We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost boutique in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Ranked #54 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Low cost boutique in a great location”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights in May 2013. Chose the hotel because of the location (opposite the road from the train station) and the price. Very comfortable beds with soft sheets. Good, compact bathroom. Good service. Breakfast is fine and not expensive. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    873
    247
    48
    36
See reviews for
206
1,053
193
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I had mixed feelings about this place, its clean and nicely appointed but being spread across 2 buildings with woeful signage for access to the second building it makes for a prolonged journey from reception even once you've learnt the route up to the 5th floor, you need to navigate through a network of poorly signed corridors, into the second building then into another lift to get to your floor. If the tatty plastic sleeved guide in the lift near reception was turned landscape and laid out as per the floors/buildings it would be easier, laminating it or having a decent sign made would save tarnishing their interior design also.

The rooms are spartan but functional, I missed having a shaver socket & tea/coffee facilities but did notice a staff member carrying these to someone's room so much like many European hotels they're available if you ask. The bed was firm but I slept very well on the second night, the shower was fantastic.

At £7.50 I chose not to use the breakfast facilities as you can easily eat well for less in the vicinity.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aikone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

On the plus side this hotel is very clean and very peaceful, I heard no noise from other rooms or from the corridor at all. The location is also very good, right next to Waverley station and short walking distance to lots of the tourist attractions and new town.

However I felt that the website was slightly misleading, the pictures of the rooms make them look much bigger than they are, in reality we had a very small stuffy room. The reception area and bar are very stylish and modern but give a wrong impression of what the rooms will be like. They are along the same lines of a premier inn rooms with a more modern bathroom.

The layout of the hotel is very confusing, as the rooms are spread over two different buildings and to get to your room you need to navigate a seemingly never ending maze of corridors. We were in room 639 and had to get a lift to the fifth floor, took a long confusing walk which finally led over a glass bridge to the next building then another lift up to the 6th floor and another few corridors to our room.

We had issues with the temperature control of the room, at night we couldn't get it to work at all and spent a very uncomfortable night as the heat was awful in the room, even with the window open. In the morning the aircon did come on, but too little too late!

Little touches in the room could improve the hotel overall, like the plugs on the frame round the bed are black and nearly impossible to see, we didn't realise they were there until we were leaving and had our mobiles charging on the floor at the other side of the room all night. No tea or coffee facilities and no room service.

For £84 i feel this was a lot to pay for a basic small room. Next time if i was looking for a budget hotel in edinburgh I would use the travelodge behind princes street, same idea but same type of room and close to everything but much cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Clyde89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Arrived Friday early evening with my hubby and another couple. Reception staff very welcoming, but found it odd to pay fully on arriving. Was given rooms near each other, but however didn't realise how big hotel was. Our route to our rooms involved several turning rights. 2 lifts and a long corridor. A good 5 minute journey to our rooms.
Rooms very clean and accommodated our needs fr 2 nights. Beds extremely comfy and pillers to die for. ( would love some fr home)
Bar very exspensive. Got a bottle of coke and 2 packet of crisps -£7!!!!!

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

(+) Central location, convenient for walking around the city centre and visiting all the main spots of Edinburgh
(+) Nice room

(-) The reception desk misguided us on paying in Euro instead of pounds despite asking them if it is the same. The conversion rate was 3% higher if you paid straight in Euro using a card than paying in pounds and letting your bank do the conversion. Everyone around that had any kind of business seem to be aware of it.
(-) The mattress was way to soft.
(-) There was lack of room service and no telephone to contact reception.
(-) No fridge

In general, with a few tweaks it could be a nice city hotel. It has potential but currently is overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask to pay in pounds and do not accept to pay in Euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

less than 100£ the room for 2 BB!
Ideally located at 2 min walk from Waverley train station, this newly open hotel has everything a 4* star hotel for the price of a 3*. No more ashamed to receive corporate meetings in the hotel.
Nice and cosy bar (with a selection of scotch...) fire place and barrel tops as tables....
Large room, comfy bathroom nicely decorated, one thing yet, white tv on a white wall could have supported a surrounding frame in wood colour like the bed.
Friendly staff, good breakfast, will definitely go back there to discover Edinburg as a tourist....
WELL DONE MOTEL ONE;

Room Tip: be careful Twin bedroom don't have separated beds, It's in the concept just to let you know
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJeff81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I stayed here with my brother 3 nights at end of April. As other people have mentioned its absolutely perfectly located in the Old Town near to the Royal Mile, train station and loads of nice little independent shops. The rooms are very nice & modern, but a bit on small side. The beds were a little bit too firm even for my liking. There was a nice little lounge area at the entrance where you can have coffee or something stronger later.... This hotel is excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Room 616 had lovely views over city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razorshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#34 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Property: Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing