We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, awesome amenities, very clean...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Castle Snug

The Castle Snug
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Castle Snug
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The Castle Snug
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Joanne B
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect location, awesome amenities, very clean & little extras that come in handy!”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Perfect location in a very cute lane right on the Royal Mile. Fresh milk was left in the fridge for us, so handy! Very clean & tidy, we were very happy with the character of the Snug and the little extras that were included :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitkatt34...
Cherry Valley, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The location was steps from the Royal Mile. The castle Snug is in a Close and once one learns about what a Close really is about, it really makes this place a lot more interesting. The Snug had all the amenities we needed for our stay in Edinburgh. It was a bit small but it worked for 2 adults and 1 child. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. I would stay here again on our next trip to Edinburgh.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nut_Cube
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Snug”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Having booked a weekend away in Edinburgh for my mum and dad, they would highly recommend this beautifully presented apartment in a fantastic location, just seconds off the Royal Mile. It was well-equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean.

There are a host of bars and restaurants right on the doorstep and the city's centre and main attractions are within walking distance.

The host and owner Brian was very helpful, kind and informative.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snug, as named, and perfectly located”
Reviewed 1 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent for access to essential Edinburgh. Very comfortable for two. Just what we wanted. Plan to use it again!
What could be better? Water is hot but just trickles, and the kitchen tap is usable but coming free from its mounting

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona1918
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great wee place in the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Snug is lovely little gem at the foot of the Castle. It's a great base for exploring the old and new town, shops, restaurants and attractions. Definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DermotH36...
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Splendid booking, everything we could have hoped for.”
Reviewed 5 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
3
people found this review helpful

For a party of two adults and two children, this was the perfect accommodation. A feet away from the Royal Mile, the Castle Snug was only a few minutes walk from most tourist attractions within the Old Town. Correspondence with the owners and directions to listing were excellent. For my youngest child, the Castle Snug was the highlight of the holiday. The premises was very secure, clean and contained all the amenities we needed. For the weary tourist, next door is situated the highly rated pub The Jolly Judge and across the narrow Close was a beautiful little café. All four of us look forward to a revisit shortly.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights at the snug with 3 friends. Fell in love with the property the minute we entered! Brian was brilliant at every step and will definitely be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing