We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments in the best part of Edinburgh”
Review of Old Town Chambers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Town Chambers
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Old Town Chambers from Monday to Friday (23rd-27th of June) in Apartment 29 which is the three bedroom penthouse apartment on the uppermost level.

The apartment itself was fantastic with three large bedrooms, three great bathrooms and four (4!!!) terraces.

The kitchen was fully equipped with modern appliances and a great selection of cutlery, plates and glasses. Everything you need to either eat in or host dinner parties. The open plan kitchen leads into a good sized living room and a dinner table capable of seating 8 people comfortably. There's even a separate bar area with a wine cooler and drink set which is a very nice touch.

There is a large TV in the livingroom and also a TV in each of the bedrooms, 4 in total and all of them are state of the art smart TV's with all the bells and whistles you might want. Internet connection is also great throughout, with above average (or even great) speeds.

The apartment is very well located in the middle of the Old Town, close to everything you need in Edinburgh. It is literally 20 steps from the Royal Mile.

We were very nicely welcomed when we arrived, and the staff was great throughout. The apartment was cleaned each day and it was spotless. We were also very lucky to get a complimentary upgrade to the three bedroom apartment from the two bedroom apartment we had booked. Great service!

All in all this was a perfect place to stay. I would certainly want to come back here, and the apartment can easily and comfortably hold three couples without any issues.

Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Room 29 (the three bedroom Penthouse apartment) offers great views of the city and can comfortably a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treierts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this lovely review. It's great to read that you were lucky enough to receive an upgrade and to the 3 bedroom penthouse as well and that you enjoyed all it has to offer.

I hope we will see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

This place is a serious find, and worth every penny! The apartments are spotless, spacious, beautifully decorated and an oasis of calm and comfort just steps from the busy royal mile. In a gorgeously renovated old building, our place was full of light, with everything a family needs for a short or extended stay. Kitchen, large modern baths, high ceilings and loads of natural light. The staff is gracious and helpful, and the location was unbeatable. We were steps from everything, so much so that our teenagers were able to head back to the apartment whenever they were tired on their own. We all wanted to live there permanently. The prices are not inexpensive, but I'd definitely say it was worth every bit to have such a relaxing, comfortable, and beautiful place to stay in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We had the three bedroom apartment, which included a loft master bedroom, and a double height living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FikisMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is great to hear that you were impressed, and we are basking on our laurels that we managed to impress teenagers - we all know how picky they can be.....it is great that you managed to have a family holiday which involved you all getting to do what you wanted.

Thank you also for your kind comments on the staff, it really does make our day.

I hope we will welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at Old Town Chambers with our 2 young children and it was absolutely perfect. Lots of space, 2 bathrooms, kitchen/living area, washer/dryer, a master bedroom and a "bed deck" (basically a bed separated from the rest of the space by a partial wall). The apartment is right in the middle of everything, within walking distance of nearly all major attractions. It's also located near the train station (also within walking distance) as well. The service was also outstanding and Old Town Chambers will absolutely be our hotel of choice when we return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to post this lovely review. It sounds like you were staying in our 2 bathroom family apartment, so it is great to hear that you enjoyed our clever bed decks which kids and adults seem to enjoy much more than a sofa bed.

Great to read that you thought our service was outstanding, I hope we will see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I joined TripAdvisor just to rave about Old Town Chambers. Apartment-style living with an excellent concierge service. Location is perfect - tucked away in a courtyard one building behind the Royal Mile. Walking distance to Waverley train station and tourist sites, including the Real Mary King's Close, which shares the same courtyard. Your taxi driver will know exactly where to go if you mention "Real Mary King's Close." Service was great; rooms were HUGE, attractive, and clean; and you can access the lobby and your room via personalized code, which is really convenient. We only stayed one night, so I'm not sure what services they offer re: daily maid service, room service, etc. but the location, price, appearance, and friendliness/helpfulness of the staff simply can't be beat! This place is the best bang for your buck. If I return to Edinburgh, I know exactly where I'm staying!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSHOUTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is great to hear you joined Trip Advisor just to be able to talk about us! We are delighted that you enjoyed our apartments and the staff. I can confirm that if you had stayed for more than one night, then your apartment would have been serviced every day.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time you are in Edinburgh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I returned to the Old Chambers with some guests for the 2nd time last Saturday and was delighted to find out we had been booked in to the Penthouse apartment on the top floor.
The accommodation is simply outstanding with stunning views of the city! Reception is friendly and the easy access system makes it easy to come and go in groups! Simple things like mini iPads coffee machines sound systems really lift this accommodation above the rest! The property couldn't be better located for access to the train station , Princess Street and the Royal Mile area of the city ! ! I'm already planning my next trip back 10/10

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

How lovely to read your review, lucky you with your Penthouse upgrade! It is great to read that you are planning your next trip and thank you for choosing to come back to us again.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed with our two children who slept on the sofa bed our bedroom had a king bed and even a bathtub this place is first class it has a great feel to it and it's just off the golden mile.
It's not for the unfit as there is a heap of stairs to navigate but it gets your blood pumping in the mornin we were on Advocates Close straight across from the Devils Advocate bar which is well worth a visit.Staff we're very helpful and the checking is just easy as you receive an email with all the information so you don't even need to go to the reception until checkout,the car parking worked well too just a short stroll down the road.
Would definatley stay here again,Edinburgh is a beautiful city.
Was only here 2 days but we couldn't find to many family friendly pubs but it was only a minor irritant.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, including our easy check-in and out options as we do try very hard to ensure that your stay really feels like you are living in Edinburgh, but with on hand support if you need it.

I hope we will see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We (4 ppl) stayed in Edinburgh Fri-Sun in 2 room Signature apartment. As far as living goes, it was as close as perfect it could be. Everything was squeaky clean, modern and had a luxury feel to it.

Pros:
- The location, the location, the location. Close to Edinburgh's castle, Mary KIng's Close, a couple of really good restaurants (Number One, Zizzi), Princes Street (shopping).
- Bathrooms were top-notch, just like bedroom and the fully equipped kitchen
- Excellent service. Staff was very kind and helpful.
- Value; we got a (very good!) discount at nearby (good!) restaurant Zizzi
- Wifi was really good.

Cons:
- A bit tricky to find. Instead of saying Old Town Chambers to the cab driver, say Angel's with Bagpipes (restaurant), Mary King's Close (probably best one since it's the most famous of the three) or Zizzi's; they are all in the same place. Cab fare should be 20-24 GBP from airport.
- It can get a bit lively at night if you have a window towards the small 'square'. It wasn't that much of a problem though and things died down rather quickly in the evening.

Despite the two cons, if I ever go to Edinburgh again, Old Town Chambers would be my go to place. All in all, good location, excellent living quarts, staff is great and the value is top-notch.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 28 and everything was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quincy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for your positive and detailed review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location of our apartments. The staff always enjoy reading that guests have found them helpful and so thank you for sharing that.
With regard to your comment on finding us, we remain hopeful that Edinburgh Council will approve our signage on the Royal Mile, however as you quite rightly point out we can easily be found down Warriston Close at Real Mary Kings Close.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Old Town Chambers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,953 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Chambers

Address: Roxburgh's Court, 323 High Street | Off Mary King's Close, Edinburgh EH1 1LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £112 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Town Chambers 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’ve created an award-winning collection of luxury, serviced apartments that combine stylish design with all the benefits of home, where the great city location is the cherry on top. They are most definitely apartments done distinctively. Like home, but better. We’ve put some serious thought into designing apartments that not only encourage easy living, but look stunning from floor-to-ceiling. Whilst you kick off your shoes and settle in, we’ll quietly be beavering away in the background to ensure that all the important little details are taken care of – in a nutshell, it’s the best bits of hotel service with the added freedom of apartment living. Lateral City’s eclectic portfolio of apartments includes three distinct and rather magnificent properties. There’s Merchiston Residence, set in a leafy residential quarter, a short stroll from the city centre, 15th-century Old Town Chambers, just off Prince’s Street, and our newest jewel, The Edinburgh Grand, smack-bang in the beating heart of town. Unique and idiosyncratic in character they ooze the uncommon, but all share our passion for stylish design, contemporary features and ultra-modern technology. We don’t define your stay, we’re simply here to make it that bit more amazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Town Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Chambers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing