We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel without a window”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Ranked #54 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Desna, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel without a window”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

It is modern desing hotel, which is clean, the stuff is ok and is on a very good address - 3-minute walk from the railway station and 5-minute walk from the Royal Mile leading to the Edinburgh Castle.
We had a very very small room with a hole in the ceiling - cca 4 meters above our heads - instead of a window. I was really weird. The air condition was somehow broken. I could not breathe inthere. It was room no. 540.

Room Tip: Ask about the window :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    872
    246
    48
    35
See reviews for
205
1,052
193
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed here for one night in April and we found that it was a great budget hotel. Very close to Waverly Station where the Edinburgh airport bus drops you right off. Centrally located to the pubs and restaurants in the old city center. It was clean, well managed, stylish and very affordable. I would recommend it to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stopped here with my wife for 2nights for our Anniversary and for the money we paid its pretty much impossible to find better for cheaper, especially with its central location.
As mentioned in other reviews the hotel is brand new and everything is spotless and clean as you would expect in a new establishment. The only thing we found was that the hotel seemed to be trying to find its feet and little things let it down. For example having to pay £10 deposit for tea making facilities, no ironing board in room as standard and unable to accommodate us a room with a view after we requested it 2months prior to arrival.
As a clean, cheap, chic hotel simply to get your head down then I would really recommend it, if your looking for something special then I would recomend that you spend that little extra for somewhere else where you get a more personalised service like the 'Fraser Suites' that are situated just behind.

One recommendation: don't pay for a taxi from the airport. If you catch the airports 100 shuttle bus. it's only £3.50 each way, they run every 10mins and it stops on Wavely Bridge which is literally a few strides from the hotel (the hotel is visible at the end of the bridge)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in April and I found it great. The rooms were a little on the small side however EVERYTHING was super clean and spotless. The bed was very comfy and the free wifi was brilliant. Very close to Waverley so it was great for me. Would stay here again!

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ClaireMcNeilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in this hotel on a short trip to Edinburgh. Rooms and public areas spotlessly clean although the room was a bit on the small side. Very warm in the corridors and rooms meant we had to leave a window open at night and being in the city centre there was quite a lot of noise from street level. Surprised by the response from the desk staff when we requested extra pillows, apparently a hotel of over a hundred rooms does not carry extra pillows. Perhaps this branch is the dry run for the Princes Street hotel that is being developed. Would I use it again? Probably yes, but there is better out there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simski75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was our first stay in Motel One. Fabulous location in the City Centre less than 100 yards from Waverley Railway Station and the Air Link bus service to the airport. All the Central Edinburgh day and evening attractions are right on your door step as well. The hotel is decorated in a modern minimalist style and provides all the basic amenities for a short stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean and bathrooms are well equiped. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms, but if you read their terms and conditions there are none offered so it can't be a surprise to anyone on arrival. We never took breakfast in the hotel as we needed something a little more filling but looked ok. That said, there are a multitude of places within a few minutes walk serving breakfasts and we stumbled upon a gem just a few yards away in Cockburn Street in the shape of the Southern Cross Cafe, which I have also reviewed.
Really can't fault Motel One at all. It provides good quality, low cost rooms in central Edinburgh. Just what the town needs to enhance the growing ' budget plus' hotel market, providing stiff competition to the established hotel groups that have fleeced travellers to Edinburgh for decades.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have good views over Princes Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Trouble free check in. Wonderful interiors. Felt warm inside when outside it was perishing - you know that bitter Edinburgh winter wind. Rooms were spacious and very well appointed. Extremely well designed. Excellent buffet breakfast continental style.
Great location for Waverley station and city centre. Can't really fault the place....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shetlandshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#34 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Property: Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing