We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The clock cafe

The clock cafe
Ranked #1,262 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This is a good option for breakfast, although the menu options are all fairly standard. It's not a place to come if you're after homemade granola! Cute place with friendly (if not overly attentive) staff. Great value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebecca_stacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Always had great quick pannino, chips and salad for lunch in the Morningside branch of this cafe. Manager lovely guy and very clean cafe.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LilyEdith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

A great find....perfect place to sit..read..chat..work..on Dalry Road. The staff are v friendly..helpful..eager to please whether sit-in or takeaway. Great choice of menu..snacks or meals...and delicious home baking..mmmm. A defo place to pop into!!

Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you are slightly hungover, very hungry and looking for value for money, look no further. The Clock Cafe is the place for you. Great staff and very tasty food. Do it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donella14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful -poor food and slow service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We decided to get takeaway baguettes from The Clock about 2pm. Unfortunately, we had to wait 30 minutes for our food (the time the waitress stated to the chef when she noticed we were still there!). We had to correct the chef twice, even though the waitress had written down our order clearly on her pad in front of us. The chef then removed the wrong ingredients and threw them back into the main containers which was pretty unhygienic! When we did get our orders, one baguettes was still wrong, barely warm and had little filling. The waitress was very apologetic and I did feel sorry for her as she had had complaints from other customers while we were there. It should be noted that the place wasn't busy and they had two chefs and three waiting staff working. Definitely won't be going back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katy966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The clock cafe also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The clock cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing