We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with a couple of minor flaws” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good hotel with a couple of minor flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent three nights at the Doubletree on a recent trip to Edinburgh and overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, bed very comfy, staff very polite and helpful. Our room was on the 4th floor, unfortunately at the back so no castle view and the window was half covered by the exterior so no real view of anything, but having this room did mean it was extraordinarily quiet - we didn't hear a thing!

We ate at the Bread Street Brasserie and had a really tasty and reasonably priced meal - it took a while for food to come out, but we didn't mind so much and the staff were very apologetic, offering us free drinks. We also took advantage of the "cocktail and cupcake" offer at the very stylish Monboddo Bar and again, this was a real delight.

The room was very small, but the ceilings were incredibly high so it didn't feel claustrophobic, however I think the lighting does need to be improved as it felt quite dark at times. There were a couple of little things in the bathroom which bothered me, like the toilet seat not being attached (and a bit dirty), the bath and sink plugs not quite fitting, and the bathroom taps attached the wall at a crazy angle. Outside of the room, there always seemed to be dirty plates and cups in the stairwell for some reason. The laundry cart was permanently left outside the room next door which made the corridor look messy, and one evening, two bags of rubbish had just been left in the middle of the corridor so we had to step over them. Didn't really leave a good impression.

As others have mentioned, the area the hotel is in is a little run down and seedy, but if you can ignore the unsavoury element, you'll find some lovely independent shops and cafes in the Grassmarket area. It's a short walk away from the castle, the Royal Mile, and Princes Street (including the railway station).

I would definitely stay here again, if only to get another warm cookie!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laesning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Angelite24,

I appreciate your time in reviewing the hotel.

Although I am happy to read that you would stay with us again, I would like to apologise for the shortfall experienced. The Housekeeping Team do work long hours which does mean that the Trolleys are in the corridors whilst they work however the bins should have been attached to the trolleys to ensure they are not left in the middle of the corridor as highlighted.

I appreciate your feedback which will be shared with the team to highlight the importance of following the processes in place and reduce inconvenience for our guests going forward.

Thank you

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    604
    161
    60
    25
See reviews for
295
774
74
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great little hotel, well located and with very friendly and helpful staff. Parking is a block away but discounted for hotel guests. The room was large and very well appointed. Breakfast was a buffet with limited but acceptable choices. All the attractions are within walking distance.

Room Tip: The corridors are very long so take a room closer to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaral1202158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Jaral1202158,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

I am happy to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Being a Hilton Hotel you should know what to expect and it doesn't disappoint there are a few things however that could be made better there is no parking at the hotel the car park is a 5 to 10 minutes walk away depending on fitness levels and the drop-off zone outside the hotel is no parking no stopping so be aware if there are traffic wardens around, check in was very easy and they even allowed us into the hotel two hours before we should've checked in .our room was nice high on the fourth floor with an excellent view of the castle through the window however this was spoiled by the fact that when lying on the bed all you could see was a 42 inch TV at the end of the bed completely obscuring the window which is fine if you want to watch TV in bed but no good if you like to see the view the area itself is a little run down and I'm guessing at the weekend can be very noisy as there are two bars very close to the bottom of the Hotel however it was mid week and we didn't have any issues . walking to the town centre itself only took 10 minutes and it's very pleasantly situated to do this . overall a good hotel just let down by a few minor issues

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Ian M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh City Centre.

Although I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, I am sorry to read that the parking and the location of the TV slightly marred an otherwise pleasant visit.

We have placed the TVs at the bottom of the beds in only some of the rooms due to the location of the windows. Any room (with the exception of the accessible rooms) which has a window directly opposite the bed does not have a place to put the TV on the wall leaving the decision to place a TV at the bottom of the bed.

I appreciate that this does not suit all our guests needs and appreciate your feedback regarding blocking the view from the room you had been assigned.

If you allow us another opportunity in future, please call us directly and we will ensure you are allocated a room without this feature along with a view to further enhance your visit.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that your overall Edinburgh experience was an enjoyable one.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Fantastic hotel with friendly and helpful staff and great location for exploring Edinburgh. The rooms were very comfortable and we were lucky to get a lovely castle view. We decided to eat in the hotel the night we arrived and would recommend Bread Street Brasserie to anyone. The food was delicious and the service was superb. They offer a really good value early dinner menu £9.95 for 2 courses and £12.95 for 3 courses. We almost tried the £5 lunch offering in their Monboddo Bar too but we were too full from the excellent breakfast! Oh and we loved the cookie on arrival!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Nigel1208,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

I am delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and appreciate your feedback from your meal in the Bread Street Brasserie.

Maybe next time you will try our Express Lunch in Monboddo Bar on your return visit to the city.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

As we arrived at this hotel, we were dismayed to see an establishment on the corner advertising "lap dances" and "pole dancing." Further, there was another strip club across the street from the entrance and a place called "Zone Eros, Sex Shop" next to that.

The hotel itself was clean, but very spartan. The staff was very friendly. Because of the neighborhood, we elected not to stay there. We did not feel it was an appropriate location for a family vacation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear David B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree Edinburgh.

I am disappointed to read that you stay was marred by the hotel's location within the city and sincerely apologise that this affected you and your families visit.

The hotel is situated in the heart of the old town and although I appreciate the perception the area may give, I can assure that it is perfectly safe with both residents and tourists all year round.

I hope that you found alternative accommodation to your liking and that you and your family enjoyed your Edinburgh visit.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

On arrival just before 3pm reception contacted housekeeping to see if room ready, while they waited for reply continued with arrival process and gave us our hot cookie. Still no reply from housekeeping, asked us to take seat, finally came over and said room was ready. Why if bookin is from 2pm does front of house not know if room is ready? By time we got to room cookie just warm. Room rather dark need to put all lights on if you want to do anything apart from watch tv. No instructions on how to use wifi or ac and no slippers in room. Asked reception about slippers and they advise will get them sent to room, they also gave password for wifi in public areas and BT openworld should work in room. On arrival back later still no slippers in room and now no face cloths in bathroom. Called reception they said would get housekeeping to bring them up. Housekeeping brought face cloths but no slippers, chap said he thinks they are waiting fo a delivery but would double check, which he did and confirmed waiting for a delivery. Why does reception not know this?

Overall we would expect better from a 4* Hilton group hotel.

While we did have a good view of the castle, it is worth mentioning that when walking the other way to Grassmarket you do have to pass a sex shop and 3 strip/pole dancing clubs so not the best of areas at certain times of the evening.

Must say that bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burtie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear burtie55,

I appreciate your time on reviewing the hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced during your stay with us. We clearly dropped the ball and did not notice the stock needed replenished until it was too late.

I am sorry that you left the hotel with a less than favourable opinion of your stay with us and apologise for the inconvenience these issues caused.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here with our travel group for four nights beginning June 7. Very modern facility with good room and bath. Although the room and bath were small, they were comfortable. Bed was great! We arrived in a pouring rain and there was no staff to help unload luggage, so we were on our own. Someone missed out on some good tips. The bar and the staff were absolutely wonderful and very accommodating. The food was ok, but we had the same menu two nights in a row. Breakfast was ok, but difficult to get a cup of coffee. Once again, when we were leaving, the staff disappeared and we ere left to load luggage again. Probably not the best location in Edinburgh, tattoo parlors and questionable shops, but no trouble and lots of people out walking around at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear christa m,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at the hotel.

Although I am happy to read that you found the hotel and team to be very accommodating, I would like to apologise for the lack of service experienced.

We clearly fell short of delivering an exceptional experience for which I would like to sincerely apologise.

Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared with the team to ensure we learn from this.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,161 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Lastminute, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing