We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent flat and location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room and Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room and Dining Area
Kitchen Moroccan Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Sitting Room and Dining Area
Kitchen
Moroccan Room
French Room
oriental room hallway
oriental bedroom
en suite shower room
lighting
logo and furniture
Paris room wardrobe
sitting room
wallpaper hallway to oriental room
hallway
tv lounge
vanity unit all en-suites
oriental room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
AlanGray2...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent flat and location.”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We hired the flat for three nights, as my daughter was getting married in Edinburgh.

The flat was very comfortable and spacious with three good sized bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms with fantastic showers. The living room and kitchen areas were really nice and would be comfortable even if you had 8 people in the flat. There is also a small garden at the back of the flat.

The flat is a 10 to 15 minute walk from Princes Street, Waverley Station and all the city centre attractions Edinburgh has to offer. Although close to the centre, the flat is located in a really quiet area, the only traffic and people passing were those coming to Carlton Terrace.

Parking was available on street if you wish, maximum stay 4hrs between 8.30 and 5.30 Monday to Friday and at £1.60 per hour is cheaper than some other parts of the city. QParks at the Omni Centre is very close as an alternative.

If there are 6 or 8 in the party, it's a much better and probably cheaper alternative to staying in a decent city centre hotel. You also have more space and will feel much more at home.

The owner was really helpful and was available at the end of the phone it needed.

I would recommend this flat if you are looking for a spacious, comfortable and practical flat in a superb location in Edinburgh.

The only point I would make which is not a complaint is that the flat is a basement flat with some steep steps leading down to the flat from the road, this was not an issue for anyone in our party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ample space and facilities
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2015
i am delighted you had a good time and your daughters wedding was a great occasion
of you to all gather in Edinburgh warm regards SAV
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny2727
Preston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Apartment was lovely and spacious for our group of nine ladies. Savita could not do enough for us and gave us tips on the best places to dine out and to visit. Had a great weekend and looking forward to going back. Thanks Savita again for all your advice.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2015
thanks for you lovely review it is greatly appreciated glad you had a good time
Sav
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillmain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Accommodation was lovely, very clean and stylish. City centre on doorstep and owner couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Really enjoyed our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2015
thank you so very much for your lovely comments kind regards Sav
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kikibee87
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute gem of a place!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

8 of us stayed here for a hen party mid July & we could not fault the place in any way. The apartment was lovely and spacious, nice decor and it had everything we needed even a nice little garden as well as being in a fantastic location only 10minutes walk to town.
Sav was fantastic offering us to call her any time for any help and advice, we even arrived to fresh milk, margarine & jam in the fridge which was much appreciated.
We would love to come back again, thanks for having us Sav.
100% recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size/decor of apartment
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
amazing group of women .Thanks for your lovely review appreciated Please come back soon
Sav
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam1212
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Being our first trip to Edinburgh,this was the absolute perfect place to stay. The room were comfortable and spacious, The retreat is located so close to everything and it was so easy for us to get around and sight see.
Sav was an amazing host and left us to do our own thing but also gave us the best suggestions on what to and see!!! We loved our stay and only wish we could have stayed longer.
We would highly recommend the retreat to other travelers :) we loved every second

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful decor and our Friendly host Sav
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
the feedback is appreciated many thanks for your kind words
kind regards Sav
glad you had fun makes it worthwhile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

what can i say hasnt already been said about this stunning apartment. i was looking for a place that could accommodate up to 10 mates, have all single beds, be reasonably priced and be close to town. the City Retreat ticked all boxes and more.

from the moment i booked the apartment to the moment we left, Sav (landlady) was awesome to deal with. happy to answer any question i had and could not have done anymore for us. Sav even booked us in a beautiful restaurant in town for lunch on the final day and had organised for us to leave our bags there for the day so we could still walk around without carrying our stuff around.


would recommend to anyone heading to Edinburgh with a group to consider booking City Retreat, it will be all you need and more. For us, it was the perfect base for an awesome weekend away in Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, space and condition of the apartment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
you guys were amazing thanks for such lovely words
haste ye back boys
kind regards
Sav
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lablelyn
Invermoriston
1 review
“The Best Value for Money Place to Stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is the second time my partner and I stayed here. Our first visit was in the Chinese Room and the second, the Moroccan room. The furnishings are fantastic in the rooms and the lounge and dining areas are excellent if you want to have a local Indian, Cantonese or Thai takeway.

The location of City Retreat is great for Edinburgh City Centre. A 10 minute walk has you in Princess Street where a lot of the top shops are.

Sav the owner couldnt do enough for us. Full of advice and recommendations when we enquired about places of interest, pubs and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
love it when guests return thanks for this lovely review
Sav
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing