We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of Angels Share Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Angels Share Hotel
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotels in a great location right next to everything. It's the funky-cool type of place but sadly our room (room name Alex Ferguson - don't ask) was rather knocked about. Broken tiles, bog roll holder, wonky shelf, smashed toilet basin, cracked tiles and a tiny shower cubicle. In the bedroom there's plenty of room for a proper double so why plonk in a puny little 4 foot six'er?
Most disappointing was the breakfast. Everything was delicious and all that, but it cost a LOT. For breakfast they charge for each and every half filled little cup of coffee, plus porridge, plus cooked breakfast, presumably plus juice etc, which we weren't offered. I was left still needing a coffee (after two of their cups) and quite seriously out of pocket. Cooked brekkie arrived with toast and butter and that's it. I asked for marmalade and was told there was none, but they had jam. I went for that and was brought one, just one little jar. That's a new one on me
The staff were friendly. But for all the above, I would not wish to return.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickDidThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here and I'm very impressed. The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly and the room was fantastic. It was very clean, well decorated in a modern style and the facilities were excellent. The only constructive criticism I could make is that the shower was a bit dribbley and lacked a bit of power which is a pet hate of mine but I really am nit picking about what is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Well done!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and location. Friendly staff. Clean immaculate rooms. Loved the Scottish theme, even down to the Tunnocks Tea Cakes and Highland Spring water in the rooms. Something a wee but different. Loved it. Would not hesitate to return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank kittyka19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was here at the weekend for my hen night, I can't fault anything about this hotel. It's stunning inside, the staff are so professional and its also immaculate. We drank at the bar and had breakfast which was delicious. I will be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Big room is ewan mcgregor, located at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glitz1981Sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Enjoyed our stay there! Will book again next visit!
Rooms were updated and the service was good.
Restaurants and shopping withing walking distance.
Looking forward to visiting again within the next year or two!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susu82163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited for drinks twice during our weekend, great place for cocktails sat at bar and watched our drinks being made, didnt eat here but the restaurant was busy, also food served in bar area so a popular place, our mojitos were very well prepared in a nice tall glass and very tasty, really nice friendly staff, you have to visit, down the bottom end of princess street, round from house of fraser, well worth the walk :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dundeetravellermrshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I will be sure to pass all your comments on to the team!

Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My daughters took me here for a birthday treat and what a treat it was. We were given the Robert Carlyle Suite. There was a huge picture of him above the bed, lovely big chandelier, modern furniture plus a very spacious bathroom.
Girls took me downstairs for lunch and cocktails. Lunch was very good but the cocktails are the best ive ever had, fantastic, so much so ended up drinking in their lounge for rest of the night working our way thru the cocktail list. They had live music in their very busy lounge as well. They also have a nightclub called Devils Cut, but we never made it to that, too many fab cocktails lol. Would go back in a heartbeat and will defiantly see them soon .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIETATK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. The Angels Share is certainly proving to be very popular with locals and visitors alike. We are continualy working on our food and drink offerings to ensure the very best selection. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 151 in Edinburgh
836 reviews
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
The Salisbury Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Share Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Share Hotel

Address: 7- 11 Hope Street, Edinburgh EH2 4EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £85 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angels Share Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of the Angels Share boutique Hotel in Edinburgh combines the pulse of the city at your fingertips yet with famous Edinburgh's leafy avenues a mere stroll away. From the sanctuary of this 4 Star Hotel in Edinburgh to the lively Angels Share bar and ambient Devils Cut nightclub, our focus is to provide you with an unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Angels Share Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Share Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing