We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location. Clean and modern accommodation. Efficient and friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location. Clean and modern accommodation. Efficient and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Motel One locates in the old district near railway station and just opposite to the Princes street and new district of the town. Lots of historical sights also locate in few minutes walking distance. The airport shuttle bus stop locates just 10 meters from the hotel and needs no previous booking or ordering, just hop on and pay 4 pounds for the trip directly to the airport.

Rooms are clean, modern and minimal. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

If you are planning your short trip (2-3 nights) to Edinburgh then this hotel is suitable for it. I definitely recommend it. While booking your room please ask additional information about the room location. Some rooms locate towards old town and you'll experience rather dark room with a view of opposite building wall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    831
    234
    47
    35
See reviews for
197
1,005
185
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

When we saw how close this hotel was to the Railway station and the center of the city we knew we had struck gold! From reception to our room perfection the staff are efficient and friendly,when we walked into our room the television screen on the wall played relaxing music with tropical fish swimming and it happened every time we went in!!Beds and pillows can always be a problem and as expected they were so comfortable we slept till late pure heaven mmmmmmm.My fella hadn't booked breakfast because one review had moaned how expensive a bag of crisps were at the bar £5 and there was only one plug point in the room well to put that person straight we had 3 points and we paid £7.50 each for our breakfast and it was lovely no fry ups but continental and plenty of choice.Everything about this Motel was put together with the customer in mind The German company who own these Motels know exactly what makes you feel comfortable from the moment you walk in the door will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the main road in Edinburgh but we heard nothing and the view was lovely the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squilly845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you're going to be in Edinburgh for a few days--there's a great place to stay that is very anonymous but comfortable. The price is right--it's actually part of the German-run Motel One group. What makes this a real find is that its location is perfect--just near the base of the Castle and near great shops and restaurants on either side of the Water of Leith. The staff is very friendly and though I use it for business overnights--it's a really good choice if you're just spending a few days in Edinburgh and want a nice, clean and well-thought out place to stay. Rooms are 'well-appointed' and cozy. It's a formula but it works. Free WiFi--groovy tartan covered egg chairs and other nice touches throughout.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winngill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was my first stay at Motel One and I was really impressed. It's clean, modern and the staff are very helpful. My bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious and although it had no view as it faced up an alley way, that didn't bother me as I was only there one night on business. As soon as you step out the front door you can see Princes Street and the gardens and it's a short climb up Advocates Close to the Royal Mile. Waverley Station, the Fruitmarket Gallery and the Edinburgh Dungeon are all within a minute's walk.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I am so glad we chose this hotel! The location was central to everything we wanted to do and right next to the train station so we didn't have to lug our suitcases far at all! The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and roomy. Would definitely stay there again! Our first room was noisy as it was adjacent to a side street, but the staff moved us for our subsequent nights.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the park - what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaFromAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
894 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I like Motel 1's. They are a decent product but this one has some drawbacks. First the positives.

The staff is very welcoming and tries their best to help you. The rooms are clean, modern, and Spartan. The bathrooms are clean and modern too. The room is small but it serves its purpose. This is a good decently priced hotel. The common areas are very modern and can be used for meeting clientele or friends. The breakfast is European style with meats, breads, and yogurt.

The bad part of my visit was room 201. It is next to a house cleaning staff closet. Around 7AM the staff was busy organizing their cleaning supplies in preparation for the day. There was also a good deal of conversation that passed through the wall into my room. I changed rooms for the following day and I pity anyone who wants to sleep in if they get a room next to the cleaning closet. Shouldn't that room be the discounted one?

If you room is on the backside of the hotel you will more than likely hear some howls from the bar crew wandering through the alleys on the weekends. During the summer I am sure it is every night especially around closing time. If you came to Edinburgh for this purpose then I'm sure it will not be a problem.

Good price and with clean modern hotel can be had here depending on which rooms you get.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms next to service closets and the back side of the hotel has street noise from bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Located right next to the old-town, this hotel is a great option no matter the purpose of your trip.
I was there for business for a couple of days, but even if you are in Edinburgh for tourism, there is no better place to stay. Btw, it is just 1m walking distance from the train station.

Rooms are huge, toilets have an outstanding contemporary decoration and service is extremely professional. I found my hotel in this lovely city!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamfromBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Property: Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing