We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Birthday Celebrations”
Review of Angels Share Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Angels Share Hotel
Ranked #101 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Leven
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Angels Share to celebrate her birthday and had a very nice time.
The reception staff were incredibly accommodating which really added to the stay. We arrived early to as we had a lunch booked in Leith and we hoped to drop our bag's off...as expected, our room wasn't ready but instead of leaving our bags with reception like I hoped, the staff made the extra effort to find us a room that was ready so we could check in early. It just so happened we got the Sean Connery room which was particularly nice. So we dropped our bags and were about to leave for lunch when there was a knock at the door...after finding out the reason for our stay was a birthday celebration, the staff had organised a bottle of prosecco to be delivered to our room! So thanks very much to the staff that day! Those extra touches were very much appreciated.
The hotel in general was nice. I liked the modern but Scottish themed room decor and the hotel is a good location for accessing the bars, shops and restaurants on George St. We were on a bed only package so can't comment on the food but the hotel delivered all we were hoping for and more on our stay!

Room Tip: Sean Connery room was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We always try to go the extra mile to ensure your stay is as perfect as possible.

Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    133
    82
    26
    13
See reviews for
34
238
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I must compliment the excellent staff, not only in the bar but the hotel, especially Jamie, Danny and Lindsay for enhancing our stay. From our arrival we were made welcome, naming the rooms after people is a brilliant idea, as numbers can be confusing. The rooms are extremely comfortable, however one downside,the lights in the bathroom could be brighter. Enjoyed the Scottish touch of tea cakes, and good coffee in the room. The bar is an excellent place to spend a few hours with music on the Saturday. The eggs benedict for breakie was excellent, again the service by Danny was impeccable. A nice place situated thirty seconds from Princes Street, and yes we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Brilliant Review!!!
' Lang May your lum reek' ......... ' ' Haste Ye Back!!!'

Everything we aim to be and more!

Thank you so much and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Myself and four friends happened to come across this hotel whilst visiting Edinburgh for the first time. We had left the train station two hours earlier and headed into town for a steak in Ryan's bar. After finishing the meal we were looking to book a hotel for a few days but before we managed to cross the front step of Angels the sole male door staff refused us entry on the bases that one of my companions looked worse for wear. This occurred on Friday 28th March. We all run businesses in the U.K. and work long hours so may not have looked at our best but we were dressed smart and were anything but drunk. We were looking for some drinks and a bed. The door staff was unnecessarily rude and has left us angry and upset to the point we will not be using or recommending this hotel or affiliates to out clients or customers in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

After looking at reviews for a lot of Edinburgh hotels I came across Angels Share and could not have made a better choice. As soon as we walked into the hotel we loved it and loved it even more when we realised that each room was unique and we got placed in the Gordon Ramsay room!

The staff were absolutely incredible; Jamie was if anything too helpful as we didn't have enough time to visit all the amazing places he told us about as we were only staying the one night (this just means we'll have to visit again very soon!).

The hotel was extremely clean and welcoming and perfectly located.
The bar next door that belongs to the hotel is very good too with great food perfect for lunch or dinner and a few drinks as it stays open till 1am

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Jamie is certainly proving to be a star appointment! Your comments mean so much to all the staff here and I will be sure to pass them all on.

Very much hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel last night to celebrate his 30th birthday. We can't fault it- the staff were friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms are comfy and have everything you would want, and the breakfast (which as a real bonus is served until 12noon) is delicious. Also, on arrival we were given a free upgrade and a bottle of fizz to celebrate my husband's birthday- a real treat! We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We offer complimentary up grades when ever possible to enhance the guest stay.

Delighted you enjoyed your bubbly!

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights, as a gift from our family for our anniversary, as it was only booked in december, the name it was booked under was the Hudson hotel,so when we arrived thats what we were looking for, however the name had changed to angels share hotel and at first we couldnt find it, we had no correspondence at all .When we went to book in we had to go through the restaurant to the lift, that took us to the first floor where the reception was, ( the very small room with desk and chair in)we were given room 110, which was small and basic,there was wooden floors in all rooms which was very noisy at any time, especially 2-30 in a morning when you come in after a night out, wearing stilleto heels. The toilet next door when flushed made a very loud whering noise, Saturday morning we were awaken around 6-30 by the council collecting the empty bottles from the night before ( room 110 was right above the bar and at the side leading on to the alley) sat night we were unable to sleep as they had a live band on so we could hear all the songs they played and heard them word for word.And yes you guessed it, bottle collection again sunday morning but it was earlier, at around 6-10. We are back to visit edingburgh in august and we wont be back to the angels. I thought angels were surpose to be tranquell,and calming? To sum up the whole weekend, i would say that it was a let down.and spoilt our wedding anniversary. We would not reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the top floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieS107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We take all feedback very seriously and thank you for bringing your issues to our attention.

We always make it our aim to fix any problems / issues guests may have during their stay to ensure that they leave happy. On this occassion we would have been more than happy to move you rooms to a more suited location - being given the opportunity.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss in more detail.

Yours Sincerely,

Leah Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Hotel is nice but my room was very noisey and had very poor quality sleep due to window being stuck open.On check out no one asked if we had a enjoyable stay only on our return for luggage when we were offered a 10% loyalty card i said about our poor sleep and our comments were being forwarded to the manager, 2 emails later and still no response... poor customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul3569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologise for the window issue you experienced during your stay. Please - if ever you have a room issue - let us know straight away so that we can rectify it for you. We really want guests to have the best possible experience and will always fix issues immediately when brought to our attention. We have staff available 24 hrs to look after our guests needs.

We really pride ourselves on our customer service and I am very dissapointed to hear that your email was not responded to. I have since investigated and can see that a reply was sent from the front of house manager. If you did not receieve this please do not hesitate to get in touch with me personally as we never want to leave things on a bitter note and would love the oportunitity to restore your faith in us.

Yours Sincerely,

Leah Camp
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#80 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#67 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Share Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Share Hotel

Property: Angels Share Hotel
Address: 7- 11 Hope Street, Edinburgh EH2 4EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angels Share Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of the Angels Share boutique Hotel in Edinburgh combines the pulse of the city at your fingertips yet with famous Edinburgh's leafy avenues a mere stroll away. From the sanctuary of this 4 Star Hotel in Edinburgh to the lively Angels Share bar and ambient Devils Cut nightclub, our focus is to provide you with an unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angels Share Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Share Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing