We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, yes. Worth it? Hell, yes!”
Review of Angels Share Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Angels Share Hotel
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

A very classy yet cool boutique hotel. Rooms small yet lovely, all named after Scottish celebrities (we had the Emeli Sande room!). We arrived 11am, check in not until 2pm but we were given our room straight away. Free wifi and tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc in the room. We stayed New Year's Eve and were given complimentary mini bottles of whisky each for a New Year's gift. Restaurant and bar both gorgeous with chandeliers etc and a fresh cocktail menu, not just the old favourites. Main was good in the restaurant but the entree was great. All the staff were friendly but the reception ladies were fabulous, nothing too much trouble, so helpful. It's about a minute's walk from Princes St, which is the main street in Edinburgh. Also was nice not to have to queue for reception, like you would in a large hotel. The shower was powerful! And the heated towel rail a real luxury. Scotland can be artic in Winter but these rooms are roasty-toasty. Wouldn't do for familes, too small, but for a couples escape is perfect. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Katrina thank you for sharing your experience. We really try to be a little different from the chain hotels offering luxury small touches through out. I will besure to pass your comments on to all the staff who thrive from such lovely comments.

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had dinner and stayed here on the 29th December.

Food was excellent and very good value for money. Drinks were reasonably priced as well especially given the great location on Charlotte square.

Walking into our room was like walking into an oven as the radiator had been left on at maximum and so first task was to turn this right down and switch on the fan (no ac or temp control panel).
The room itself although a little small was actually very nice. Huge kingsize bed and really tastefully decorated. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't seem to be working but this wasn't really an issue for us.
The issue we had was that our room looked out onto the delivery bays for Frasers and they were taking deliveries in the very early hours of the morning (and later!). This meant that both my girlfriend and I got little to no sleep as the noise was very loud.
On top of this the binmen were working the lane and were no quieter pulling the massive dumpsters along the cobbles and shouting at each other.
We mentioned this at checkout and were told the hotel do offer earplugs and were given a 10% "haste ye back" discount off our next sleepless night.

Overall the hotel was very nice and the food was excellent so it's a shame to score it so low. However we booked the room to sleep in and were unable to do so so 2/5 would not stay again (at least not in the jack vettriano room again).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mikeyh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very centrally located which unfortunately at times does mean that we are affected by the day to day noise of city centre activities. There are restrictions in place to avoid this happening during un sociable hours. All of our rooms are double glazed with high quality heavy curtains to help block out any passing noise. I do apologise for the disturbance caused to you during you stay. I can assure you that we take all comments very seriuosly and thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

When booking we decided to book the 'superior' room as the website said it had everything the standard had but larger. We were given Room 306, the James McAvoy room, which to be honest was no bigger than a standard Travelodge room ! As we were checking out on the Sunday, guests were being shown to the Rod Stewart room across from reception and it seemed much larger. Unless the Rod Stewart room was a suite, I can only assume we were not given the superior we paid for or there is a large variation in sizes of superior rooms. Be aware!
The rooms are clean and modern with plasma tv and iPod docking station. King size bed was 2 singles with mattress topper, not the comfiest! Be aware of plug in sink as the only way to empty it is by pushing it down at one side and they can be prone to jamming.
All in all it is a nice hotel in a good position but probably a bit over priced for room only.

Room Tip: Ask for the Rod Stewart room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback seriously to enable us to continue improving in every area. Our Superior and Deluxe rooms all have super king size beds with 5 inch duck down mattress toppers. We are constantly praised on the quality and comfort of our beds which we believe are one of the most important parts of the over all experience. We have 3 room types available - standard double / superior / deluxe all vary in size however our superior and deluxe rooms all have super king size beds. I will be sure to have someone check the sink out as they are of very high standard and should not be jamming.

Once again thank you for your comments. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

booked for one night for a festive break it is very close to all the shops,bars and attractions hotel is of a good standard getting your bearings is a bit awkward as reception is on first floor you either have to go through restaurant or the bar and take the lift to first floor.
the restaurant was full so had to go out for evening meal,The bar was very full on an evening with a free band on which was very good.
the breakfast is advertised at £6.95 on website for a full Scottish we had 1 poached egg on toast and a full scottish breakfast with a white coffee and a latte and a small coke £29 which i thought was quite expensive.
overall the hotel was ok for a night but would not like to stay any longer.
The staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We visited the restaurant for lunch on Sunday 21st December after reading all the positive reviews and we were definitely not disappointed. The food is of a high standard and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. We will definitely be going back soon!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Smart, trendy, different. Angels Share is all of these - very well appointed, with a nice bar and restaurant and with rooms all named after famous Scots.
Our visit started off well, but as others have found it is not easy getting from street level to reception while carrying a couple of cases. Nor is it easy negotiating one's way from reception, through the maze of corridors to one's room.
Once you reach your room I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised. We stayed in one called 'Lulu' and it was pleasantly furnished and decorated. The facilities were above average, but there was no space inside the room. To be fair it was an odd shape to start with, but designers can't simply keep on adding extras to rooms like this without wasting lots of space.
It is well worth a visit, but don't take any luggage!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your review. The Angels Share was a post office many years ago which was converted into a hotel and again renovated last Februray to the Angels Share. All our rooms are of different shapes and sizes which adds to the quirky nature of the hotel. The LuLu room is a standard double room facing over hope street. Our standard double rooms offera all the same amenities as our other room types they are just slightly smaller. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The hotel is really central to Edinburgh, it has a great modern but warm feel the staff really are great! friendly and obviously really enjoy working there, the rooms are big (well mine was anyway 102) and comfortable, the bar in early evening is buzzing, breakfast was good and even if you are not on B&B reasonable at only £8.50 for full Scottish.
The only thing is the hotel and rooms are really really warm! There was no A/C in my room, not sure if there is in any others and the fan I had was really noisy. It won't stop me from staying there again though!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40Nicks74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you! I will be sure to pass your comments on to all the staff! Its is very refreshing to have such a lovely team here who I agree ' really enjoy working here'.

Haste Ye Back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 151 in Edinburgh
836 reviews
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
The Salisbury Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Share Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Share Hotel

Address: 7- 11 Hope Street, Edinburgh EH2 4EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £85 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angels Share Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of the Angels Share boutique Hotel in Edinburgh combines the pulse of the city at your fingertips yet with famous Edinburgh's leafy avenues a mere stroll away. From the sanctuary of this 4 Star Hotel in Edinburgh to the lively Angels Share bar and ambient Devils Cut nightclub, our focus is to provide you with an unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Angels Share Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Share Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing