We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #47 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very happy customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My friend and I booked a twin room at this hotel as it was close to the Usher Hall, the venue for a concert we were going to. Everything about this hotel was stylish and immaculate. Check in and out was friendly and efficient. Our room was lovely, bathroom was small but had everything we needed. I was worried that it would be noisy but our room was on the top floor to the back and the very comfortable beds and pillows plus blackout curtains all ensured we had a great nights sleep. Lots of places to eat out in the evening and for breakfast nearby. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Happy Customer,

I am delighted to read that you chose to stay with us to attend a concert at the Usher Hall which is on our doorstep.

I hope that you enjoyed the concert and also took advantage of the hotel's location within the city to explore.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    620
    168
    60
    25
See reviews for
304
793
76
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were greeted with a warm welcome by the efficient reception staff at this lovely hotel well located in this beautiful city. Our room, even though a little on the small side, was clean and comfortable. We were particularly fond of the delicious cookies which is a thoughtful little extra touch by the hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

I am delighted to read that the Warm Chocolate Chip Cookie given on arrival set the right tone for your stay.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you enjoyed your Edinburgh visit enought to come back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This Doubletree is near the castle and also near some great pubs (e.g, the White Hart Inn). The staff is quite friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Nice breakfast as well. The closest rail station is Haymarket.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I am happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the your stay along with the hotel's location within the city and appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I came to Edinburgh to run the Marathon with a friend. This hotel was our home for the weekend and had everything we needed, great location, great breakfast & very comfy beds. Could not fault the service or the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in sharing your feedback from your stay with us.

I am happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us whilst visiting for the Edinburgh Marathon.

I hope that you enjoyed the event and that you will return next year to run again.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great hotel in central Edinburgh, close to the Grassmarket, Lothian Road and a short walk to the Royal Mile and Princess Street.

The hotel has recently been refurbished and taken over by Hilton. I had been in the hotel before the refurbishment, the changes are great. The hotel has been transformed.

I paid a bit extra for a castle view which was well worth the money.

The hotel also has a small gym which my boyfriend used, a nice addition as it is available for guests to use at no extra charge.

Breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: If you can afford pay slightly more for a castle view, it is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in to review the hotel.

I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us and that your boyfriend took advantage of the hotel Gym and appreciated the Castle view from the bedroom.

I hope that the rest of your Edinburgh visit was a memorable one and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Check in and room 1st class, lovely view over the castle. Sleep quality was good, bed was very comfortable and the location was fantastic. Being refused a drink in the hotel bar, paying for Internet and also my breakfast not being included in the price I though was ridiculous !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

Although I am happy to read that your stay was an enjoyable one, I am sorry to read that you were refused a drink at the bar and that your booking did not include breakfast.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that this did not overly impact your stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed your Edinburgh visit.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

first time i've stayed here since it was refurbished; all now looking fine, from reception and bar to rooms and circulation. My room was neat and tidy, a bit dominated by a massive TV. Good view, courteous staff, easy access.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I am delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and that your found the team to be professional and courteous.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing