We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Blackfriars Restaurant - CLOSED

Blackfriars Restaurant
Price range: US$44 - US$51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wonderful service with a sense of humour and excellent food in a lovely atmosphere.

We have eaten in some of the top restaurants whilst spending a week in Edinburgh and found the quality of the food at Blackfriars to be on par but without the price tag. Lovely informal atmosphere on a beautiful evening. Staff are fun and attentive. Rustic building and a lovely walk on a warm evening across town. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyJun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    63
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Steak and Lamb main courses ever”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed eating here.

Not only were the staff friendly, the food was very well prepared (especially the steak and the lamb main courses that we had).

What gives the place an extra charm is that the pleasant owners are actively working in the restaurant, resulting in even receiving the recipe for how to make the soda bread we had as a starter. Although of course we will probably never be able to make it like them :)

Summa summarum, it is definitely worth a try, so go for it!

Thanks!

P.s. Hint: the leek soup was superb as well!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FloopySandlet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never been before but will return”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very good indeed, if slightly large portions. Terrific starter of marinated raw trout (like gravadlax) in a sale followed by lovely Scottish steak. Bit stuffed so no pudding but will certainly come back. Bill was reasonable for four.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Culinary Triumph”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful food here - in my case roast lamb so tender it was almost falling off my fork. The staff are wonderfully friendly and attentive too. It is a pricey option, and the decor's on the spartan side, but the food alone makes it worthwhile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oaklands87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, very good value!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The meal we had was one of the best for a long time- really thoughtful, concise menu, implying they really know and care about food. Particularly enjoyed the mussels and chips, as well as the wonderful homemade soda bread which was free of charge. Our waitress was really attentive and friendly, and the food was incredibly good value- 2 amazing courses for £14.50. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice4519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackfriars Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing