We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel One..made my stay memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Ranked #55 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Motel One..made my stay memorable”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I love theLocation.. fantastic! service great! The friendliness of the staff was awesome

hotel was very quiet and central to all restaurants and historical sites.
The bathrooms were clean and this matters most to me. Telephones in the rooms should be available for convenience. rooms with city view will be better

Room Tip: Rooms with city view will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrinalini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    886
    252
    50
    37
See reviews for
211
1,067
196
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herlev, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Really Nice hotel located between the old and the new part of the town. Very central. Next to bus and train station.
The hotel are rather new, and the everything seems clean and in order.
Good breakfast and good service.
No noise from the street.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Henriette1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I generally liked the hotel. The rooms are small but with a nice interior. The bathrooms are fresh and clean. The personel were friendly and helpful. Now to the downside. The rooms were terrebly hot. I asked the staff about it and they explained to a broken air condition. The radiators were also put in boiler hot mode so I took the freedom of shutting them off. The breakfast were fresh but nothing extra. The location is also of world class, just 50 metres from the airport bus.
I slept the entire night with open window and slept well.
If the hotel would have been cool they would have received four stars.
I visited the hotel with my sister and her husband.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with working air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I'll start with the one positive and that is the location. It really is situated in an excellent location.

Now the Negatives. This hotel is all about cost cutting. There is a real mean and miserly feel about it. They don't have a restaurant and offer only a continental breakfast. They seem to operate with a skeleton staff all the time. The rooms are quite small and ridiculously warm. We stayed for three days and had to leave both windows open 24 hours a day for the entirety of our stay. Staff weren't particularly apologetic about the heat (considering the price we were paying per night) and I was simply handed a fan and received a shrug of the shoulders. There was no air conditioning. The real annoyance for me though was that there was no soap in the bathroom and all we received were two tiny shower gel bottles each day. Also, we did not have a wardrobe. Instead there was simply a rail over the mirror with three (yes just three for two people!) hangers. I will not stay in a Motel one hotel again as it was quite a negative experience overall.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs as you will probably have to leave the windows open all of the time. Ask for extra s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Decooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The room was very small and boiling hot with no air conditioning and the only window opened out onto a very noisyy alleyway across from which was another part of the hotel so this offered no natural light at all. The staff were nice and gave us a fan, but this really was ridiculous in a mid-price hotel.

With so many amazing cafes and restaurants about, I see no reason why anyone would pay to have a continental breakfast in a chain like this, so I cannot comment on the breakfast.

I stay in Edinburgh once a month on business and will not return to this hotel, I have had much better experience in the many independently owned and run hotels that the city has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BashBrannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
457 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The rooms are clean and simply decorated. Bathroom is compact but with a decent sized shower. Rooms are surprisingly quiet for the hotels position. We had a nice room with a view of the park. The beds were a little firm for our taste. The reception staff were very helpful at all times.This hotel is very good value for Edinburgh and has a great location. The airport bus is right across the road as are all the tourist busses. The train station is a two minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Checked in for 2 nights whilst in Edinburgh on business, got my key handed to me without a description of where the room was. I proceeded to the lift and noticed my room number wasn't on it. Looked around for a bit and finally cornered a staff member. Turns out I was in the Cockburn street part, up in the lift, through a warren of corridors, down another lift to my room, card didn't work, had to return to reception. Girl on reception had very little interest and redid my card. Room clean and tidy, 2 single duvets which is a bit bizarre, bit of noise from room above. Didn't try the food, £104 a night without breakfast, didn't want to give them anymore money!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheltieShetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#33 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,052 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
912 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Property: Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing