We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hilversum
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Motel One hotel in Edinburgh is situated next to Waverly station and the Airlink busstop. It's hard to think of a more convenient location, especially for a short stay like I made.
The hotel looks trendy en the rooms are efficient. The staf is friendly, but the hotel is a maze. Do not expect more than a good night sleep. But if that's what you're looking for this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lg5Hilversum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    850
    238
    48
    35
See reviews for
200
1,029
191
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Paid £10 extra to get a view on a high floor when we checked in.
I thought this was worth it.
Staff were all excellent and nothing was a trouble.
Wish we had time for the breakfast as there was a good selection on offer and it is reasonably priced considering your location.
The entire hotel is spotless as far as I could tell.
Beds are on the firm side but suited us.
Very good wine selection available for when we we decided we needed a nightcap.
Location is excellent for either airport bus links or Edinburgh Waverley.
Tour buses also depart from within 100m.
With all this transport activity I heard very little noise in my room.
Mind you it was December and the window was firmly closed.
For a short break or even longer I would not hesitate to book a motel-one again based on my experiences at this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank patona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I can't really say enough good about this hotel because it met all of our requirements and more. Firstly, it's not a 4 or 5 star hotel and isn't priced or advertised as such, so all we hoped for was a comfortable but basic room. We definitely got that and, contrary to some reviews I read when booking, there were 3 plug sockets plus one euro socket, lots of mirrors and the air-con type temperature controls worked as we wished and went up and down as required. The bathroom was fab with a really powerful, roomy shower and the bedroom was also perfectly sizeable. Yes,it didn't have wardrobes but there was plenty of open-plan storage space. We had paid a tenner extra for a room with a view but, given the low for Edinburgh at Hogmanay price we had paid, still weren't expecting much. What we got was a 4th floor room with a panoramic view out over Princes St, the gardens and the markets. It was almost as good a view as we had had on our last stay in the city, which was in the much pricier Fraser Suites. I loved it and there were two chairs to sit and enjoy it from. Staff were very friendly indeed and we were even able to check in a few hours early when we'd only turned up expecting to stash our cases. The reception area looks brilliant and the only reason we didn't eat there was because there are so many other places to try in Edinburgh. But yes, suffice to say I loved this place. If you are on a bit of a budget and understand that this is a very good Continental-style hotel and not a luxury one, you would struggle to do better. The location is fantastic and I couldn't fault it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank eg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect for Hogmanay celebrations literally New Year's Eve events are on the doorstep. Waverley station is 2mins walk with 20% discount on parking for hotel guests (ensure you get ticket validated at hotel reception).

Hotel is well finished internally which does the external architecture justice - importantly rooms, bedding and bathrooms are clean.

We never ate in the hotel so can not pass comment on the food. However with the variety of cafés, restaurants and pubs locally it would be a shame for any tourist to eat in the hotel for breakfast, lunch or dinner (No offence to the hotel).

The reception staff were friendly and welcoming as you would expect. The bar staff however we welcoming, friendly and were 'great craic' as we say in Belfast. Adam, Jamie and Kieran recommended the best time to venture into the street party and kept the night going for hotel guests when we got back after midnight. Price for drinks in the hotel aren't extortionate either so definitely worth a visit when staying over or passing by.

Motel One thank you for a great New Years in Edinburgh.

Chelle and Paul. Belfast.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had a short stay in Edinburgh before taking a Rabbie's tour to the Isle of Skye in early October. The weather was unseasonably warm, and as a result, our stay at Motel One was less than comfortable.

The entrance to the lobby wasn't marked well and looked the the entrance to the hotel restaurant, so we passed it the first time. We checked in, and went up to our room on the 7th floor. We were immediately struck with how warm it was in our room, guessing it was probably 83 degrees F.

The decor was very stylish, and though our room was small, if it had a decent cooling system, it would have been a nice stay. There are no phones in the rooms, which made it less than convenient to ask for any help with cooling our room. I understand the intent to keep costs down, but having at least one phone on the floor would have been helpful.

We opened the window to our room, and turned on what we believed to be the cooling system, which was a type of fan system. On our way out of the hotel, we asked for an oscillating fan at the front desk, but there was not one available. Though we were offered a different room, we opted to stay where we were after a long day of travel and knowing we had an early morning. A fan would have been an easy solution.

We expected more of our stay at Motel One because of the reviews here, but sadly, our own experience fell short due to warmer than average weather, however, the location was very good. Maybe a stay later in the season would be more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettVetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were looking at three things during finalizing our hotel in Edinburgh for our December trip. It should be close to the Waverley Station and Princes Street (since we were to arrive from London by train at Edinburgh), should be within our budget of GBP 100 and have the least negative comments on Trip Advisor. One of the Trip Advisor forum members suggested we have a look at Motel One. After doing some research, it worked well for us and we went ahead and booked it.

We're glad that we stayed here as it was a delightful experience. Although we had booked a room with no view, on check-in we asked for an upgrade since we had read there were no air con in the hotel and we did not want to feel claustrophobic. We requested the check in staff to provide us a good room which offers a nice view. The front office gentleman promptly offered us room 616 which had an amazing view of the Princes Street. It was decent sized room. Though i must inform that two single beds were joined here.

The front off staff have been extremely helpful through the length of our stay and added to the overall positive experience. Travel Adapter was provided on a deposit of 5 GBP. Iron on a deposit of 20 GBP. They even recommended some good one day trips and coordinated for the bookings ( though we paid directly to the tour company for the trip)

The location is its biggest advantage. Its 5 minutes walk from the Waverley station. In 3 minutes you are on Princes Street so you cant get anything better. Even the bus station is around 10 minutes walk from the hotel

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request for rooms with a view of Princes Street. We stayed in 616 had great view of the Princes Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank histeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mssunshine12
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed one night here and the first thing that struck us was the perfect location. It's right across from Waverly station and Royal Mile/Prince's St is on either side so everything is within walking distance. Result! The hotel is new, modern and pretty hip - if you like that sort of thing. Our room was classed as 'basic' but we were impressed by the overall quality and how comfortable it was. The staff were also very helpful and accommodating too.

Our only gripe (if we had to pick) was the unreliable wifi. We couldn't access it from our room so had to go to the reception area to pick up the signal but even then it was super slow and took us a while to log on. We were told that the hotel was at full capacity and that's why it was slow but I've stayed in busier hotels so they really should get that looked in to.

Otherwise, if you don't need to be 'on-the-line' then come here as its worth it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mssunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Property: Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing