We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, Location, Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Castle Snug

The Castle Snug
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Castle Snug
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
The Castle Snug
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Rockyell
Ks
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We booked a couple of nights at the Castle Snug in early September. Brian was great to work with and quick to respond. He was happy to help and provide detailed information. The apartment looks like the photos and is cute and quirky. It was perfect for a few nights in Edinburgh. The LOCATION was Specatucular! It was right off Royal Mile and in the midst of the tourist area but yet it was down an alley so quieter than right on the main street. We loved the Jolly Judge pub right by it and managed to go there every day. It was cute, clean, and ideally located.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bizzylizz...
Cornwall, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic and unique accommodation in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Simply wonderful and unique experience. The best place possible for a visit to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. The accommodation is extremely quirky which we loved. We had a week at the Castle Snug. Our grown up daughters joined us for a few days.The rest of the time we were just two. It is quite a squeeze for 4 but very doable for a family or two couples who know each other very well! Not that cheap in Fringe week but worth every penny and so centrally located just off the Royal Mile that we could walk to every venue saving on taxis and public transport. We had communication with the owner and he was charming and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and quirkiness
Liked least: wifi though offered was not working properly during our stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIST64
Whitby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“On the Doorstep of the Royal Mile”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

After careful research, we decided to stay at The Castle Snug. We weren't sure when we'd be back to Edinburgh again and wanted to make the most of our stay by choosing a centrally located apartment. There was excellent communication with Brian before and during our stay. Thankfully he and Christine were able to accommodate an earlier check-in for us. The pictures shown on line are excellent examples of what the apartment looks like
One couldn't ask for a better spot from which to start a day in Edinburgh. Literally minutes down the road from Edinburgh Castle and steps to the Royal Mile - lots to see in either direction. And happily for us, The Castle Snug was also a few strides away from our 8:00 a.m. pick-up for the Hairy Coo tour.
I can't think of one thing that was missing that we might have needed. We used the upstairs bed which was comfortable but we did check out how to open to hideaway and it wasn't difficult. We weren't planning on doing any cooking but the kitchen was certainly well equipped. The shower was easy to operate and the water was always hot. We were able to sit, relax and have a cup of tea/coffee to start our day and later, a glass of wine before heading out to dinner.
We loved this tucked away spot. As a fan of the "tiny house" movement, I thought that it wouldn't be difficult to live permanently in this little apartment. It really does have character; I can only imagine whose feet have been up those steps!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Overall "vibe" of the apartment - and location, location, location!
Liked least: It was a little chilly one night and it took a bit to figure out how to get some heat. We managed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley1...
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a 4 night stay at the Castle Snug Apartment. It's location is superb, being just off the Royal Mile and a few minutes walk from the castle. It's also within easy walking distance of the train station.
The apartment is utterly charming. It felt like a real privilege to be able to stay in such a unique place. It's very comfortable, spotlessly clean, lovely new bathroom and a well equipped kitchen.
From our very first enquiry Brain was really helpful, easy to contact via email or phone.
I would absolutely recommend the Castle Snug apartment and cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayjay32
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Magical! Didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place was so cozy, clean, cute and comfortable that I barely wanted to leave long enough to go sightseeing. The location is perfect. It's close to the castle end of the Royal Mile and not too far from the train station, bus stops or tram stop. I was able to find instructions to work most things in the house and Brian was more than willing to help if needed. I loved it and would certainly stay here again! I had a few concerns before I came after reading some reviews about the pub next door, but it really didn't bother me. If it had been nicer out, then there may have been more folks out in the courtyard, but I just heard a few people coming and going. It was still quieter than most hotel rooms however.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: deep set windows and cozy fire
Liked least: smell of smoke that wafted in occasionally from folks smoking behind the place
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandydunc...
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Now the 5th time here and still the most perfect getaway escape in Edinburgh. Absolute gem and never fails to please.
Thank you Brian and Christine!
From
Mandy and Calvin
(Loving the new bathroom)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vix P
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unique stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a treat it was to stay here! The snug is ideally placed towards the top of the Royal mile, very easy to find, over the top of the Jolly Judge pub (not that you'd know it, you can't hear anything from the pub at all in the snug)

Inside its absolutely beautiful. It was larger than I thought it would be from the YouTube video, with a fully functioning kitchen, dinning table, Chesterfield sofa, two arm chairs and a gas fire.

There is plenty of storage space under the mezzanine too and the bathroom has just been beautifully redone. Although the bathroom is very small, it works well and has a good shower.

Only issue we had was with the oven which I understand has now been rectified. That and the issue I preferred the upstairs beds d my husband prefers the fold out one!

I can't wait to rebook, it is a magically property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;