We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic street food”
Review of The Bangkok Bar - CLOSED

The Bangkok Bar
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: Thai, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: Authentic Thai street food served daily (closed Mondays in winter) from noon till 10pm in our quirky little cocktail bar. Enjoy quick, fresh, tasty dishes, "immense" cocktails, beers and some great music in this slightly brash "Thai fast food" environment. Drop in and chill out. Also a great place to enjoy a pre or post dinner drink if dining in the adjoining Port of Siam, Newtown restaurant.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“fantastic street food”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

had a fantastic meal before heading for a show
we were tight for time so just chose shrimp cakes,tempura fish and satay
all were superb ....co owner is lovely and looked after us well

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kennytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Quality Food”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Visited with my wife prior to seeing a show, Both the Thai fish and chips and Pad Thai were excellent. Good service, would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Only had cocktails but will be back.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Popped in while waiting to get a table at near by restaurant it was busy and we had to stand but the welcome from staff was fantastic and the cocktails we had were great. We will be back to sample the food which looked good as it went past. Bar staff were fun and helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nayajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great food, brilliant service and value for money! Been to the Bangkok bar and Port of Siam several times and it is also excellent!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BMcHugh1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth checking out!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Went here for lunch today and had a great experience. I ordered the mussels and fish tempura and chips while my friend had the winter salad and pad thai (both off the set menu) and we were really pleased with the dishes. The staff were very friendly and attentive and there wasn't a long wait for the food. We had soft drinks and coffees and the bill was very reasonable (£15 each).
Will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alycos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bangkok Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing