We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel & New”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel & New”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel between the 16th - 18th of Feb and stayed on the 6th floor at the back end of the property, which was a shame as I would of liked a room with a view. The room was very modern and a nice touch when you pop your card into the electric slot the TV automatically turns on with a screensaver of burning log fire. The bathroom again was very nice. The only minor issue was the room got a bit cold even though the temperature gauge was on and it took a few twists and turns on it to eventually get the heat back into the room but when it did it got too warm at times.. There is free WIFI in the rooms however it was not very strong, I was getting better speeds from my phone network data. The staff were very friendly specially the barman/receptionist who was on night shift into Sunday morning. Would I stay here again? It would have to be a yes. Maybe I get a room with a few the next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belfast_lad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    851
    239
    48
    35
See reviews for
200
1,030
191
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Spent two nights at Motel One 15th 16th February 2013.Good location, very spartan rooms
as noted in other reviews no tea or coffee making facilities.
Our room was so warm and stuffy we had to keep the windows open wide all night to get some air . breakfast is £7.00 extra which i thought was rather penny pinching when we were paying
£84.00 per room .
No meals are available apart from snacks from the bar.
I dont feel i got value for money , i think we shall stick to traditional hotels in future.
Efficient was the overall feeling i got from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

A relatively new hotel to Edinburgh, but it is setting the standard for affordable hotels in the cirty center. Clean efficient and comfortable. stones throw from the rail station and of course "the shops".

Room Tip: The quietest hotel I have ever stayed in ( next to rail station and a stones throw from Princes Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Just a couple of minutes from Waverley Station this new hotel is ideal for a short stay. Conveniently situated between the old and new town this is a perfect base for exploring Edinburgh. The rooms are very clean and modern. However, not a lot of storage space for a longer stay. Good powerful shower and lovely thick towels. Some liquid soap in addition to shower gel would have been appreciated. No soap dish in shower for gel/shampoo which was strange. Breakfast is extra but we didn't bother as there are a load of cafes nearby if required. Staff very friendly and we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic, great prices for Edinburgh centre, brilliant location right next to train station. Very clean and lovely staff who were very helpful. Only gripe was two single duvets on a double bed, they kept sliding off. Other than that it was a great stay. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llollipoppi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here for weekend while going to six nations rugby match and was one of few hotels not doubling prices for the saturday night. Perfectly located new hotel a minutes walk from Waverley station. Pleasant staff on check in, room immaculate as expected as this is new hotel. Bed very comfy and shower room a good size. Down sides - no tea making facilities in room, all instructions online in German and only continental breakfast available. Overall a great stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms face onto princes street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank AliJohn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Property: Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing