We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Worth the price!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sashamd19
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the price!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful flat! It was warm, comfortable and had everything that we needed. Bedrooms are large and decorated well. For a 2bed flat, the amount of space made the flat seem enormous for the 3 of us. There was no fighting over the bathroom as there was an additional toilet. Kitchen well stocked.
Excellent location - i lived in Edinburgh whilst at university and wished i could have been that close to everything! 5mins from train station, slightly more to the main bus station. No hassle. Plenty of choice for food, shopping, tourist attractions, or just finding a wee spot to sit and take it all in. Closest supermarket is about 5-10mins walk also.
Drawbacks -noise of the royal mile but this can not be helped and doesn't reflect negatively on the accommodation. There are a lot of stairs but after the initial lugging of suitcases these are a breeze. I would definitely consider staying here again!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and big bedrooms
Liked least: The mattress was a little hard but that is just my personal taste
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia...
Isle of Skye
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for a city centre stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Have stayed in Parliament Square previously but this was the first time in No. 5. Our family were in Edinburgh for a special birthday celebration and stayed in four apartments throughout the building. This arrangement worked very well allowing us to be together but also giving us some space. No. 5 is an extremely well equipped, cosy and very comfortable spacious apartment. The kitchen was generously equipped with everything you could need and provided rooftop views across the chimney pots to Arthur Seat, The beds were extremely comfortable with lovely pillows and duvets and the original wooden shutters blocked out the city centre noise from the street below. If you want total quiet you don't stay in the city centre and we didn't find this a problem. The meet and greet arrangement with Dave was very efficient as was all booking communications. The apartment is spotlessly clean and you immediately feel at home so thanks to the owners who have taken the time and effort in making it so

I remember this building as the Central Police HQ so it is quite interesting in being able to stay there. The High Street location is within easy walking distance of the train station and connections for Edinburgh Airport, there are too many pubs and restaurants to mention very close by, and not forgetting the Royal Mile's historical treasures and museums. Plenty things to do and see with a wonderfully relaxing apartment makes this an unmissable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotandsan...
Daytona Beach, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Flat On The Royal Mile!”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this flat based on all the reviews and they were spot on. I booked months in advance and Glenn was on top of everything including all my questions as the date approached. We travel all over the world and stay in hotels most of the time. This trip, we were traveling with our son and daughter in law and this made more sense finacially for us and we wanted the amenities the flat made available.

I won't say to much about the location because it's been mentioned over and over but you can't find a better spot for any of Edinburgh's sites or restaurants. Glenn also gives you a print out of restaurant recommendations that was very useful. We made reservations two weeks before we left and were very glad we did as some of the top rated restaurants were almost booked up except for off times of very early or really late.

We were met by Dave in front of the flat at the planned time and he threw our luggage over his shoulder and bounded up the stairs. Thank you to Dave for that as there are quite a few stairs. He showed us how everything worked and left us some milk, tea, and coffee.

The flat was spotless and had everthing you could want in terms of cooking in (we really didn't) but it's nice if you want to. It is great to have a fridge for soda, waters, etc. The bedrooms are very large and the beds were super comfortable in both rooms. There is one full bath with shower and tub and a half bath with sink and toilet. That really made it easy for us with 4 people getting ready at one time. The wifi worked great and the TV was state of the art. Street noise never bothered us at night. There are some street performers that were fun to watch out of the living room window and the crowd could be loud but this never went on at night so, no problem.

We've been to Edinburgh on several occasions and this trip was one of our favorites and one of the reasons was this flat and the location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hot water on timer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrick86...
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand Flat with High Ceilings in the Center of the Royal Mile”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Although the flat was absolutely lovely, the noise from the Royal Mile could be heard at night. Not too bad, but not ideal. Given the fact that Edinburgh has such great night life, we luckily arrived back at the flat late enough that the street noise did not bother us too much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: charm of the historic property
Liked least: street noise
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian J
Dumbarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbeatable!”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a stunning apartment which is spotless, airy and very comfortable with plenty space for four. Kitchen is well equipped giving any guest the option of eating in or out. Ideally located on the Royal Mile, all of Edinburgh's main attractions and shops are within easy walking distance. We had a fantastic stay and would recommend this apartment to anyone.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda T
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very central luxurious apartment”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was a great place to stay, spacious and well equipped. The location is fantastic - we were there over halloween and the samhain procession took place underneath our window!
Only two minor downsides: there were lots of steps - it is on the fifth floor with no lift - fine for us but be aware if that could be an issue for you. Also the mattress on the king bed was much too firm for me (I went and bought a mattress topper for the holiday- my other half thought it just right though!).

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Cla...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very convenient and comfortable appartment.”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Ideally located in the heart of lovely Edinburgh. Clean, comfortable, convenient, fully equipped and well decorated. Warm welcome from caretaker. Close to restaurants, shops and festival activities. A bit noisy during August festival but nothing to keep you from falling into sound sleep after a day spent in the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: how to operate washer and dryer; different from North American appliances
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;