We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Angels Share Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angels Share Hotel
Ranked #95 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Angels Share Hotel in the Robert Carlyle room and loved it!
The staff were all v friendly and obliging. The bar was v lively serving great cocktails and the food in the restaurant excellent. Would definitely recommend the salmon, mussels & prawn main.
It was in a great location, clean and a great deal with secret escapes.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 103 was located on the first floor with no street views but a lovely balcony ~ we found it v qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very much a ' destination venue' with a hotel, bar, restaurant and live music venue - all under one roof. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspect we offer here and very much hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very impressed with this hotel, it is modern, bright and the staff were very helpful, especially Jamie on reception although everyone was very nice. The breakfast was very good as was dinner. The location was perfect. It would be hard to fault this hotel and made our visit to Edinburgh very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the " Robert Carlyle" room which was at the back and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwardWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I belive that the staff here make the experience just that little bit nicer. Jamie is a star and I will be sure to share your comments with him and the rest of the team!

I hope to see you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My friend and I called in at Angel's Share for a drink on Thursday night. The staff were great and the mojitos were some of the best we have tried ! As we only had drinks I cannot comment on the hotel side of the establishment

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank littlemillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A Scottish Celeb themed hotel 20 metres off Princes Street. Great hospitality, tastefully modern rooms with underfloor heating (no cold feet in the bathroom) good food and a lively bar. Book through Secret Escapes... double room, any two courses off the dinner menu, full Scottish breakfast (or continental) 25% off car parking all for £100 for two. You simply can't get better value than that!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you very much for posting your review. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I recently stopped for one night with my partner. On first impression and from the website we thought 'great' but after a while realised there were a few things that need improving.
The communal areas were not clean on either day we were there; nothing a quick vacuum couldn't have sorted but surely this should not happen. Our room was fine for one night as it was fairly small but the shower was nothing more than a dribble and I couldn't reach to turn it on around the screen. The fan didn't work, which wasn't a major problem but the bathroom was steamed up for some time. We were going to inform the staff but couldn't find anyone.
There are no plugs anywhere near a mirror and no mirror on the desk which makes getting ready quite tricky along with the fact there were no blinds so we had to have the thick curtains drawn the whole time we were in the room for some privacy. The paintwork in quite a few areas of the room needed tending to-again not a major problem but 'luxury' hotels rectify these things immediately.
This could be a great hotel but all these small things just make it lack any oomph for me as I feel they are basics. The touches like dressing gowns were nice but I feel the substance needs tackling before going out and out for style.
We didn't stop a second night as the price had significantly increased and we felt it just wasn't worth it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Georgepig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We pride ourselves on our high standards and I am very dissapointed to hear your comments. We want all of our guests to have the best possible stay. We always urge people to bring any issues to our attention so that we can rectify them immediately. I can assure you that all your comments have been taken on board and actioned.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We went into the angels share hotel on a cold wet windy Friday evening principally to get out of the sleet and driving wind blowing down princes street. What we found was a beautifully presented bar, cheerful well mannered staff, reasonably priced drinks and free nibbles served at 5pm on a Friday for all guests. Also as it was valentines night all of the ladies were presented with a red rose.
Next time we are in Edinburgh we will definitely eat and maybe even stay at the hotel. It is so refreshing to find somewhere that treat tourist's properly not just as a cash cow.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kevnmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have had drinks and food at the Angel Share on many occasion and the experience has always been positive. Based on my previous positive experiences I decided to try the Angel Share "Boutique" hotel.

Myself and three other business colleagues stayed at the hotel and unfortunately our collective experience of Angel Share hotel does not mirror the positive experiences that we have had in the bar / restaurant.

I found my hotel room to be very basic; the design and furnishing of the room definitely doesn't warrant the hotels claim that it is a "boutique" hotel.

In my room I had a sash window that didn't close fully; walls that were paper thin ( I could clearly hear the room next doors TV at 3am) and hollow fibre pillows that were very uncomfortable. There was also an odd wire with bare ends coming out of a wall plate near the TV. I complained about the quality of the pillows and asked for some down pillows; reception said they would try to find some but none materalised.

The main problem for me as a corporate traveler was the price point. I paid £140 per night for a reasonably sized room excluding breakfast; given the quality of the hotel this is far too much; in my opinion this hotel needs to be priced at between 90 - 100 before it becomes a consideration for a business traveler.


Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank MattX8658XA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Many thanks for sharing your comments. It is very dissapointing to hear that you did not feel the hotel was up to standard. The rates at the hotel vary each day depending on availability, There are no set rates however we do offer corporate rates to many companies who book with us direct and are always happy to discuss the possibility with clients who request this. All comments are taken very seriously and I can assure that we will look ino the issues you raised.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 151 in Edinburgh
840 reviews
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#47 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,395 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Share Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Share Hotel

Address: 7- 11 Hope Street, Edinburgh EH2 4EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £82 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angels Share Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of the Angels Share boutique Hotel in Edinburgh combines the pulse of the city at your fingertips yet with famous Edinburgh's leafy avenues a mere stroll away. From the sanctuary of this 4 Star Hotel in Edinburgh to the lively Angels Share bar and ambient Devils Cut nightclub, our focus is to provide you with an unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angels Share Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Share Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing