We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. The hotel has obviously been refitted recently but it wouldn't be my preferred choice. The decor is quite dark and gloomy. The room I had was on the first floor and facing a road with several pubs which meant I couldn't open the windows for fresh air. The rooms were not as fresh smelling as I expect. Wouldn't rush back, there are better hotels for this money in Edinburgh.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank craigpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Craig Patt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that your stay was not an enjoyable one and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

I appreciate your feedback and can only hope that once brought to the team's attention that this was remedied before your departure.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,603 - 1,609 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent two nights here. I'd say it's a typical Doubletree, which means clean, well taken care of, and reasonable. Excellent staff and the always-delicious welcome chocolate chip cookie. Only drawback is no free wi-fi in rooms; it's free in the lobby only. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AtlantaDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Atlanta Doll,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I am delighted to read that you found the hotel and team to deliver an exceptional experience however do apologise that we do not currently offer complimentary WiFi to all guests within the rooms.

I appreciate your feedback and glad to read that you would stay with us again.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very good hotel for the price. My room was spotless and the staff were very friendly. Great location and reccomendations of places to eat within walking distance. I would stay here again and reccomend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Charlotte J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel and the team made your stay a memorable one.

I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for accessing all the sights we required in Edinburgh city centre . Really close to the Grass market area - only a short walk to the start of princes street. Fab breakfast - all the usual favourites, including haggis! Great stay!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank TonyRafting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Tony Rafting,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the hotel's location within the city.

It is also good to read that you had haggis for breakfast along with everything else you would expect.

I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very nice hotel, good location, friendly staff and the rooms are very clean and nicely fitted out decor. There's also a nice decent gym within the hotel which is very convenient for a quick work out. They also have a very decent restaurant area e with a good selection of meals to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Mark C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the hotel.

Your feedback is appreciated and a joy to read.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Arrived at the DoubleTree Edinburgh via train from London, checked in (rooms available early for us, thank you!) and were pleased to see Edinburgh castle views from 2 of the 4 rooms we had. Rooms fresh and clean, sleek decor, the beds the best of my 2 week UK tour and friendly staff (especially compared to London). The family then asked how to get to the castle and they kindly pointed out the window and said "across the street and up the hill". Location, Location, Location!

After touring that wonderful castle and the Royal Mile, we proceeded back to the DoubleTree ... enjoyed a pleasant round of drinks in the adjoining bar and the next morning a great breakfast.

I would not put it in a 'luxury' status, but for a great stay at a great location, you can not beat this newly renovated property.

Room Tip: The castle view rooms are worth it! Lifts a bit slow so if you are fit enough to use the stairs, enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brandarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Brand architect,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent visit.

I am delighted that you found the hotel to be perfectly located within the city and that you took advantage of the proximity to Edinburgh Castle to visit the most popular attraction in Scotland.

I hope that you enjoyed your Edinburgh visit and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the DoubleTree for a weekend in June 2014. Hotel has recently been refurbished and staff is very friendly. Our room looked out over the castle which is a very nice view in particular in the evenings. Breakfast is a buffet and well-catered for. Location is perfect. Around the corner from the city centre with everything at walking distance. All in all we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear RJ-EM,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

I am happy to read that you found the hotel suited your needs and the team to be very friendly.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,684 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £92 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing