We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Angels Share Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Angels Share Hotel
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My husband & I enjoyed our stay, the hotel is in a great location with helpful & friendly staff. We stayed in the Andy Murray room which was well equipped & nicely decorated, the only downside was I found the bed uncomfortable. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryDavis140770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. We re so lucky to have such a perfect location it really is in the heart of all the action. So glad you enjoyed your stay!

Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Super location, great boutique hotel in the centre of this wonderful city. Well equipped rooms, lovely friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Great value for money too. We stayed in Dario Franchitti room, my only complaint was that the plugs are on the other side of the room to the only mirror which made drying your hair difficult!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Helen,

Thank you for sharing your experience! It is so lovely to hear such positive feedback. I will be sure to pass your comments on to all the staff here. Your recommendation regarding plug sockets will be actioned straight away!

Thanks you once again and hope to see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner April bank holiday weekend and it is fabulous! Lovely boudoir boutique style hotel & bar. Clean modern rooms. Lovely friendly staff. Breakfast is really nice but there are loads of places near by to have breakfast too, all about the same price really. Had one evening meal at the hotel, again just excellent. Girls take your own hair dryer as the hotel hair dryer only has one setting-inferno lol. Make sure you are a night owl though, as we are it was fine, but the bar is open till late with music etc that can be heard throughout the hotel. Hotel situated at the end of princes street so walking distance to everywhere. Overall perfect weekend in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaraS1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review! We are certainly a destination venue with a bar, restaraunt and live music venue all under one roof. So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Very much hope to see you back again soon. Dont forget to use your VIP Haste Ye Back discount offer for a great rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here recently in the Kirsty Hume room on the top floor. We had asked for a quiet room which is no doubt why we were given a room on the top floor. The downside was that it was probably smaller than other deluxe rooms and it was a bit stuffy but this was outweighed by the fact that it was quiet so we could not hear the bar/live band at all on the Saturday night. We ate at the hotel on both nights and were placed in the bar. This is very busy and lively and noisy so may not be to everyone's taste for a meal location but we enjoyed the atmosphere and the pre-dinner cocktails. If you would rather be quieter then ask to be seated in the restaurant. The food was very good and the service extremely friendly and helpful. The room itself was fine, very clean and everything you would need except pillows are awful! I agree with another reviewer that the bathroom lighting is not good. But every time we asked for anything it was brought promptly. Customer service is a big plus at this hotel which definitely cancels out any little niggles. Breakfast was good - unusual for a hotel not to have a buffet of any sort but it means they can offer breakfast up to noon. Main stairway is a bit depressing - more like an apartment block. Well located central hotel. Easy to reach via the Airlink bus direct to and from the airport. Good recommendation from the often quoted Jamie!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devonlady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Feed back is very imporant to us - it enables us to continually improve and offer the very best service possible.


We very much hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Angels Share to celebrate her birthday and had a very nice time.
The reception staff were incredibly accommodating which really added to the stay. We arrived early to as we had a lunch booked in Leith and we hoped to drop our bag's off...as expected, our room wasn't ready but instead of leaving our bags with reception like I hoped, the staff made the extra effort to find us a room that was ready so we could check in early. It just so happened we got the Sean Connery room which was particularly nice. So we dropped our bags and were about to leave for lunch when there was a knock at the door...after finding out the reason for our stay was a birthday celebration, the staff had organised a bottle of prosecco to be delivered to our room! So thanks very much to the staff that day! Those extra touches were very much appreciated.
The hotel in general was nice. I liked the modern but Scottish themed room decor and the hotel is a good location for accessing the bars, shops and restaurants on George St. We were on a bed only package so can't comment on the food but the hotel delivered all we were hoping for and more on our stay!

Room Tip: Sean Connery room was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We always try to go the extra mile to ensure your stay is as perfect as possible.

Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I must compliment the excellent staff, not only in the bar but the hotel, especially Jamie, Danny and Lindsay for enhancing our stay. From our arrival we were made welcome, naming the rooms after people is a brilliant idea, as numbers can be confusing. The rooms are extremely comfortable, however one downside,the lights in the bathroom could be brighter. Enjoyed the Scottish touch of tea cakes, and good coffee in the room. The bar is an excellent place to spend a few hours with music on the Saturday. The eggs benedict for breakie was excellent, again the service by Danny was impeccable. A nice place situated thirty seconds from Princes Street, and yes we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Brilliant Review!!!
' Lang May your lum reek' ......... ' ' Haste Ye Back!!!'

Everything we aim to be and more!

Thank you so much and please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Myself and four friends happened to come across this hotel whilst visiting Edinburgh for the first time. We had left the train station two hours earlier and headed into town for a steak in Ryan's bar. After finishing the meal we were looking to book a hotel for a few days but before we managed to cross the front step of Angels the sole male door staff refused us entry on the bases that one of my companions looked worse for wear. This occurred on Friday 28th March. We all run businesses in the U.K. and work long hours so may not have looked at our best but we were dressed smart and were anything but drunk. We were looking for some drinks and a bed. The door staff was unnecessarily rude and has left us angry and upset to the point we will not be using or recommending this hotel or affiliates to out clients or customers in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#74 of 151 in Edinburgh
831 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#93 of 151 in Edinburgh
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,743 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh Charlotte Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Share Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Share Hotel

Address: 7- 11 Hope Street, Edinburgh EH2 4EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £88 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angels Share Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of the Angels Share boutique Hotel in Edinburgh combines the pulse of the city at your fingertips yet with famous Edinburgh's leafy avenues a mere stroll away. From the sanctuary of this 4 Star Hotel in Edinburgh to the lively Angels Share bar and ambient Devils Cut nightclub, our focus is to provide you with an unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angels Share Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Share Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing