We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WEEKEND BREAK”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Town Chambers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Town Chambers
Ranked #5 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
BERKS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WEEKEND BREAK”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Excellant accomodation and central location. The rooms were spotlessly clean and looked like new. The bathrooms were all a great size and well stocked with toileteries. the beds were enormous and very comfotable. The kitchen / lounge dining area was huge. We faced a courtyard and so couldnt hear any traffic noise outside. Overall an excellant place to stay. The only down side - could have done with a peg or two to hang coats up, a kitchen tea towel would have been handy and maybe a mirror in he bedroom. woould definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hendesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello there. Thank you very much for your review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Coat hangers are on our list to add to the apartments, but I am disappointed to hear you didn't have a tea towel, these should be in each apartment. I am also confused about the mirror as each wardrobe should have a mirror in it, next to the hairdryer. If you could take the time to email me on Julie@thechambersedinburgh.co.uk and let me know which apartment you stayed in, I would really appreciate it.
I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    117
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
367
278
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Let me just say that this is not your run of the mill apartment, it's first class on par with a suite in 5 star hotel. It is huge! Our 1 bedroom apartment is gorgeously furnished in a modern cozy style, with lots of high end high quality finishing with Siemens kitchen and Duravit bathroom fittings. The contrast of dark wooden flooring and grey walls interspersed with cream walls made it very cozy. Very impressed with the furniture as well, some 70's style chair in leather and sofa which can also turn into a sofabed. Fresh milk is free, coffee and tea and biscuits provided. Nespresso coffee and coffee maker in the kitchen. I was impressed with the kindest service I've received. When we arrived, there was a cot and baby high chair already! Wow! The manager on site, Gaia and her evening colleague was ever so helpful and unbelievably nice to us. She took us to our room and anything we needed she was at hand to assist; including slippers and toiletries and this is even better than the last 5 star hotel we stayed in Chicago in June. She was so kind to even let us leave an hour later at 12 on checkout; and we were so lucky to get in early at 11 as I had a Fellowship ceremony at Royal College of Physicians at 12 and needed to dress up. We will come back when we're back in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Check out the three bedroom penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back. Congratulations also on your Fellowship. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath apartment with our twenty-something daughter for one night while enroute to the Isle of Skye. The apartment was first-class! We each had our privacy while enjoying the common area, as well. The location, although difficult for the taxi driver to find, was wonderful being right in the heart of the Royal Mile. I'd recommend downloading a small map with its location to alleviate the potential taxi problem.

Room Tip: Higher floors less likely to be bothered by some ongoing construction nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to post it. We are delighted to hear that you took full advantage of our apartments, they are great when there are more than one party who want privacy but also a shared space.
We are finding that taxi drivers often know where we are now, but if not just ask to be dropped off next to the restaurant Angels with Bagpipes and walk down Roxburgh's Close and that's where we are!
We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at The Chambers with my parents during a 3 day trip to Edinburgh, and we all agreed that it was the perfect place for us! The apartment itself was beautiful with a large living area, fully equipped kitchen, one king-sized bedroom, one queen bedroom, and two full en-suite bathrooms. The decor was modern with some cute little old-world touches. We had a lovely view of the Balmoral Hotel from our bedrooms, which looks beautiful lit up at night.The Chambers is situated right on the Royal Mile, and it is a great location for sight-seeing. The castle is a short walk in one direction, and the Holyrood Palace a slightly longer walk in the other direction. The hotel itself is a little difficult to find if you don't know where you're going. Luckily we had a very friendly taxi driver from the airport who dropped us off right in front of Roxbury Close, and from there it was a few steps down to get to the hotel. Just beware that there is no way to get to this hotel without going up or down stairs. From the Royal Mile it's a few stairs down, and from Cockburn Street (near Waverley Bridge) it's a whole bunch of stairs up. We even had to go down stairs once we went in the front door of the apartment to get to the living spaces. We were happy to deal with the stairs in order to find this little gem of a hotel, though. Being able to stay in same place without having to pay the price of two expensive hotel rooms was really wonderful for us. We would definitely stay here again. Hopefully next time we'll have a slightly longer trip to enjoy beautiful Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, being situated in the heart of the old town of Edinburgh means there is nothing we can do about the stairs up to us, but I am glad the taxi knew to bring you to the High Street, which is by far the easier entrance. We look forward to seeing you again when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband, our 4 year old and I spent wonderful 7 days at the end of the August in Scotland.
The tour included Edinburgh, Inverness and Glasgow.
We were very happy and excited before our arrival because we heard a lot of nice things about Scotland, especially Edinburg in summer!
The Chambers was our choice, first of all because the location is spectacular. Second of all, we had a great new one bedroom apartment with cooking facilities, so our choice was a good one.

Apart - Hotel itself is small boutique hotel, perfectly decorated. There were few designer things like Tolomeo Artemide floor lamp. The apartment is very well equipped, with great facilities to cook (if you have needs). The bathroom is small but nice
Location is the best we have ever had. Just few steps and you are right in front of St. Giles.
We have got one bedroom apartment with balcony and really nice view of Princes Street.
This was great option since there is no street noise in the apartment and the view is really great!

Reception staff is doing good job, but you can feel that all this is brand new, so they need some time to become professional.

I hope we will return back in Edinburgh, and if we do, and if we would stay in apartment I would definitely go for The Chambers. If we will stay in Hotel, I would prefer Hotel Missoni, for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeljkadurovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it sounds like you had a lovely time touring around Scotland and I am glad you picked us and would come back, you obviously know your lighting! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom penthouse apartment for the weekend while we were taking one of our daughters to Edinburgh to start her university course. There were three of us, my husband and I and our other daughter.

The apartment was lovely, very contemporary with lots of mod cons including a large wall mounted flat screen cinema television. There were two balconies, and beautiful views over Edinburgh city centre towards Princes Street. The kitchen facilities were more than sufficient for preparing breakfast....we did not cook dinner as we ate out, but that would have been possible too. There were two bedrooms, two bathrooms and an open plan living dining area with a bed settee, so six people could have been accommodated. It felt very spacious for the three of us. We loved it and have booked to return shortly for a family reunion weekend when five of us plan to stay.

The location is fabulous, opposite St Giles cathedral in the old part of town, in converted tenement blocks. It was very atmospheric being in the heart of the historic centre.

The only negatives are the lack of parking facilities (we had travelled by train but on our next trip we plan to park in a public car park) and the steps to reach the property. There is no porter service so you might struggle getting from the street to the entrance if you have heavy luggage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds_UKTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are always delighted to hear about people enjoying their stay. Our two bed penthouse is one of our very favourites!
When you return we always suggest dropping your luggage and party off on the high street, with only a few steps down to our reception and then going to park the car. The car park is pretty close on the walk back, through the station and then up Warriston's Close and don't forget the 30% discount!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our family group (9 altogether) let two suites, one two-bedroom and one three-bedroom, for four nights. We arrived at the train station and were delighted to find that that the Chambers was truly within a short walking distance. No need for a taxi. The location of the Chambers is perfect, in a courtyard just off of the Royal Mile, about at the midpoint between the Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cost was very reasonable.

There were only two disappointments, that the three bedroom unit bedrooms had windows located along the Close (a long stairway that connected the street next to the train station and The Royal Mile) and that the washer/dryer for the unit had not been installed as advertised. We could not sleep at night until after 3:00 because of loud yelling and singing of people using the Close. Not much one can do about that except ask not to be in a unit along the Close. The other unit did not have that problem. The washer/dryer problem will no doubt be addressed for the next visitors.

For other travelers: The Chambers has clean, modern, efficient, comfortable accommodations and a great location. It is not an historic, lush, luxurious hotel. But for the noise, which was very irritating, we were very pleased with our choice. We will return, but we will avoid the Close.......

Room Tip: Do not accept a room with windows opening onto the Close, and be sure to confirm that there is a was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcrrwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I am very sorry that your machine was not fitted, this is only the case in 3 apartments and they are being fitted over the next month. I am also sorry about the noise you suffered. In the heart of any city some noise is perhaps expected, but it seems like you were particularly troubled. I am glad to read it would not put you off a return visit and we look forward to welcoming you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,765 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,626 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
269 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,535 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Chambers

Property: Old Town Chambers
Address: Roxburgh's Court, 323 High Street | Off Mary King's Close, Edinburgh EH1 1LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Town Chambers 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Town Chambers is a new, luxurious, serviced apartment development in the heart of the historic Old Town of Edinburgh. Situated on The Royal Mile, Old Town Chambers offers discerning guests luxurious accommodation in 50 large, discrete, unique apartments.You have the choice of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. Each apartment is individually designed and laid out so no two are exactly the same. All apartments have an open plan kitchen, dining table* and large living space*. Whichever suite you choose, the location means that you are in the very heart of Edinburgh with easy access to all that Edinburgh has to offer. We are a mere two minute walk from Waverley station making for easy access to all transport links including the airport bus and the soon to be running Edinburgh trams.You access The Royal Mile through one of Edinburgh's historic closes, and can experience all the hustle and bustle of Scotland's most historic and well known thoroughfare and yet you can leave it all behind and be back in your apartment in the blink of an eye.If you are looking for a place to stay which has all the benefits of a luxury, five star hotel, but with more space and flexibility then this is the place to be... Old Town Chambers is your home from home. * Except Studios which have a seating area with pull up tables to eat from. These apartments are compact and cosy, and also have a full kitchen, washer drier and shower room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Town Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Chambers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing