We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed here for one night in April and we found that it was a great budget hotel. Very close to Waverly Station where the Edinburgh airport bus drops you right off. Centrally located to the pubs and restaurants in the old city center. It was clean, well managed, stylish and very affordable. I would recommend it to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 2,235 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stopped here with my wife for 2nights for our Anniversary and for the money we paid its pretty much impossible to find better for cheaper, especially with its central location.
As mentioned in other reviews the hotel is brand new and everything is spotless and clean as you would expect in a new establishment. The only thing we found was that the hotel seemed to be trying to find its feet and little things let it down. For example having to pay £10 deposit for tea making facilities, no ironing board in room as standard and unable to accommodate us a room with a view after we requested it 2months prior to arrival.
As a clean, cheap, chic hotel simply to get your head down then I would really recommend it, if your looking for something special then I would recomend that you spend that little extra for somewhere else where you get a more personalised service like the 'Fraser Suites' that are situated just behind.

One recommendation: don't pay for a taxi from the airport. If you catch the airports 100 shuttle bus. it's only £3.50 each way, they run every 10mins and it stops on Wavely Bridge which is literally a few strides from the hotel (the hotel is visible at the end of the bridge)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in April and I found it great. The rooms were a little on the small side however EVERYTHING was super clean and spotless. The bed was very comfy and the free wifi was brilliant. Very close to Waverley so it was great for me. Would stay here again!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank ClaireMcNeilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in this hotel on a short trip to Edinburgh. Rooms and public areas spotlessly clean although the room was a bit on the small side. Very warm in the corridors and rooms meant we had to leave a window open at night and being in the city centre there was quite a lot of noise from street level. Surprised by the response from the desk staff when we requested extra pillows, apparently a hotel of over a hundred rooms does not carry extra pillows. Perhaps this branch is the dry run for the Princes Street hotel that is being developed. Would I use it again? Probably yes, but there is better out there.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simski75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was our first stay in Motel One. Fabulous location in the City Centre less than 100 yards from Waverley Railway Station and the Air Link bus service to the airport. All the Central Edinburgh day and evening attractions are right on your door step as well. The hotel is decorated in a modern minimalist style and provides all the basic amenities for a short stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean and bathrooms are well equiped. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms, but if you read their terms and conditions there are none offered so it can't be a surprise to anyone on arrival. We never took breakfast in the hotel as we needed something a little more filling but looked ok. That said, there are a multitude of places within a few minutes walk serving breakfasts and we stumbled upon a gem just a few yards away in Cockburn Street in the shape of the Southern Cross Cafe, which I have also reviewed.
Really can't fault Motel One at all. It provides good quality, low cost rooms in central Edinburgh. Just what the town needs to enhance the growing ' budget plus' hotel market, providing stiff competition to the established hotel groups that have fleeced travellers to Edinburgh for decades.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have good views over Princes Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Trouble free check in. Wonderful interiors. Felt warm inside when outside it was perishing - you know that bitter Edinburgh winter wind. Rooms were spacious and very well appointed. Extremely well designed. Excellent buffet breakfast continental style.
Great location for Waverley station and city centre. Can't really fault the place....

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shetlandshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The location of this hotel cannot be beaten. Just a few minutes from Waverley and very chic. The bar is great and the staff are amazing. Everything seemed to be a 'yes', whatever we asked for. How refreshing is that? The Barman even made us toasties at 1.30am.
I found a few things odd though. Why did I have a singe duvet folded up at the bottom of my double bed? It didn't fit.
No extractor fan in the bathroom and already the paint was peeling - what is this going to be like in a year?
No tea and coffee making facilities.
Other than that, top value, amazing staff, excellent.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank barkwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#31 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,147 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
355 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#63 of 151 in Edinburgh
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £67 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing