We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have read the reviews first....”
Review of Woodland Creatures

Woodland Creatures
Ranked #895 of 2,598 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hi Woodland Creatures, we were the group of 6 who walked out today because nobody was interested in serving us. We booked for lunch the Saturday before Christmas, got stuck in a bare back room and nobody even asked if we wanted a drink. We were disappointed, we've been before and thought it seemed quite friendly but the barman today was really churlish. Thought you'd like to know we went down to try the Lioness of Leith, it was really friendly and we spent over £300. I don't think we'll be back, sorry!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank RuthieBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsleith, Public Relations Manager at Woodland Creatures, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review, RuthieBeth. Obviously we're unhappy about the experience you and your friends had and we will be having a conversation with the member of staff who was on the day you visited- we are taking this very seriously. If you would be willing to give us another chance we'd like to offer you lunch on us whenever it suits you. Please contact the Manager Chris on woodlandsleith@gmail.com or through the bar on 0131 629 5509 to make arrangements and to talk one to one about anything else to do with your experience last time you were with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Met pals for a pint and dinner and had a great time. We were able to tuck away with the dogs out of the way. Loved the wardrobe secret passage to the beer garden. Great decor and it was beer Heaven. Friendly staff and good selection of veggie and meaty food. Will become a regular haunt on trips to Edinburgh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoostyDug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsleith, Community manager at Woodland Creatures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review! We're glad you had a good time with us and we look forward to having you back. Don't forget to ask for a half pint of biscuits for your pooch next time you're in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A pleasant place to meet up with a set of friends but I was not impressed by the lack of geniality by the bar staff, really quite rude. I wouldn't return based on my experience this evening. I'd rather take my custom somewhere where I'm more likely to be valued as a funder of the staff's wages!

Thank x333xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsleith, Community manager at Woodland Creatures, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. Of course we're sorry you had a bad experience and we respect your decision not to come back. It would be useful to us, however, to get some detail from you about what happened so we can try to address any issues. You can email us at woodlandsleith at gmail dot com if you would like to let us know more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

I went to woodland creatures for a casual birthday meal and drinks with a few friends on a Monday night. Once you get past the interesting (but slightly scary) grey exterior the bar is cosy and quirky. Interesting art for sale, good drinks selection and simple but very tasty food - one of the best burgers I've had in a while. Friendly staff and a great find down Leith Walk. I'll definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jenpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsleith, Community manager at Woodland Creatures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

We're glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My partner loves beer, I like a nice gin and tonic or the odd cocktail. The selection of beer and wine is superb. The atmosphere is so quirky which seemed to suit the mood we found ourselves in. We liked the staff, they were not in your face, asking is everything alright every 5 minutes. Our food was delicious and if I hadn't had so many gins I would have remembered more of the detail. What a great afternoon in leith. Don't bother going up to those expensive places on the Royal Mile. This place is fab.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank friarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodland Creatures also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Woodland Creatures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing