We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste Good Oriental Cuisine

Taste Good Oriental Cuisine
Ranked #1,395 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Was recommended this place by friends the place was empty and the food was okay not as good as we expected.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    5
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Casual Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have been to Taste Good 3 times now for a sit down dinner and every time has been great. The most recent visit, I went with my boyfriend and his parents. We were all delighted in every aspect, from the food, service and how spotlessly clean the restaurant is. Just like every time before the food came quickly and piping hot. The portions are massive and I always make the mistake of eating too much because of how delicious it is. I can say we will definitely continue to go to Taste Good for a nice quiet dinner out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobynBep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

My son had just come home for Xmas and wanted food from his favourite Chinese takeaway Taste Good. I was so disappointed. We ordered 5 meals. The shredded chicken was not fresh (chewy) and the noodles had been lying a while. They were the dark variety and were not succulent. So disappointed as we paid £35.50 for food. Not to be repeated.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanandKathleen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the outside - go downstairs and enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

You could be forgiven for thinking this is just a carry out as the frontage is a bit confusing, but head down the stairs to the restaurant and you'll find a great Chinese with an interesting atmosphere and excellent service.
Menu is relatively standard but with a few twists and all dishes are very well cooked and genuinely authentic tasting.
Service is excellent - prompt, unobtrusive, attentive, & friendly.
Worth seeking out!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnfcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best ALWAYS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This is our favourite restaurant in Edinburgh. We regularly sit in on a Friday evening and get a takeaway from time to time. We usually take the Banquet for 2 as it is better value. When we sit in we invariably change one of the dishes at no extra charge. Food is always served hot and fresh, with enough time between courses. Great choice of dishes and the yang chow rice is amazing! The atmosphere is great with nice decor and good music (never too loud). They resisted the temptation to have oriental music. Nice chocolates at the end of the meal and a bonus is the free lollipops. We've also had family gatherings here and the service was excellent. I honestly can't think of anything negative to say about Taste Good and have recommended it to numerous friends, none of whom have been disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste Good Oriental Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Taste Good Oriental Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing