We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great flat in great location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cumberland Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cumberland Street
The Building The Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Cumberland Street
The Building
The Double Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallways
Enter a caption for your photo
The Building
The well-known Cumberland Bar
Enjoy a walk by the nearby Water of Leith
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Deb T
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great flat in great location!”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a really good couple of days here. As described the flat is in a lovely quiet & historic street but close to the centre. It is compact but very well equipped, clean and comfortable - good beds & nice modern bathroom with excellent shower. Patrick couldn't have been more helpful with access instructions & advice for making the most of our stay. Excellent value too! Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thanks for such a pleasant, positive review. Very much appreciated. Obviously, we would love to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a great flat”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We're actually from Edinburgh and come back regularly to visit friends/family and enjoy the place, so you can take our word that the location is great for visitors: not in a touristy spot yet central. It is old beautiful Edinburgh indeed, good location for foodies (margiotta 200m, an institution), good location for kids (play park 300m, plus the botanics next door)... It is a lovely little flat, freshly decorated/kept, by British standards the bathroom is fabulous, great linen, good beds... and a very helpful owner.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thank you. What a lovely review. Very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful flat in New Town”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Although a bit small, this flat in the middle of New Town was really well situated near most of the main tourist areas. The flat itself was really well appointed and the street it was on was both historic and quiet.

Although we did not get to meet Patrick in person, his directions to the flat and how to get the key were impeccable and very easy to follow. All communications with him were always helpful and timely. The flat was very welcoming and really felt like a home away from home. We loved our stay and would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Edinburgh!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really comfy beds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Wonderful to know you had such a great time in Edinburgh and I am really pleased you enjoyed staying in our apartment. Hope to host you again before long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimHerm
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Utterly fresh and pleasing apartment. Big elegant and modern living area with two small but perfectly satisfactory bedrooms and large store cupboard/room. Situated in the atmospheric Neo-classical New Town. Patrick was very helpful,understanding and even forgiving.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A secure and pleasing home from home ( once inside 0
Liked least: (The common hall and stairwell is a little austere and some fresh paint eg would do no harm - but not a problem for me, especially because of the the flat once entered.) )
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you for such a kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and that the apartment was much to liking. We would be delighted to host you again on your next trip to our city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanfiesc...
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay and explore all that Edinburgh has to offer.”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Thank you Patrick for such a wonderful little place to stay.
Cumberland Street is close enough to enjoy being a tourist in the centre of Edinburgh and far enough away to experience the other 'real' side of Edinburgh. Nice touch with a glass of bubbly on arrival and lots of information related to the area. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and ease of booking.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
That's great. We really appreciate such a positive review and are delighted you enjoyed your time in our apartment and our city so much. Of course, we would love to see you again before too long. Have a great summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveljac...
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect central location for sightseeing”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Centrally located in New Town, this flat is nicely decorated and has everything you'll need for self catering. Patrick (charming owner who also grew up in the flat) was absolutely brilliant and responded immediately to any enquiries we had prior to booking the flat. His son met us the day of our arrival & gave us great suggestions for grocery shopping, sights & restaurants. Could not have been happier with our choice! The flat was more than enough room for our family of 4, including 2 teenagers. Fantastic value & would stay again on our next holiday to Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ease of contacting Patrick
Liked least: Everything was fantastic
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thanks for such a great review ... and also thank you for confirming that our son did such a good job in greeting you. It is always nice to hear good things about your children. We are delighted to you enjoyed your Edinburgh visit so much and would love to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic and well equipped”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Centrally located in historic New Town, this flat is nicely decorated and has everything you'll need for self catering. Patrick was a gracious host who took the time to tell us about the history of the property and orient us to the neighborhood. It's an easy walk to either downtown or Stockbridge for shopping, dining, and sightseeing. Very good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No central heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for such a kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and would be delighted to host you again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing