We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 4”
Review of Old Town Chambers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Town Chambers
Ranked #4 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Family of 4”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our two children who slept on the sofa bed our bedroom had a king bed and even a bathtub this place is first class it has a great feel to it and it's just off the golden mile.
It's not for the unfit as there is a heap of stairs to navigate but it gets your blood pumping in the mornin we were on Advocates Close straight across from the Devils Advocate bar which is well worth a visit.Staff we're very helpful and the checking is just easy as you receive an email with all the information so you don't even need to go to the reception until checkout,the car parking worked well too just a short stroll down the road.
Would definatley stay here again,Edinburgh is a beautiful city.
Was only here 2 days but we couldn't find to many family friendly pubs but it was only a minor irritant.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, including our easy check-in and out options as we do try very hard to ensure that your stay really feels like you are living in Edinburgh, but with on hand support if you need it.

I hope we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    121
    30
    9
    7
See reviews for
398
309
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We (4 ppl) stayed in Edinburgh Fri-Sun in 2 room Signature apartment. As far as living goes, it was as close as perfect it could be. Everything was squeaky clean, modern and had a luxury feel to it.

Pros:
- The location, the location, the location. Close to Edinburgh's castle, Mary KIng's Close, a couple of really good restaurants (Number One, Zizzi), Princes Street (shopping).
- Bathrooms were top-notch, just like bedroom and the fully equipped kitchen
- Excellent service. Staff was very kind and helpful.
- Value; we got a (very good!) discount at nearby (good!) restaurant Zizzi
- Wifi was really good.

Cons:
- A bit tricky to find. Instead of saying Old Town Chambers to the cab driver, say Angel's with Bagpipes (restaurant), Mary King's Close (probably best one since it's the most famous of the three) or Zizzi's; they are all in the same place. Cab fare should be 20-24 GBP from airport.
- It can get a bit lively at night if you have a window towards the small 'square'. It wasn't that much of a problem though and things died down rather quickly in the evening.

Despite the two cons, if I ever go to Edinburgh again, Old Town Chambers would be my go to place. All in all, good location, excellent living quarts, staff is great and the value is top-notch.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 28 and everything was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quincy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for your positive and detailed review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location of our apartments. The staff always enjoy reading that guests have found them helpful and so thank you for sharing that.
With regard to your comment on finding us, we remain hopeful that Edinburgh Council will approve our signage on the Royal Mile, however as you quite rightly point out we can easily be found down Warriston Close at Real Mary Kings Close.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Old Town Chambers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked for a group of 4 for a hen do. This place definitely had some of my best memories of the weekend. Self catering facilities turned out to be useful even though we originally thought we wouldn't need them.

I rarely have comments on cleaners but these were fantastic, we had left a pan to soak and came back to find it done for us, a lovely touch.

Beds very comfortable. Lovely mood lighting. Not the mention the fact it is just off the high street. We'll definitely be back

Room Tip: Make sure to mention if you need twins. The apartments worked great for us but in a group of four tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureSeeker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
How lovely to read that our apartments made such an impact on your stay and it is great to hear that the housekeeping staff were of help and that you enjoyed all the facilities, we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Old Town Chambers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

stayed here for two days in a family suite, just perfect! nice things like a fully equiped kitchen, a washing maschine, two big screen tvs, a nespresso, made the stay perfect! location is also very good, right in the center... only negative point - no parking and also not accessable with the car, but they guided me to a close parking where they also. habe 30% discount...

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review, we enjoy hearing from our guests about their stay.

As you note, we are based in the very heart of the Old Town of Edinburgh and the price for this amazing location is we do not have on site car parking. Our deal with the near by APCOA car park allows our guests a 30% discount and we suggest you drop off your luggage with us and then drive the car to the parking which takes about 5 minutes and then walk back through Waverley station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Used the Old Town Chambers as our base for a family wedding in the city. Extremely comfortable, great location with excellent service. Very well equipped kitchen but with such good places to eat and relax just outside the door why bother. The Patisserie Valerie just around the corner is a great place to start the day and the pubs and cafes along the Royal Mile are good for a lunchtime snack. As for the evening you will be spoilt for choice with Edinburgh having some great restaurants. The Castle Terrace dining experience is outstanding and worth making a reservation for.
Take your comfortable shoes for strolling and taking in the city but beware the cobbles in your killer heels. Yes everyone goes to the castle but other than for the wonderful views, it is a disappointment. Very crowded, very expensive with lots of outdated displays of poor quality. The crown jewels display has to be the worst thing I have seen in a long while.

Room Tip: A room with a terrace with seating is the icing on the cake if you are lucky with the weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I am so pleased to read your review, thank you very much for taking the time to post it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are finding we are very popular for wedding parties, lots of space! I hope we will see you and your killer heels again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Took the family here for a weekend break over easter and we were all absolutely delighted! The accommodation was magnificent! Every bit as good as a top class hotel, but with the space and practicalities needed for our family. The kids loved their bed deck, and the main bedroom was large and spacious. Even my wife was impressed - and thats hard to do!!! We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Edinburgh now and would recommend it to anybody!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room. It'll be quieter and you might even get a view of princes street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinDolce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting this lovely review. It's great to hear that the kinds enjoyed the bed deck, it is a great use of space, even if I do say so myself and they do seem to love it.

Its also great to hear we gained your wife's approval and that you enjoyed the space. It sounds like you'll be back so look out for our loyalty programme which will be launching soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Extremely comfortable with extra touches,.....White Company products in the bathroom, love that! Great location, very fresh really helpful staff. Great location too. Had a colleague with me from London, she was very impressed with it and the very reasonable rates. Good meal at Devils Advocate too. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful. Also great to hear that we impressed your colleague.
I hope we will see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Chambers

Property: Old Town Chambers
Address: Roxburgh's Court, 323 High Street | Off Mary King's Close, Edinburgh EH1 1LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Town Chambers 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’ve created an award-winning collection of luxury, serviced apartments that combine stylish design with all the benefits of home, where the great city location is the cherry on top. They are most definitely apartments done distinctively. Like home, but better. We’ve put some serious thought into designing apartments that not only encourage easy living, but look stunning from floor-to-ceiling. Whilst you kick off your shoes and settle in, we’ll quietly be beavering away in the background to ensure that all the important little details are taken care of – in a nutshell, it’s the best bits of hotel service with the added freedom of apartment living. Lateral City’s eclectic portfolio of apartments includes three distinct and rather magnificent properties. There’s Merchiston Residence, set in a leafy residential quarter, a short stroll from the city centre, 15th-century Old Town Chambers, just off Prince’s Street, and our newest jewel, The Edinburgh Grand, smack-bang in the beating heart of town. Unique and idiosyncratic in character they ooze the uncommon, but all share our passion for stylish design, contemporary features and ultra-modern technology. We don’t define your stay, we’re simply here to make it that bit more amazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Town Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Chambers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing