We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - worth a drive, just a little bit of France”
Review of Marie Delices

Marie Delices
Ranked #455 of 2,530 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Draycott, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing - worth a drive, just a little bit of France”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a beautiful little French cafe tucked away in Morningside. We first came here early morning for a quick coffee - the coffee itself was so good we vowed to come back on the weekend for breakfast.
Upon on return on Saturday, we had a totally delicious classic crepe - great prices and big portion. The owner talked to us for along time and really asked about our visits. Her passion for food and people really shines through and I am sure she'll have a long, successful career.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cassie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gallettes to die for..........”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit within a week to this fantastic wee french cafe in Morningside. We've driven/cycled past multiple times, always saying that this is somewhere that we must try. So, eventually, we did. And what a triumph!! The Gallettes des copines was absolutely delicious - with fresh goats cheese, walnuts, honey, and basil oil (with salad leaves). If you haven't been - please do. It'll be worth the trip!

Helpful?
Thank JacquiDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A cafe with a difference”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This little French Cafe on Comiston Road in Edinburgh is a real find and a good antidote to the chain coffee shops.
Very friendly service from two French ladies - charming and informative.
They produced a gluten free galette for me and it was delicious.
Also lovely cakes and a wide range of teas and coffees.
Marie's Delices deserves to get better known
They also advertise Brunch at the weekend so again well worth trying

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Calms the spirit before and after S. Morningside Primary Pikop Andropov (pickup and drop-off)”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just the note. A great place to conduct your business via free wifi (veefee en francais) while sampling world-class decaf Americano au lait chaud washed down with the most delicious savory crepes imaginable. Today I tried the standard £6.50 one. It looked a bit like Sponge Bob (photo and detailed description coming soon) and was delicieux.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bltonwry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“France on a plate!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have eaten galettes and crepes in France but this was even better despite the rain. Lovely little creperie. We both had savoury galettes followed by a sweet crepe and piece of cake - all delicious and beautifully presented. A bit out of town but worth the detour. Unfortunately not open in the evening as yet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ducatigirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marie Delices also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Marie Delices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing