We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Ranked #51 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

This recently refurbished hotel is excellently located close to Waverley Station in the heart of Edinburgh. The check in was fast and the check in staff excellent. A full continental breakfast was offered. Given the nature of the historic buildings it is not surprising that the layout is complex, and it would have been good if bedrooms had fire evacuation maps to assist orientation. The bedrooms are German designed, but some small details have been overlooked ( lack of bedside tables and no shaver points, for example). Minor points aside, though, highly recommended

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank W David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,295 - 1,301 of 2,371 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

A group of 19 stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend with great weather the rooms were hot and it was a bit uncomfortable. The room has a window but it does not open wide enough to allow much of a breeze. Some side rooms were noisy as steps run close to the main building. However for location cost and quality of room and helpfulness of staff it would not stop me and many of my group staying there again. At such a busy and expensive time to be in Edinburgh it was good value and we did not spend a lot of time in the room. It is close to some lovely eating places and we particularly enjoyed the close proximity to the Dungeon Trip the station and Princes Street. Staff were very helpful and ordered taxis contacted spa we were using and nothing was too much trouble. We did not take breakfast there as brilliant full Scottish breakfast available up the hill from the hotel but drinks in the bar were reasonable.

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p.m.s.norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the Fringe 2013. It was a fantastic location (especially if you arrive by train) but there was a problem with the air conditioning.
For 2014, we booked a year in advance and expected the small issues from last time to be sorted. Well, I can report that it's still a great location - however, there are still too many small faults for an unreserved recommendation.
First, our room was just the worst in the hotel. On the ground floor, in an adjacent building with a very annoying long walk through from reception. This room had a direct view onto the public passageway. In turn, the public had a direct view into our room. We couldn't open the curtains the whole stay. The room was clean but small. No wardrobe - just hangers. Tea and coffee were in meagre supply and the electrical socket next to the bed ( prime position) was an EU only style.
Last year, the room was too hot. This year, we couldn't warm it up. It was a permanent ice box despite trying very combination of heating controls.
This hotel is part of a German chain and attracts many visitors from Germany. Unfortunately, virtually no staff were local and (maybe due to language) there was little hospitality on display. Normally you are asked if you had a good stay when you checkout - not here.
This hotel could be so much better. It's in a prime location but it desperately needs a touch of 'hospitality best practice'.
Will we stay again. Maybe - it's a fair price and a great location - but not perfect.

Room Tip: High floor. Ask for a view and phone a few days before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We arrived at hotel an hour and a half before check in time which was 3pm, with the intention of leaving the cases and have a look round at the fringe festival, but found we could go to our room straight away. We got given two keys and free wi fi passcodes for 3 devices (we had 4), so the receptionist gave us another passcode to use more devices.
There are 3 lifts and stairs to each floor, we were staying on the fifth floor in room 517 which looked out onto Market Street and the railway station. The room itself was pretty basic but that was all we needed, seeing as we only had the intention of laying our heads down for a couple of nights. After reading previous reviews, I took a couple of extension plugs so we had places to charge phones, tablets etc. The plug sockets themselves were a little bizarre, two of them (one was by the open plan wardrobe and the the other was by the bathroom) were quite high off the ground (there was also a third plug socket on one side of the bed, the other side had a two pin plug socket) so what we did was move the table over by the door so we could plug the extension lead into where the open plan wardrobe was and plug everything (including the kettle) into that plug socket. A little inconvenient, but workable if you didn't have that many clothes that needed hanging up, but as we were only staying a couple of nights, it did for us. If however you needed more than 6 hangers to hang clothes from, then I suggest you take some with you, as there is only shelving next to the bed to fold clothes on.
The bathroom didn't have any soap, just some hair and body wash in little plastic bottles, so bought some liquid soap to use and took home with me to use at home. There were hand towels and bath towels a shower (no bath) and a hairdryer in the room, no iron, but I believe you can get one from reception. The tv reception was fine there were facilities to make tea and coffee and the room was very soundproofed as we didn't hear noise coming from either the road or train station outside.
The bed was quite comfortable, the pillows were quite soft and although it was a double bed, there were two quilts, so we both had a good nights sleep.
We didn't have any breakfast at the hotel as it was continental and being in Scotland, we wanted a traditional scottish breakfast so can't comment on the food. We had a drink at the bar one night and the area was clean, no empty glasses left lying round and there were quite a few people in the bar area. The hotel itself was very clean, the hotel receptionist (we had the same lady when we checked in and out) was very friendly and helpful and is very convenient for Princess Street to do shopping, Edinburgh Castle, The Royal Mile and is only a two and a half mile walk/bus ride/ taxi to The Royal Yacht Britannia and The Edinburgh Dungeon was a thirty second walk away and the train station is a two minute walk.
The check out time was 12 noon, we checked out a little earlier and our train wasn't until half two, so we could leave our cases and have a last look around before leaving. There are toilets downstairs to use.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view Take some extension plugs if you have more than 3 items to plug in Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is in a fabulous location, just across the road from Waverley Station and a few minutes walk from a public car park. The reception staff were pleasant and efficient when we checked in. We were given the wifi access code with our room keys which was reliable. We chose not to have breakfast included with our stay as there are several places nearby to eat. Our double room was very clean and comfortable. The en-suite shower room was lovely and the hairdryer provided is a good quality one. The only criticism I would have is there's only one socket for boiling the kettle, charging phones etc. I had read this on one of the reviews so took an adapter with me. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrsJD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Have just returned from a night at Motel One in Edinburgh.
What a fab location, right on Princes Street. We had tickets to the Tattoo (awesome!) and also wanted to check out the Fringe, so this couldn't have been any better located. We didn't eat here, but the rooms were clean and comfy, the staff friendly (held onto our luggage whilst we explored) and the bar was very relaxing for a quiet g&ts!
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Furryhess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights during the August Edinburgh festival. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful. My shower did not drain properly and was solved on my return to the hotel. The location is great, near to the bus terminus and railway station. Our room rate included for breakfast which was very good.

Room Tip: My room was on the seventh floor and facing one of the adjacent buildings, i.e. no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#29 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,248 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#52 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,315 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £57 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing