We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked a lot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vintage - CLOSED

The Vintage
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: British, Indian, Spanish, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
NYC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Liked a lot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Worth a detour from Edinburgh as recommended by friends. Vintage is really serious about beer AND food. Owner and staff very friendly. Jugged rabbit very tasty, amazingly rich taste, dwhipped crowdie on sourdough fun, smokie fish cakes delicious. Also had herring tartare (fine), lamp whisps (not our favorites) and curried pork carpaccio (liked a lot). Seasonal greens OK, but clearly their heart not in that dish. Total of seven small dishes was more than enough for two hungry people, prices seemed very fair to us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank philmNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pricey and poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Maybe not for us but went here with 5 friends and had a mixed time.....place and decor is nice but food was poor compared to alternatives in that area. We had rabbit burgers and the roast lunch which hadn't been serve yet until 5pm on a Sunday....according to the staff....warning bells! The burgers seemed rubbery and the brioche was stale...which set us back 12.50 each.

For desert we had elderflower gel and rhubarb which was bizarre and we had one spoon and left the rest.

One good thing was the fish cakes starter...very nice but they failed to bring our starters altogether which isn't great.

Overall service was confused and food disappointing.

Lots of other places cheaper and better.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drluvpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice....but at a price!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Fine if you like the uber-metro-sexual-gastropub scene (as confounded 'foodies' we generally do), with a seemingly good range of cask and bottled beers. Good setting and location, and very friendly and chatty staff. The 'but' element here (if you guessed one was coming) are the prices. As none of the mains hugely appealed without blowing the budget, we initially opted for three 'tapas-style' starters to share, a member of staff telling us that four to six tapas snacks EACH would roughly equate to a single main course. Hmmm. At around £4 each, that makes for quite an expensive dining experience. The tapas arrived, stylishly presented, but meagre rations or what!? The 'Pork Scratchings' were just four average-size pieces, 'Beery Bacon' was four tiny slithers of streaky-type bacon, and the 'Wild Boar Chorizo' was just four thin slices of salami-type sausage. All presented on a nice bread board and accompanied by some cornichons and a couple of salsa dips. None of the snacks were anything to write home about really and at these prices, we left feeling disappointed and not a little cheated. Ratings-wise, the dining experience wasn't Poor, but price-wise it wasn't as good as Average either, so 2.5 stars it is.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OldGold&Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We went to The Vintage for a late sunday lunch. Lovely releaxed atsmosphere, we were seated right by the open kichen, which was fab. Waitress was friendly and attentive. Loved being able to watch the chefs, they clearly take a lot of pride in their work which was great to see. Brilliant beer selection. We had a mac n cheese burger with homemade chips - amazing and the roast lamb, also wonderful. Desert a banoffee cheescake. Perfect. All in all a wonderfully relaxed delicious meal in lovely surroundings at a great price. Also great to se the manger windering about chatting away. You're all doing a great job, we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adventurehippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant food sold as bar food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited the Vintage on a Friday night. It was quite a bit different than the website, more a restaurant feel than a bar serving food, as over half the bar is set up for booked meals (which we were one as advised to book) I'm glad we did as the food was lovely, a little on the expensive side but it was lovely.
We had to wait a little bit longer than we thought for our food but the waitress more than made up for it. She was very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shona_corner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vintage also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing