We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just one big problem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just one big problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed for a short break during the festival. Fantastic location, especially if you are arriving by train. The rooms are basic but clean, bright and comfortable. Everything is modern, well built and well planned. Staff are very warm and friendly. The problem is the rooms are so well sealed to make them lovely and quiet that some are stuffy and hot even when it is cold outside.There is an a/c control on the wall but this apparently only works as a fan. After a very uncomfortable first night I mentioned that we weren't very happy and we were moved to a larger, airy room. Then the hotel was the perfect festival base.

Room Tip: Ask for an airy room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    830
    233
    47
    35
See reviews for
197
1,004
185
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

There aren't many reasonably priced hotels in Edinburgh during the Fringe Festival in August so we were pleased to get a room here for a decent price one recent weekend.
Motel One is a new chain - to us at least. It's a budget place but its not basic and this one has a fabulous location.
Our train arrived at 11.10 one Saturday. By 11.15 we were in the lobby checking in. It's just outside the Market Street exit from Waverley Station ( turn right and it's on the roundabout).
Our room was spacious and comfortable - but hot! There is no air conditioning and despite opening the window,it remained warm throughout.
The room has a few 'quirks'. The positions of the electrical sockets were odd and why the clothes rail ran in front of the mirror was a mystery. The one small bin in the bathroom wasn't quite big enough for all our bottles and boxes either. That said, it was clean and comfortable and a great location. We could walk the short distance up to the Royal Mile or just cross the bridge for Princes Street. Perfect.
There is no restaurant but there is a bar and they do serve breakfast. (Plenty of places to eat nearby).
Ok, it's not the Savoy but we had a good stay and this place will certainly be our first choice for our next trip north of the border.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear and higher are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for trip to Edinburgh Fringe with my sister. We shared the bed and found it big enough for two. Also liked that duvets were individual and bed linen very good quality. Hotel geared up for Fringe users as had a bag storage so you could leave your bag before and after check in/out. Very central location, right by Waverley station and short walk to both old and new towns of Edinburgh. Breakfast is plentiful, self service buffet in the bar/reception area. Seating can be a bit of a bunfight though, case of having to grab a table when one becomes free. Continental menu but unlimited. Breakfast was £7.50 on a pay as you go system. I thought it was good value. You would pay at least that if you ate out for breakfast. Very impressive design to the breakfast facilities, all packs away afterwards to become the bar later. German efficiency. During the Fringe room prices treble but felt we paid a fair price for Edinburgh in August. If you come to Edinburgh in August you must expect to pay Fringe prices
In a nutshell I didn't feel we got ripped off.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Really pleased with this hotel. Excellent price. Excellent location (castle side but right next to the train station and shops.) rooms very modern and pleasant. Really friendly staff. Would defiantly use again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photomadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in June while on a trip to Scotland with my daughter. The staff was friendly and efficient.

The room had the european minimalist/modern decor that I've experienced elsewhere and was clean, with comfortable beds and a good shower in the bathroom.

The location is just a block off of the royal mile and is well suited for exploring the central part of Edinburgh.

Two of the three mornings we ate breakfast at the buffet in the hotel, which was pretty good. It was outlandishly priced like some of the hotel breakfasts I have seen and you just pay for the mornings you decide to partake.

The day we left, they happily stored our luggage for us for several hours so we could enjoy a few last hours in Edinburgh. Overall a very good experience for a reasonable price. I would definitely entertain the idea of staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billb303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

After walking the Great Glen Way we had tickets for the Edinburgh Military Tattoo. I decided to book at Motel One Edinburgh-Royal because it is situated not far from Edinburgh Castle and direct in the centre of Edinburgh. The members of staff were very friendly and helpfully. Our rooms furnishing was modern and comfortable. The room - with a large bathroom - was very clean and we enjoyed the time there. Breakfast was delicious, typically German, with rolls...There are English power points as well as European ones in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Motel one is a German chain of hotels and in this hotel it was very obvious as there were German posters every were. First of all why call it a motel when it is a Hotel? and why have a big poster in the window saying "rooms only £79 pound when most rooms cost a lot more? all staff were either from Poland and Bulgaria and the Staff were very friendly and that is the only reason i give this hotel 3 stars. My room was very clumsy and way too basic For £135 a night i expect more. The first and last time i will stay in a motel one chain at any cost. there is nothing wrong with the hotel it is just very average and the fact i spent good money it should of went further.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keving771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Property: Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing