we met your expectations and the accommodation worked well for you.

The standard check-out time is factor that we are open to review, either generally or on a case by case basis. I understand that this can be problematic and we will always try to extend with prior warning. Because the apartments are larger than most hotel rooms it is a balancing act to ensure that they are ready for incoming guests. That said I'm also aware that many hotels have pushed check-in to 15:00+ to allow for later departures.

So with the above elements considered I invite guest feedback as to whether a later check-out or earlier check-in is most important. On the check-in side we can and will store bags if required.

Currently we operate a 14:00 arrival time for incoming guests and a 10:00 departure for outgoing. Please email me on scott@thistleresidence.com if you wish to express an opinion on this matter.

Many thanks

Scott Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Great apartments in centre of Edinburgh. Old and new mix using old hospital grounds and buildings.. Very impressive architecture. Stayed in two bedroom apartment with views over park, so spacious and stylish. Close to attractions, short walk to most places. Great value for money

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwikirst2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a weekend stay. Apartments were modern, spacious with all mod cons e.g dishwasher, washing machine, fridge etc. Sainsburys & coffee shop next door.
Great location within easy walking distance of all attractions. Would definitely recommend and use again when we next visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words Sharon. It was a pleasure to accomodate you in our apartments and to arrange transportation.

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Have a nice day

Note to readers- we operate a private pickup and drop off service from and to Edinurgh Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent and modern facilities like washer-dryer, fully equipped kitchen, 2 separate bathrooms, WiFi, TV with record/pause/playback features all provided in this deluxe two-bedroom apartment. Superb location, a short walk from castle and royal mile. The staff came along to the car park to show best spot and explain all features of the apartment; allowed extension of check-out as well car park. Sainsbury, breakfast place and Starbucks right downstairs. Very happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hemant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you Hemant it was a pleasure to accomodate you during your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Have a nice day!

Note to readers- we will always endeavour were possible to extend checkout out times and car park access to suit the needs of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,099 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#49 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Southside & Holyrood
Chalmers Street
Chalmers Street
#112 of 217 in Edinburgh
7 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#30 of 217 in Edinburgh
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments

Address: 2 Lister Square, Edinburgh EH3 9GL, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Residence - Quartermile Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotia Grand Residence offer 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom immaculately presented apartments in the prestigious and sort after Quartermile development. Situated within walking distance of the city centre and Royal Mile, these luxury apartments have been finished to the highest standard and make for a relaxing and memorable stay. All apartments offer lift access and are entirely self-contained. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing