We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good Some Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #50 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Some Good Some Bad”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Check in and room 1st class, lovely view over the castle. Sleep quality was good, bed was very comfortable and the location was fantastic. Being refused a drink in the hotel bar, paying for Internet and also my breakfast not being included in the price I though was ridiculous !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

Although I am happy to read that your stay was an enjoyable one, I am sorry to read that you were refused a drink at the bar and that your booking did not include breakfast.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that this did not overly impact your stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed your Edinburgh visit.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    649
    181
    64
    33
See reviews for
324
835
80
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

first time i've stayed here since it was refurbished; all now looking fine, from reception and bar to rooms and circulation. My room was neat and tidy, a bit dominated by a massive TV. Good view, courteous staff, easy access.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I am delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and that your found the team to be professional and courteous.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is in a good location with some rooms having a view of the castle. Its within easy walking distance of the castle and princes street.

The hotel is clean. Our room was a good standard, although a little smaller and darker then the photos led me to believe. The room was quite long but narrow, but absolutely fine for a short 2 night stay.

Staff seemed friendly and the bar downstairs had a nice atmosphere.

If you can get a good deal it's worth stopping here, if not the standard isn't that much better than alternative options, and I would not pay full price. I got a decent deal and actually felt like it was a fair price for the accommodation rather than the "bargain" I first thought I'd found.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philpot400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Philpot400,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Although I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us prior to our rebranding to a DoubleTree by Hilton, I am sorry that you did not find the hotel to offer value for money.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that your overall Edinburgh visit was an enjoyable one.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wasn't sure how good this would be when we booked as less expensive than other 4* hotels in Edinburgh over bank holiday weekend . We were delighted as we drew up in the taxi to see a very modern hotel in the building of an old dept store. Check in was friendly & efficient and our room on the 4th floor was immaculate and very comfortable. Ten minute walk either way to Princes Street or The Royal Mile .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

I am happy to read that you felt you made an excellent choice and that all your prior concerns were diminished on arrival.

I appreciated your feedback and hope that you will consider us again on a future visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a good quality hotel with comfortable rooms and is well located just a short walk from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. Room décor modern but pretty dark/dimly lit. If you need a base and the rate is good, its a good choice for Edinburgh,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneeyetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us however would like to apologise that you found the rooms to be lacking in lighting.

Your feedback is appreciated and will be forwarded to the designers to ensure the required lux levels we have in place are to the required standard.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plumas co.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Using Hilton points as a Gold member, my wife and I were very happy with our stay. We were given a beautiful room on the top floor with a great view of the castle. There are a couple of bars on the street below, but we were far enough away as to only here the loudest outbursts on Saturday night. I can't say enough about how helpful and professional the front desk staff were. I had not received my luggage at airport, but George and the beautiful young blue-eyed women(should remember her name)were most helpful. We loved our complimentary breakfasts and also enjoyed the Monboddo Bar. I hotel is perfectly located. Bus from airport drops you off about two blocks from hotel. We would definitely return should the opportunity come our way.

Room Tip: Top floor, street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vistaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you used your Hilton Honors points which is exactly what they are for.

As a valued Hilton Honor Gold member, it is great to read of your experience and I hope to welcome you back again on a future visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our first room was horrible. We couldn't sleep because of the street noise and the room had a nasty smell. First day when we complained to the staff about the noise problem, he (the Italian guy in the reception) said all the rooms were the same. The second day room smell got nastier so we called someone else. That lady was very helpful and she changed our room immediately. And the second room was excellent! No noise problem and smells beautifully :) The room was very clean and comfortable.
The location of the hotel is convenient, about 10 min walk to the OId Town. There is free wifi in the lobby not in the rooms. The seating in the lobby is very limited, just 4 single seats.
The cocktails in the bar were fantastic, I definitely recommend them.

Room Tip: The rooms above the conference hall have double windows that's why they don't have noise pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladydeniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

I would like to apologise for the street noise experienced which affected your first night with us. I am also sorry to read of the smell highlighted as this is clearly not as pleasant experience for these both.

I am however glad to read that this was resolved quickly and to your satisfaction.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#66 of 149 in Edinburgh
652 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,799 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing