We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small cafe, Big flavour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mary's Milk Bar

Mary's Milk Bar
Ranked #1 of 62 Dessert in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: Drinks, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Mary's Milk Bar provides a cosy wee space to enjoy all things gelato and chocolate, Everything is made by Mary in her little laboratory in the back of the shop. There's real ice cream milkshakes, traditional floats and sundaes and handmade artisan chocolate gifts. The 1930s interior looks out at the majestic Edinburgh Castle.
Burnley, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small cafe, Big flavour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across Marys Milk Bar whilst walking through grassmarket, the gelato was brilliant. Happy to let people try a spoonful of a flavour if you're not sure. Very reasonably priced and highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank luckyclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    112
    28
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Ice-cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I had heard good things about Mary's Milk Bar so decided to give a try - definitely the right decision. I don't know why I'd never visited before!
There are such a wide choice of interesting ice cream flavours, it was so hard to decide so I'll have to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank C_Ramsay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little place, will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Having read previous reviews of Marys Milk Bar, I was intrigued to find out whether the place was as good as people were saying... So I paid a visit today and I can confirm that all the great comments and reviews were correct! I had two scoops of sorbet, one was strawberry/black pepper, the other raspberry/rose I think. Both were delicious, couldn't fault them, my favourite was the strawberry one, it was interesting and different. It was a nice refreshing lift on a hot day in Edinburgh! The service was great too, I'm not sure if it was Mary herself,but the woman who served me was friendly and welcoming. Price not too bad given the portion size. Overall fantastic place,the only downside was the difficult choice of which flavour to try! I will be back to sample more I'm sure!

Helpful?
Thank Niamh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must try the chocolates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This isn't the first time I have visited and it certainly won't be the last, the ice cream and staff are brilliant but you must try the chocolates hiding on a little shelf to the left as you enter, they are out of this world.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mary's is the best gelato outside of Italy !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I've been a regular visitor for a year now and the flavours and taste of Mary's gelato is just gorgeous. She and her staff are so friendly and it's such a lovely little haven in the bustling Grassmarket.
The only issue is, which flavours to choose ! My last one of dark chocolate, hazelnut and salted caramel was just divine !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkfleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary's Milk Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mary's Milk Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing