We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with very friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #48 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Biel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with very friendly staff!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed in this Hotel for 1 night only. All in all I was satisfied with my choice to book this hotel.

+ The Location of the Hotel is good, 10-15min walk into the city centre.

+ The Staff was very friendly and helpful at all time.

+ The Rooms were clean, modern and the beds were very comfortable.

+ - The Breakfast was ok, but the selection of food was a bit low.

- The only thing I missed was free Wifi in the room, you only had free wifi in the Lobby,
otherwise you had to pay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ_Pavlyuchenko93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear DJ_Pavlyuchenko93,

I appreciate your time in reviewing the hotel after your recent stay.

Although I am happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, I am sorry to read that the chargeable WiFi service within rooms marred an otherwise perfect stay.

We are currently reviewing all our WiFi services within the hotel to streamline our services and deliver what our guests expect from us.

I hope that your overall Edinburgh visit was an enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    662
    188
    65
    33
See reviews for
333
851
80
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
953 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a July weekend. There is parking nearby and the hotel is well situated within walking distance for central attractions. The room was excellent with views over the castle and was a decent size and well equipped. One change I would have made is a light in the wardrobe or in the ceiling nearby as the wardrobe door blocked daylight from entering.
The breakfasts were very good and the evening meal equally good although it does get busy so booking is sensible. All in all, a very good base for our stay.

Room Tip: Fourth floor has good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Marcus Hurley,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your thorough review.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

They actually have a nice table in the lobby with 2 computers and 2 more electrical outlets to help their guests use the free internet in the hotel lobby. This area is commonly filled with guests, as their charge for in-room internet (which should be free) is a whopping 15 pounds per day. Pluses: the Old Town location is very convenient, the rooms are good-sized and the place seems to have been recently remodeled. Minuses: the breakfast is uninspired. Did I mention the internet fee?

Bottom line: if you're here for a vacation and internet access doesn't matter, this place is fine. On the other hand, if you need daily internet access for your business or profession as I do, there are better choices.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Biomechanix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Biomechanix,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I appreciate your detailed feedback and would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the WiFi charges in place.

We are currently reviewing this service after our first 3 months of opening as the pricing in place is standard across all Hilton hotels. The complimentary services within the restaurant, bar and public areas are meant to alleviate this however I appreciate that this does not suit all our guests.

Thank you for your time.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Located within walking distance of everything in Edinburgh. Staff from front desk to housekeeping to bar went out of their way to be helpful and offer assistance. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank 98scottp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear 98 ScottP,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

I appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

brillant links to all parts city! great views of castle and beyond, hotel was very clean, staff helpful and distance to city centre attractions was just far enough! thEdinburgh was sunny, busy and a very nice place to visit, alas NO newsagents on main Princess street! strange!is is all but 200 caracters are needed to post this review! and thats why i am writting more

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank annmX660RA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear annmx660RA,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the hotel's proximity to all Edinburgh has to offer.

I am sorry to read that you did not find a newsagent on Princes Street however I do hope that you located one on one of the side streets to get what you needed.

I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I visited Edinburgh for 2 nights in June 2014 with my family and friends in all a group of 14 people. The Hotel is located at one of the best possible locations in the city with all good places to see in close proximity and also with good places to dine at a stone's throw distance.
We were welcomed by the very cooperative staff at the front desk and were given yummy and delicious chocolate cookies, which every body relished after a long journey from London.

The hotel is good but in some rooms the location of the TV in very strange and there is a chance that people with long legs mite end up hurting themselves.

I would highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Try getting a room which has TV/LCD's installed on the walls, as many rooms have TV/LCD's in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G_Gambhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear G_Gambhir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I am happy to read that your family enjoyed their stay with us and took advantage of both the Warm Chocolate Chip Cookies on arrival as well as the location of the hotel within the city.

I hope that the TV placement within your room did not mar your overall stay with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed your overall city visit.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that your return journey home was a smooth one.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had a fantastic time. I had a gift voucher that entitled me to a free stay and i was treated to the same standard and quality of service as paying guests. The food was fantastic and very reasonably priced as well as tasty. Lots of good vegetarian options. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Hayley D,

I appreciate your time in reviewing the hotel after your recent stay.

I am delighted to read that you had a fantastic experience at the hotel and you found the team and services delivered exceptionally.

Thank you

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,836 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing