We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #47 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My family and I stayed here for two nights in July. It is a conveniently located hotel in central Edinburgh and the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was great. The only downside is that the hotel car parking is about 500 m away. Still it is a great hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear William P,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel during your Edinburgh visit.

I am happy to read that you found the hotel suited your needs and that the food and service received was of a good standard.

I am sorry however that we do not have our own car park at the hotel but glad to read that this did not mar your visit and that you will consider us again on your next visit to the city.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you enjoyed Scotland overall.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    619
    168
    60
    25
See reviews for
304
793
76
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester le Street
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Decor very dark and dismal. Quite noisy at 12 am and later about 2 a.m.Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Service at breakfast bit haphazard. Manager didn't seem to do anything much to get dishes cleared promptly, get tea/coffee and staff didn't seem to be designated certain tables although food was very palatable (except potato cakes which were like rubber)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank cocoChesterleStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear cocoChesterlestreet,

I am sorry to read that your sty was marred due to breakfast service and the potato scones on the buffet.

We feel that breakfast is the last impression at the hotel and obviously failed on this occasion for which I would like to apologise.

I hope that the rest of your stay in Edinburgh was an enjoyable one and that this did not impact your overall city visit.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel scores highly principally because of its brilliant central location in the heart of Edinburgh, but also because of the usual high standards of courtesy, professionalism & helpfulness that set the Hilton Group's staff apart from the rest. Our room was spotless, well-furnished & comfortable and we enjoyed dining in the Brasserie where the food was good and the staff terrific. Our only very minor criticism was that the choices at breakfast were somewhat limited.....but, this apart, I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Alistair G,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Although I am delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable one, I am disappointed to read that you found the breakfast choice to be limited.

As we continually review our services and offerings I would appreciate your further feedback as to what you would like to see added as we are always more than happy to accommodate all our guests requests.

I appreciate your time and look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Would recommend this hotel was everything we could have wished for and more, we booked early and got a great bargain so was value for money. Everything is the room was clean, towels, bedding, toiletries were all good quality. The staff were friendly and helpful. The warm cookie on arrival was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Jacqueline S,

I am happy to read that you found the hotel met with your needs on your Edinburgh Trip with your friend.

Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel was recently (May 2014) rebranded as Doubletree. With that came complete renovation - new carpet, new furniture, new beds. We were completely satisfied with our four night stay, with a very clean and comfortable room and extremely nice staff. The rooms were nicely appointed, had in-room tea and coffee service, large screen television, and in the lobby free Wi-Fi plus two desktop PCs. There is an extra charge for Wi-Fi in the rooms. There is a restaurant and bar that are part of the hotel. We consider the Doubletree a real find in Edinburgh, an extremely good value, and a fairly central location. We walked to the hotel from both Waverly and Haymarket train stations - about equidistant from each. The Royal Mile is a bit of an uphill climb, but we walked it many times with no problem. Also easy walking to the main shopping, museum and theatre areas of downtown. Recommended, and we will stay at the Doubletree Edinburgh again!! And fresh apples and warm chocolate chip cookies at the front desk every day. You can't beat that.

Room Tip: We opted for a very quiet room at the rear of the hotel and away from the lift - no view other than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Music_Matters_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Music_Matters_2,

Thank you for chosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel's facilities and location within the city and appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Centrally located, only 5-10 min. away from Royal mile and many other attractions. The double room is large with 2 double beds, a lot of space to move around and a small sitting area. Some rooms have great view to the castle. Staff very nice , helpful and professional. Very good and diversed breakfast ( buffet or a la carte)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Christina S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your stay.

I am happy to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is in a convenient place, and has the castle view. Housekeeping is doing a good job in the mornings. However, we had water only on arrival, after that we had to buy our own water. We were on B&B basis and used the restaurant for our Breakfast. Breakfast service was very slow, first two days we had to wait for about 20 minutes to get our tea/coffee. Although the hotel was busy with guests, there were only two to three waiters going around serving tea/coffee with no interest. There was no wifi in the rooms, but it was available in the Lobby or in the Bar. I used to have the same cocktail couple of times from the Bar and I found the taste was not consistent. There seems to be a serious issue with customer service, staff seems not helpful or courteous at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevemanjuuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Steve Manjuuk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your stay with us.

We clearly dropped the ball during your stay for which I would like to sincerely apologise.

Your feedback will be shared with the team to ensure they are aware of the impact of poor service.

I appreciate your feedback and apologise that we did not deliver to the service levels expected.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing