We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angels Share Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Angels Share Hotel
Ranked #99 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will stay again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The hotel is really central to Edinburgh, it has a great modern but warm feel the staff really are great! friendly and obviously really enjoy working there, the rooms are big (well mine was anyway 102) and comfortable, the bar in early evening is buzzing, breakfast was good and even if you are not on B&B reasonable at only £8.50 for full Scottish.
The only thing is the hotel and rooms are really really warm! There was no A/C in my room, not sure if there is in any others and the fan I had was really noisy. It won't stop me from staying there again though!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 40Nicks74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you! I will be sure to pass your comments on to all the staff! Its is very refreshing to have such a lovely team here who I agree ' really enjoy working here'.

Haste Ye Back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    130
    79
    26
    12
See reviews for
33
229
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

For the price we paid in the location it's in you just can't fault it..!
Comfy big bed, free Tunnock's and water along with a good choice minibar and room service!
Staff are lovely and the friendly Canadian made us feel very welcome and very relaxed!
I would recommend this place to all couples alike looking for a good night in the capital!
Well done!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you so much for your comments! Character, quality and comfort are at the fore front of our business topped off with first class customer service. Such good news to hear that you agree!

Haste Ye Back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have just got back from a shopping trip to Edinburgh with friends and we stayed at this hotel. from the offset was extremely impressed, the receptionist was extremely helpful and lovely we booked in at 10.30 and was allowed to leave our bags, which were promptly placed in the room for when we returned. We were in the Rod Stewart room and is Fab, friends of ours were put in the Jack Vetriano which was a bit on the small side however ample for one night stay.
The bar was lovely and after spending a day and evening traipsing around Edinburgh shopping was a welcome relief, great cocktails and ambience, the noise from the live band on the Saturday could be heard in the Jack Vetriano room however could not hear it in the Rod Stewart room. Clean comfortable and fab décor, all the staff was lovely and eager to help, Breakfast in the morning was great, be warned the mini fridge prices are a tad high, but its what you expect from a hotel. Loved this place would recommend it to anyone, fantastic location. We are planning next years trip already.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We aim to please! The Rod Stewart room is a firm favourite! Many people question why we chose Rod Stewart as one of our 30 celebs as he is not Scottish - however his dad was Scottish and we believe he has earned a well deserved spot in our lovely hotel! We are also considering putting a record player in this room with a selection of his fantastic tunes to select from... watch this space!

Thank you once again and please remember to contact us directly for the best possible rate!

Haste Ye back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

On arrival we were met with warm and friendly welcome (Canadian chap was very helpful and had first class customer service skills. Our room (The Dario Francetti) was lovely and perfect for two people for two nights. It was very cosy and clean. We were offered Prosecco on arrival and showed to our room, which had all the amenities that we needed and more, with a fantastic range of teas, coffees and biscuits. We ate breakfast both days in the restaurant which was as expected extremely good food. With the hotel being in the perfect location for pubs we found that the service and range of drinks (cocktails) at the bar in the Angels Share was actually where we ought to be. We were asked to try the new xmas cocktails and enjoyed staggering up the stairs. Dinner was also of high quality. The whole atmosphere, ambiance and feel of Angels Share turned what was meant to be a shopping trip to Edinburgh into a fantastic mini holiday. 10/10.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a different Style so each will have its own qualities and feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Our fantastic Canadian Jamie strikes agian! Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We belive that first class customer service is vital which is why we employ staff that genuinely care. Such positive comments give the staff so much motivation so thank you!

Haste Ye Back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed it! It is next to Charlotte Square and really conveniently located. Close to Rose Street which has loads of pubs and the hotel has the most stunning bar itself! Really smart and buzzing with excellent service. we were really happy there and would definitely go back! The room has everything one could possibly need and the staff are extremely helpful and eager to please. Great place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you! I will be sure to pass all your comments on to the staff who I believe make the Angels Share the wonderful hotel that it is!

Haste Ye back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Angels Share hotel made my stay so wonderful that instead of staying just one night, i ended up staying 4 nights! Every single employee from the manager, to the bar tender was kind and genuine. Nothing but smiles and eagerness to make sure we had everything we needed. The nightly rate was very reasonable, and they even accommodated both in room type and availability when we wanted to stay longer. The hotel's restaurant and bar was amazing in its comfort, cuisine, and menu selection. The Hotel location was right on princess street, a fabulous location to walk anywhere within downtown. I live in New York and travel the globe semi-frequently. It's been years since I've been this impressed by hotel service. If I could give Angels Share 10 stars I would!

Room Tip: The rooms are named after famous Scottish celebrities. I've stayed in both "Dougray Scott&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your fantastic comments.We try so hard to make everything as enjoyable as possible so it means the world to hear that you felt we were unbeatable!

Thank you so very much!

Haste Ye Back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for an impromptu shopping trip in Edinburgh. Got checked in by a lovely Canadian man who took the time to give me a quick tour of the hotel. We booked a superior room, got the David Coulthard room... Was a lovely room if a little on the small side, but fine for our one night stay. Nice bathroom with quality toiletries but shower pressure was lacking. We ate in the restaurant quality of food was good but it lacked a bit of atmosphere, we were the only ones there after 9.30 on a Friday night. Agree with previous reviewer that the waiting staff are a bit snooty! Had a few drinks in the bar and the "club" downstairs, both nice but quite quiet for a Friday night. Receptionist on check our very cool with us and not at all friendly. We tried to make conversation about Rod Stewart (as we don't think he's Scottish... Yet a room named after him?) our comments met with an icy stare... Lol. Not sure if we'd stay again. It was nice but something missing just can't decide what....

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fi_abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We take all feed back very seriously. Our staff are constantly praised for thier high level of customer service and I am very dissapointed to hear that you felt our recptionist was frosty with you. I do hope you decide to give us another chance and hope to see you agian on the near future.

Haste Ye Back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Share Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Share Hotel

Property: Angels Share Hotel
Address: 7- 11 Hope Street, Edinburgh EH2 4EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angels Share Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of the Angels Share boutique Hotel in Edinburgh combines the pulse of the city at your fingertips yet with famous Edinburgh's leafy avenues a mere stroll away. From the sanctuary of this 4 Star Hotel in Edinburgh to the lively Angels Share bar and ambient Devils Cut nightclub, our focus is to provide you with an unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Angels Share Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Share Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing