We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ong Gie

Ong Gie
Ranked #350 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal here last night.

The service was fantastic with the chef making a special dish for my husband when he couldn't have the one he picked because of allergies.

The food was great value especially as it is BYOB. Our only disappointment was we didn't get a table with the BBQ on it so next time I'll be sure to ask when I book.

Helpful?
Thank Madcow4985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    48
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I really enjoyed the food and the service. The waitress was very kind and the starter she recommended (spring roll) was beyond my expectation. I usually don't like spring rolls but it was very unique with kimchi and noodles in it. The main dishes were decent and tasty. But what really knocked me down was desserts. We ordered two desserts, the first two ones on the menu, each worth 4 pounds. It was so good, so good. Vanilla ice-cream was not one of the cheap ones you would usually have as desserts in restaurants, the small round greentea cake tastes heaven, the one with mango sauce topped was lovely, and the bun with red bean was great too. They are definitely the BEST desserts I have had in restaurants in Edinburgh. Great place to eat out with friends and family!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I had a great lunch today!
We were the only ones in the restaurant at 1:30pm
so, we were worried a bit at first,
However, the starter blew our notion away.
The food was great and nourishing, especially the marvelous starter!
and the waiting staff was exceptionally kind and friendly.
So, we weren't planning to have any dessert today, but have decided to try.
We had an Onggie's special dessert which made our experience a 'happy ending'.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Give this a try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Was really excited to see that a new Korean had been opened in Edinburgh. This did not disappoint, especially when you hear that it is the same people who ran the wee takeway on Buccleuch street.

The food and service was fantastic plus great value indeed. would have preferred a BBQ table, but did not stop our enjoyment of the food.

Can't wait to go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A brilliant new find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We took a chance and popped in here for lunch on a Sunday recently, not knowing anything about it. So glad we did. Beautiful food, really lovely friendly & accommodating staff. They were happy to explain all the dishes to us & for us to order the barbecue dish (it's not officially part of the lunch menu) - great experience cooking our own food in the middle of the table! We were even given a free dessert as it was new on the menu & they wanted to get our opinion on it. Very reasonably priced & BYOB which keeps the cost down even more. A brilliant new find. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ong Gie also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Ong Gie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing