We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't listen to the naysayers ... it's a great place to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bonsai

Bonsai
Ranked #1,201 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't listen to the naysayers ... it's a great place to eat!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Thanks to some of the reviews, we almost didn't come here for dinner, but decided to try it anyway since there were also good ones.

We were greeted as we came in by the very friendly staff and were sitting down with a cup of green tea within a few minutes of arriving. The food - and in particular the soft shell crab tempura - was excellent, the sashimi being very fresh and there being a wide range of dishes to choose from along with a range of daily specials.The vegetable tempura was crisp and light. Service was quick and the restaurant was full - this on a Wednesday in January. Peeking at other diners' choices gave us what we described as 'food envy' and we will definitely go back to try some of their other dishes. At £28 for two for a protein-laden meal, this was excellent value. Top tip: If you are sharing the dishes, just ask for some plates - they are happy to oblige.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    48
    19
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh tasty Japanese with friendly service”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stumbled across this simple buy lovely Japanese restaurant and had lunch. Fresh well prepared food and friendly service. Would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themacblacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First Time Visit And We Are Going Back!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Got a groupon deal for this restaurant and we will be going back. Food was very fresh and well presented.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karroo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Diabolical”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Firstly I would comment on the food - if only I had any; sat there for two hours with one pork dumpling whilst I waiting for the rest of my order and watched my partner and her friend eat. Neither of the two waiting staff seemed particularly concerned or took initiative to check what was happening with our second order. Apparently we were told that one ordered item was off the menu (we were not, and no surprise the original waitress avoided our table after obviously realising her mistake), but when we ordered more items these never came but one still appeared on the bill and we had to ask for this to be removed much to the confusion of one server who thought it had been served - impossible considering the original waitress said an order had just been found in his hand writing that was not passed to the kitchen (ours). We commented that we would have to go elsewhere for dinner to which there was minimal apology offered. Unfortunately it was now 10pm and most places were closed although we did end up finding food refuge in Jolly's afterwards. I'm sure the food itself at Bonsai was ok but due to the appalling service we won't be back to give it a second chance. We were on a two day break and was such a shame we went here as there were other places we could have spent our money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Went here with a Groupon voucher & we weren't disappointed.
Bonsai has a great atmosphere, great staff & delicious food. It is on the expensive side if you have 2 or more dishes each, but we had no complaints.
Everything was beautifully presented, fresh & mouth-wateringly good.
Drinks were on the expensive side as well, but of high quality.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable time & will definitely be visiting again.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank womenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonsai also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Bonsai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing