We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel itself very good, staff pleasant and helpful, nothing wrong with our room, but access to hotel difficult for anyone with mobility problems. The lay-by outside the hotel is down a two-step kerb, impossible for some to negotiate. And the recommended car-park is too far away, especially on a rainy day. You need a valet parking system. Because of these problems for us, we shall not choose this hotel again, sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

I am sorry to read that you had access issues to the hotel. Although the hotel once inside is fully accessible, the kerb at the parking inlet does make it a challenge if you do not come in a taxi with a ramp. There is a drop in the kerb in the front of the hotel however I appreciate that this was not highlighted and in the line of traffic and needs to be negotiated.

The hotel has 3 car parks within a few minutes to the hotel with the chosen car park that is recommended both accessible and great value.

I am sorry that you left the hotel with a less than favourable opinion of your stay with us however I do hope that your overall visit to Edinburgh was an enjoyable one.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,672 - 1,678 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for the weekend a few weeks ago as my husband had been working just outside of Edinburgh. Check in was smooth, upgraded into a castle view room which was clean, cosy and warm considering the weather!! Bed comfortable although no mattrass protector and the pillows were poor quality. Towels and water both missing from the gym, however when the front desk were informed the problem was rectified quickly. On the whole a pleasant stay and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazdaTynemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Although I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, I would like to apologise for the short falls in the services received which have been shared with the team.

I am happy that this did not negatively impact your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

View of the castle right out the window and a 10-15 minute walk to anything you could want in Edinburgh. The hotel is modern and the rooms are large with a restaurant and bar attached, very convenient after long days of travel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank RachelVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the Edinburgh Castle view from your room.

Thank you for your time and custom.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Clean fresh comfortable hotel central for Edinburgh . Bar and restaurant facilities impeccable. Michael the night reception and George on day reception go that one step further to make your stay better.. Good bar staff ... One of the brightest hotels have stayed in well done to all of you a credit added to the group

Room Tip: Pool is terrible there isn't one lol ... Try to ask for room on third floor on the bread st side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieg119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh City Centre.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and for also highlighting both George and Michael as going above and beyond.

Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Thank you

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lovely clean, modern room. Bed worthy of dying in. The Scottish breakfast is not to be missed. Make sure you take the haggis! My stay was completed by the charm and wit of a gentleman called Nick Hogarth. Do seek him out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

I am happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and for highlighting the wit and charm of Nick, the Reception Manager.

I appreciate your feedback and have doubt that people will indeed look our for Nick now you have highlighted some of his many charms.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spent one night here and I was very impressed. The check in and check out at reception was very good and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom were on the small side but all spotless and the bed was really comfortable. Bar and restaurant are tip top and the breakfast offered everything you would expect. When next back in Edinburgh I would go back there as long as their prices are competitive.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LondonPieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope too that you will stay with us again.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Although a late arrival we were warmly met and offered a cookie, which was also warm! This was a nice touch and one I hadn't experienced before. We arranged to meet in the bar but wanted to head out; the member of staff in the bar was very helpful after trying to persuade us to stay (obviously) and recommended a great bar near by. Rooms were a strange shape - long a narrow and not much natural light but comfortable and quiet. Lovely building too and right on the top of Edinburgh. Breakfast was good but needs a little attention to the "basics" (clumped bacon and hard potato scones not appetising).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 555martina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Although I am delighted to read that your stay was a comfortable one and the DoubleTree signature cookie was welcomed, I would like to apologise for the shortfalls at breakfast.

I have spoken with the Head Chef regarding this matter to ensure we pay more attention to detail to ensure more care is taken on preparation.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to the city.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,690 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £90 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing