We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A charming dream”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Castle Snug

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sergio M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A charming dream”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

A wonderful cottage on two floors in the historical centre of Edinburgh.
Charming, comfortable and very nice for couples and families too. Nice kitchen -
with everything you need and much more - good heating, wifi, good quality beds and special furniture clearly designed by a person with a distinctive taste, probably an architect.
Easy to reach, with a parking near and at 4 minutes walk to the Castle.
The best choice I ever did. The owner is very friendly, professional and warm person, the wife too. They helped us with everything.
Let's book there, definitely.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrias52
Petaluma, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adorable little flat in great location!”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

So glad we found this place! The pictures sum it up pretty well, though it actually feels bigger than it looks, as the ceilings are so high. Very clean, very cozy and comfortable. The location really couldn't be better. Just a few minutes walk to the Castle, and right on the royal mile. The hop on bus stops right outside as well! Parking was a little bit of a challenge but that's just the way that area is; there's actually a good loading area (I think, we used it anyway!) right in front. We didn't have a chance to try the Jolly Judge, but it looked good, and seemed pretty popular with locals. There was some street noise from pub patrons but not much and not late, it closes down fairly early.
I'd say this is a good location to bring kids as well! We brought our 5 and 7 year olds, and they loved it!
I really hope we get a chance to go back. We would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davy2211
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky & Quaint Hideaway”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a really quirky place to stay. It's comfortable well furnished& a great place to base yourself when visiting Edinburgh. Situated in a typical close off the Royal Mile very near the castle you the get the feeling of old Edinburgh whilst being amongst everything you may need & wish to do. Being quite close to the railway station it is easy to get to & the instructions to find it are very clear. All the instructions provided by the owner are clear & very helpful. What a great place to stay in Edinburgh! I will be going back.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew F
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mrs.”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Outstanding experience! An unbelievably fantastic location at a phenomenal bargain!!! Hope to return soon.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockyell
Ks
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We booked a couple of nights at the Castle Snug in early September. Brian was great to work with and quick to respond. He was happy to help and provide detailed information. The apartment looks like the photos and is cute and quirky. It was perfect for a few nights in Edinburgh. The LOCATION was Specatucular! It was right off Royal Mile and in the midst of the tourist area but yet it was down an alley so quieter than right on the main street. We loved the Jolly Judge pub right by it and managed to go there every day. It was cute, clean, and ideally located.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bizzylizz...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic and unique accommodation in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Simply wonderful and unique experience. The best place possible for a visit to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. The accommodation is extremely quirky which we loved. We had a week at the Castle Snug. Our grown up daughters joined us for a few days.The rest of the time we were just two. It is quite a squeeze for 4 but very doable for a family or two couples who know each other very well! Not that cheap in Fringe week but worth every penny and so centrally located just off the Royal Mile that we could walk to every venue saving on taxis and public transport. We had communication with the owner and he was charming and helpful.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and quirkiness
Liked least: wifi though offered was not working properly during our stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIST64
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“On the Doorstep of the Royal Mile”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

After careful research, we decided to stay at The Castle Snug. We weren't sure when we'd be back to Edinburgh again and wanted to make the most of our stay by choosing a centrally located apartment. There was excellent communication with Brian before and during our stay. Thankfully he and Christine were able to accommodate an earlier check-in for us. The pictures shown on line are excellent examples of what the apartment looks like
One couldn't ask for a better spot from which to start a day in Edinburgh. Literally minutes down the road from Edinburgh Castle and steps to the Royal Mile - lots to see in either direction. And happily for us, The Castle Snug was also a few strides away from our 8:00 a.m. pick-up for the Hairy Coo tour.
I can't think of one thing that was missing that we might have needed. We used the upstairs bed which was comfortable but we did check out how to open to hideaway and it wasn't difficult. We weren't planning on doing any cooking but the kitchen was certainly well equipped. The shower was easy to operate and the water was always hot. We were able to sit, relax and have a cup of tea/coffee to start our day and later, a glass of wine before heading out to dinner.
We loved this tucked away spot. As a fan of the "tiny house" movement, I thought that it wouldn't be difficult to live permanently in this little apartment. It really does have character; I can only imagine whose feet have been up those steps!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Overall "vibe" of the apartment - and location, location, location!
Liked least: It was a little chilly one night and it took a bit to figure out how to get some heat. We managed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.