We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect for the hen weekend!”
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
15 bedrooms are available for upto 40 guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
15 bedrooms are available for upto 40 guests
The huge dining table for large guest numbers.
A short walk away and you will find a water fall and 100's of acres of woods to explore!
The Bridal suite
The piano is for guests to play - if you can!
Beautiful winter holiday home, at the Edinburgh self catering house
relax at the Edinburgh self catering house
Almost all the rooms have ensuite facilities.
The meadow for the games
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
12 Bedrooms, 14 Bathrooms, Sleeps 32
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ashleigh...
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
“Just perfect for the hen weekend!”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

100% would recommend the mansion house of Kirkhill to friends and family. We were a group of 20 on a hen weekend! The house had everything we could need for the weekend. Spacious and the rooms were lovely! We added in the use of the hot tub late into the booking and so glad we did! As we spent majority of the weekend at the house, it was a great added extra to fill some down time throughout our weekend. David the owner met us when we arrived and gave us a tour of the house before settling in. He was contactable throughout the weekend and when we did need to contact him he replied quickly to our request.

We used Dalkeith areas taxis as we found this was a cheaper option to get to and from the city centre just for some added extra cost cutter and were able to get a Tesco delivery to the door.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Hi Ashliegh, thank you so much for your very kind words, they do mean so much to us. And we're so so pleased you had such a great time staying at Kirkhill, we think the hot tub is a must too!
Till next time....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheardypa...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect family retreat”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Basically there isnt much nearby, its about 30mins taxi to Edinburgh Centre, but the place is amazing great for a large family get together, get it booked.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee M
1 review
“Excellent venue, as described!”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed at The Mansion House of Kirkhill as part of a large party. The house on arrival looks stunning and has a lot of character. Beautiful scenery surrounds the property and there is plenty of space for any outside activity.

The management team were excellent, very helpful with information and advice. Helped immensely with the initial set up of our weekend and were there on arrival to welcome us, showing us around the property. The house is close to Edinburgh, which is only a short taxi/drive away - We used Uber which was good value when coming back to the mansion and the management team gave us a number of a good taxi firm who were good also.

There's plenty of space downstairs with a large dining table, games room and huge kitchen, catered for all ours needs - the pictures . The bedrooms are all well kitted out in terms of furniture and there's certainly plenty of them!

We organised an activity, highland games which I would recommend. They were brilliant and even came to the house and set it all up there for us.

I would highly recommend this place and will definitely be booking again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2017
Hi Lee, fab review, thank you for taking the time to write it.
We agree, Highland games is an absolute blast, and being that you can do this on the grounds makes it really easy and fun thing to do whilst you're staying with us.
Till next time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinbrow...
New York City, New York
1 review
“First class venue for a special occasion”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at the Kirkhill mansion as part of a 25-person party. Main concern when booking a place was space for such a large party - no such issues here - we each had comfortable beds, countless showers/bathrooms with hot water, huge communal spaces including a great living and dining area, as well as acres of private land to explore and enjoy. Facilities were excellent and the venue itself is amazing. The pictures do not do it justice - cannot recommend enough!

We booked a team activity (Highland games - great laugh!) for one of the afternoons. When we mentioned we were staying at the Kirkhill mansion they offered to hold the event at the venue rather than 25 of us travelling to them. This saved us both time and cost for travel and gave us chance to enjoy the surrounding land at Kirkhill.

The onsite management team were great - offering recommendations for food and taxis, going out of their way to accept food and drink orders sent to the venue in advance and generally welcoming the group.

Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Hi Kevin
Thank you for your kind words, and we're so pleased the group had such a great time! Highland games is so much fun, I will pass on your thanks to the team. Till next time.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house for a large group”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our group came to Kirkhill Mansion for a hen weekend and had a fantastic time. The house is perfect for hen/stag/large groups with plenty large bedrooms, most with ensuite, and a huge living/dining room perfect for entertaining and fully stocked kitchen. The hot tub is a bonus too! The house has loads of character and is in a great location, very secluded yet only half an hour from Edinburgh.
On arrival we were greeted with a tour and a roaring fire which was a lovely touch on a cold November afternoon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent living/dining room, perfect for entertaining and parties.
Liked least: Nothing, it had everything we needed.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASuther
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ms”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing weekend at an amazing house. Kitted out with everything you need. Would highly recommend! :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hksherida...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a fantastic time”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the house over a weekend for a birthday party, and was fabulous fun. Absolutely gorgeous grounds, a killer kitchen and super bedrooms and living/dining room area, not to mention the beaut of a piano. All 20+ people had a terrific time, and would highly recommend staying at the house. 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing