We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Nice stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Reserved one night in standard room with points during Festival Fringe at last minute.
Surprisingly, even as Silver HH only, upgraded to HH floor. Was Saturday night stay, so may be reason for upgrade. Seemingly only perk for this floor, other than high floor, was bottled water in room.
Room: King. Large. Lots of room. Normal windows. Nothing special with windows so room a bit on dark side. Lots of great lighting in room fixtures offset however. Bed & pillows okay. Large flat screen (didn't turn on).
Bath: Compact. Shower only. Shower good size with good water pressure. Absolutely no room for stuff in bath. No outlet for women either.
Towels: Okay. Not hotel worn, yet.
Cleanliness: Bath could be better. A few issues.
Standard: Iron/board; mini-fridge. Hair dryer was awful. If thick or long hair, you will suffer.
Kettle: In room.
Staff: All encountered, exceptionally nice & helpful.
Breakfast: (Didn't eat.) However large area off lobby with huge windows to outside.
Wifi: Free in lobby only.
Lobby: Two huge PCs for use with nice printer.
Elevators: As noted by others, slowest two ever. Except 0630 Sunday morning!
Location: From Royal mile, go toward castle. At roundabout in last block before castle, veer left onto Johnston Terrace. Follow around exterior of castle. Turns into Spittal St which ends at a T on Bread St. Right smack at the Doubletree. So super easy to walk from main train station, Waverly.
Value: For points used, good stay in nice hotel close to castle, tattoo, royal mile and Waverly train station.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Dylann G,

I appreciate your time in reviewing your stay with us and detailing each aspect to allow us a great opportunity to share with the team.

It is good to read that your stay overall was an enjoyable one and that you took advantage of the hotel's location within the city.

I hope that your Edinburgh visit was a memorable one and that you took the time to see some of the many wonderful shows that the Fringe Festival affords.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    618
    168
    60
    25
See reviews for
303
793
76
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great value for money, great location for getting to events and activities. Local staff were friendly and had good knowledge and were happy to help with things. Room was lovely. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Grace C,

I am happy to read that your stay with us was a thoroughly enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The location of this DoubleTree is quite good. It is a short walk (though up a steep hill) to the castle and the royal mile. It's also an easy walk to the Meadows, the Haymarket train station, and Princes street, among other destinations. Our family of 4 had initially booked two rooms (hoping to get adjoining rooms), but we ended up with two separate nearby rooms on the same floor. After the first night we decided to just stay in one room with two double beds and the staff was more than agreeable to this change in spite of the Hilton.com's website indicating that there were no rooms for 2 adults and 2 kids available. The decor is modern and elegant, but we didn't have much of a view. There is a restaurant and a pub. The food was good but the menu was a bit limited at the restaurant. There is also a penthouse bar that is only open one Thursday per month. We hit it on an open day and the view of the castle and the city is quite good although it was very crowded. They planned to offer barbecue in the bar that eventing but due to a broken grill, limited (and not very exciting) food options were offered. The staff is very friendly here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse-the-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Jesse the Traveller,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your family visit to Edinburgh.

I am delighted that you chose to stay with us on your city visit and happy to read that the team took care of you throughout your stay and made the change from 2 rooms to 1 room possible.

I am sorry however that we do not have specific family rooms to advertise on our website. This is due to the challenges of different children's ages which would potentially mean a tight squeeze on existing bedding. We currently on offer this to 2 adults and one child however will look at ways to change this within the system parameters.

I am happy to read that you took advantage of the SKYBar which opens only one day each month however apologise that it was too busy for you and your family to enjoy.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that your overall Edinburgh visit was an enjoyable one.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for a week in early August, 2014. There was some confusion (all on my end, not at all the fault of the hotel) about when I was supposed to check out, but the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating in extending my stay through the weekend. The bar is nice, with a small but good selection of food to order. Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant other than breakfast, and this was my only gripe. Eggs were runny and unappetizing. Didn't offer a huge variety of food to eat for breakfast buffet. But again, thats my only complaint about my stay here.

There were some issues with one of the elevators (it was out of order several times during the stay) but the staff seemed on top of everything and eager to get it fixed so I can't really fault them for this. Just a bit of a minor inconvenience that I don't think anyone would run into again.

Walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile (although its a bit of a hike up the hill, so if you have trouble walking, may be best to take a cab). Much easier walking distance to bars/pubs/restaurants in Grassmarket. Seems like there was a lively nightlife there.

If I needed to stay in Edinburgh again, and wanted to stay in the city centre area, I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again. it would probably be my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoSlackDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear No Slack Delta,

I appreciate your time in sharing your experience whilst staying with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I am sorry to read that you found the breakfast choice to be lacking during your stay and sincerely apologise that the eggs made to order where too runny. We clearly should have asked how you like them rather than making an assumption.

I am glad however that this did not taint your stay your overall enjoyable however please be assured that this will be shared with the team for training purposes.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Nice hotel in good location near the Castle although there is a steep climb direct to the Royal Mile if you are on foot! Friendly Reception, lovely room and helpful Reception staff. Bar staff friendly but food and cocktail menu could be a little more varied. Breakfast in the main restaurant was adequate but the staff were slow in asking for your drink choices (the food is self service but you could order other choices from a menu at further charge) and I found the staff in the main restaurant to be quite miserable! In both eating places the floors were covered in debris from previous patrons so this needs to be cleaned more quickly. We were there during the Fringe Festival and the Tattoo so there was a bit of noise at night (which we obviously expected) from fireworks, canon fire and the number of people in the area. I would stay here again but hopefully they will clean the floors better! We did plenty walking so did not feel the need to use the gym facilities so cannot comment on them! Reception will call a taxi if you need one and ours arrived within 5 minutes! There was a hair dryer, iron and board and mini fridge in the room. Not he bath was quite small (I am only 5ft 3) and a magnifying mirror would be handy. Lovely chocolate chip cookie given on check in - yummy!

Room Tip: Busy road outside - we had a room on the 4th floor and were not bothered by traffic noise but we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazlikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Cazlikestotravel,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I would like to sincerely apologise that your stay was marred by poor breakfast service and standards. The fact that all food both on the buffet and on the menu is inclusive clearly shows that the team did not explain the buffet effectively as well as failing to show the warmth of hospitality that they are more than capable of.

We clearly fell short on this occasion which will be shared with the team to ensure they learn from this and make the necessary improvements.

I appreciate your feedback as this enables us to continually make any necessary improvements to our services and product however apologise that this impacted your stay with us.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my short stay at the Doubletree Edinburgh.

The location is good , not far from Edinburgh castle and a 10 minute walk from the nearest airport bus stop .

Staff were welcoming and were able to help with taxi bookings, finding venues etc.

Room was very clean, quiet , spacious, and well styled.

Hotel facilities were perfect. Fitness centre was well equipped and breakfast was nice.

Only slight negative was the very expensive surcharge in wifi.

I recommend this hotel and will return when I'm next in Edinburgh.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Justin F,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience.

I am happy to read that you found the hotel suited your needs however sincerely I am sorry to read that the WiFi cost was the only negative.

I am currently awaiting a change to our system to enable us to offer a complimentary service within our bedrooms however apologise that we do nit have this in place as yet.

I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonald, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and all of its amenities. The staff was fantastic and the breakfast in the morning was outstanding. The only drawback was that the wifi was pretty bad. Overall, the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Hunter J,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us however sincerely apologise for the issues experienced with the WiFi.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you enjoyed Edinburgh with your friends and took advantage of the Fringe Festival.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing