We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Grassmarket proximity”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
A-Reel
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Grassmarket proximity”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Excellent well equipped apartment located adjacent Grassmarket. Be aware that beds 3 & 4 are folding type camp beds.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review, we're so pleased that you enjoyed the apartment and location.The 3rd and 4th beds are indeed fold-down beds and we make sure this is in our description. Hope you were able to enjoy all that Edinburgh has to offer! Kind regards, TS Holiday Lets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great apartment, great location. Stayed for New Year”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

One bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor with limited view of castle behind the building and no lift so it was 2 flights of stairs. Thats the negative......now the positive...
loads of room, comfy furniture, free wifi, all you need for cooking, comfy bed, good bathroom, light and airy feel and an acceptable tariff
Excellent breakfast across the road at the freindliest place you could want. Grassmarket has numerous eating and drinking places of various types.
The most impressive thing was the response from the owners whenever l called or e-mailed which almost immediate and always helpful even in the evning and weekends.
It was ideal for two people and would recommend it completely

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the actual apartment
Liked least: two flights of stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Stairs - not convenient when travelling with young children
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your review of Castle Rock Apartment, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment in a good central location. I hope the stairs did not put you off and hope we can help you book your next stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cupoftea...
Khartoum, Sudan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very convenient for Grassmarket area and getting around town”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at this cottage during a recent UK trip as we wanted a central location that is a change from a hotel. This cottage fit the bill. It is advertised as sleeping four people, but I think it would be a bit on the small side, as only one bedroom and living area possibly doubles as second sleeping quarters, which would leave no room to move.

The cottage suited our purpose, it is walking distance to popular Grassmarket with lots of pubs. There is a Sainsbury's a block away for any groceries you may need. The apartment can do with a thorough cleaning, however, as we noticed some possible black mould in the bathroom and as we tried storing our suitcases we were met with a deluge of dust. Mattress needs to be replaced, we ended up cuddling quite close in the centre as you fold into the middle. :-)

Ease of access to property - keys and alarm code provided per email, so you can arrive at your leisure. We asked for and were granted a late check out. Staff from TS Properties were very friendly and helpful. Just a word of caution, it is an uphill walk to the castle, so for the less mobile, I would recommend staying on the Royal Mile. However, buses do depart from less than 2 minutes walk away from the apartment. Great to be able to just wash our clothes and relax a bit between hotel stays.

Would recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Castle Rock. The property is in a fantastic area and we're glad you enjoyed being so close to the Grassmarket. I have let the owners know about the dust and the mattress and this will be rectified as soon as possible. Many thanks again and we hope to see you at some point in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMRJRL8
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great location, comfortable apartment”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Castle Rock. It was easy to find and in a great location in Grassmarket with a lot of fun restaurants, pubs and shops. Very quiet, given the location, so that was good too. Apartment was clean, comfortable and safe - all with a view of the castle!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Castle Rock and agree its a fantastic location for taking in the sites of Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place in an amazing location!”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't fault the place one bit. Everything we needed was there and the place was very clean and tidy. The location is ideal as it's within walking distance of pretty much everything! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Edinburgh. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was perfect. Couldn't fault it!
Liked least: The front walls were pretty thin which meant if someone was walking past the front door making a lot of noise, you could hear it all. This happened very rarely though.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senwar
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Second stay, and loved it again.”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My wife and I visited in November 2014. This is a great apartment in a fantastic location. Literally a minute from the Grassmarket, but you wouldn't think that given how quiet it is once inside. A real secure complex, the apartment is a home from away from home.

Having worked in Edinburgh for several months a few years back, I stayed regularly in the Apex. However, this apartment far outweighs the hotel for me given the facilities and price. It is a great place to stay for a long weekend, and this was our second stay (having stayed for 3 nights in November 2013) and we enjoyed it just as much. I love the Grassmarket area so the location is perfect for what I want.

A very cosy and warm front room with comfortable settee's, which includes a good size kitchen area with dining table, the apartment also has a nice size bedroom, and a good bathroom give you everything you need.

I will definitely book the apartment again in the future, and should I work in Edinburgh again in the future, then I would hopefully stay here instead of a hotel. I would recommend this place to couples, families, friends - it is ideal and fantastic value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing