We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Welcome, Great Service, Great Food, Great Value”
Review of Bennets Bar

Bennets Bar
Ranked #756 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Welcome, Great Service, Great Food, Great Value”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went to Bennets before attending a show at the King's theater next door on April 2nd 2014.
The service was fantastic, the guy on the bar was attentive, polite and very helpful.
The portions were fantastic and the food quality amazing,
It is over and above standard pub food without the massive bill

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    31
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Busy Bar By The Kings Theatre”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good service, great selection of real ales and ridiculously hand for the theatre. This Edinburgh institution is certainly worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, great place!!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just been to bennets for evening meal, decided on the pre theatre menu, great value for money, and good choice of food. Starter was Cullen skink and was one of the best I have ever tasted, followed this with lamb casserole and it was Devine. I will definitely be back again and will make sure to share my experience with friends and family

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulpaulfamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomtom99, Manager at Bennets Bar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor. We work very hard to ensure that every guest gets the best possible experience every time, and it's nice to hear when we get it right. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top quality fresh Scottish food”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My boyfriend and I ate here over the French International weekend and we were not dissapointed! I had the black pudding trio and then the BBQ Pouisson and it was delish!!! We sampled some local ales and a couple whiskys for desserts ;). Bennets bar is beautiful with a lovely traditional feel about it.
We had heard that the service was good as we were not dissapointed, our waitress Lucy was friendly and made us feel very welcome. We cant wait for our next visit!

Bennets is also dog friendly which was great to see!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomtom99, Manager at Bennets Bar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Bennets Bar. We pride ourselves in top quality products backed up with top quality service and are always happy to hear about this from our guests. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed and we're were regular customers”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Very Dissappointed with our lunch today at £9 each for a main course! We won't return. My meatball pasta was salty, the sauce clearly had come out of a jar. Be prepared for a 45 - 60 minute wait as we had to!! Partners portion of haggis neeps was too small. What has gone badly wrong with this place?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mor_vey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomtom99, Manager at Bennets Bar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I am very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable time when you ate with us recently. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the best experience we can so that we can encourage them to return for meals with us in the future.
We very recently changed the menu adding the meatballs & spaghetti, which are made from scratch on the premises like all our meals. Although we test these products before going on sale, there maybe some oversights and we greatly appreciate you brining these to our attention. I also agree the haggis portion is too small and our kitchen team have taken your views on board and are bulking up the portion to ensure that other guests get the best value for their money.
If you would like to come back for another meal with us in the future then please do not hesitate to email me at bennetsbar@live.co.uk. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bennets Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Bennets Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing